We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Experience Not Just a Hostel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anandamayi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anandamayi Hostel
Ranked #22 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Experience Not Just a Hostel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was a bit fearful of Colombia and instead had a fantastic time due to this hostel and the people who stay there and work there. Besides looking like something out of "Travel and Leisure" ( the owner is a Colombian artist), I met fascinating people who have since become friends. This is NOT a party hostel and is filled with older (over 25) travels. I met an American who worked at the U.S. Venezuelan Embassy, a Swiss woman who worked for Amnesty International, an Argentinian couple ( an union worker and taxi driver), an Indian doctor with his family from Texas, a psychology professor from California and more. The women who worked there were kind and helpful. It took a bit for them to warm up, but as said earlier, they do! This place is extremely well-run and organized and never mind reasonable. Enjoy your stay.
P.S. You are told not to walk around at night and take taxis instead. Ask them as to what they advise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMeKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
32
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We had called ahead to see if there were available rooms at this hostel based on the good reviews and they confirmed that there were and that we could come over to see them. We arrived and the woman at the front gate confirmed that there were available rooms and went to get the keys to open the front gate. In the meantime another woman, I assume the owner or the manager looked out at us- three black women- and suddenly yelled out there were no rooms available. Because of their racism, they refused to even show us a room when there was vacancies. When we inquired why they had confirmed twice that they had availability and then suddenly told us there were no availabilities, they admitted that they did have availability but only accepted credit cards, assuming that we wouldn't have them. Do not stay in this hotel they are unreliable, unkind and to be honest racist!

We ended up finding Casa Deco, which was absolutely beautiful and they were incredibly warm and kind throughout our stay- it is a bit more expensive but totally worth it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slam83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Anandamayi for three nights at the beginning of a two week trip to Colombia. We arrived very late after travelling for about 20 hours non-stop. We were offered tea and taken to a large room with a v. comfortable bed and after passing through the busy city were delighted to find the Anandamayi was peaceful and calm and we were able to get an excellent night's sleep. However, it was cold especially at night, there's no heating apart from the wood burning stove in the kitchen in the main building and to use the bathroom you need to cross an outdoor courtyard. The staff are quiet and friendly, our fellow guests were mainly solo travellers and most were very quiet, there was an almost church-like hush around the whole hostel. Anandamayi advertise breakfast which is more tea with fruit and cheap white sliced bread. There is free internet access but it's not especially fast. We needed to stay in Bogota at the end of our trip for one night but chose to stay somewhere else because after three days in Anandamayi the atmosphere became quite oppressive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
147 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

Because of the (mostly) excellent reviews on Trip Advisor about this hostel my wife and I intended to stay here in July 2010. In the middle of June I sent off an email (to the address quoted on their website) to inquire about the availability of a room and the room rate. I waited a few days, but no reply. So I sent another. Again, I have never received a reply. I had no alternative but to book elsewhere.

Perhaps there are merits with this hostel, but providing basic communication service with a potential customer doesn't seem to rank very highly with them. Maybe the hostel only accepts people who turn up at the front door. I've generally found accommodations that are highly rated in Trip Advisor to be very service conscious and worthy of their ratings. Unfortunately it doesn't appear to be the case with Anandamayi Hostel. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

This hostel/guest house is first class. The owner is very helpful and is happy to translate and give travel tips. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.... for example they prepare you a hot water bottle each night. The gardens are stunning with wi-fi and hammocks. The rooms are very clean, cute and cosy. The kitchen is warm and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly with tea available 24/7. The location is perfetc right in the centre of the city. My busienss meetings changed so I was in Bogota for a few extra days and they rearranged rooms so that I could stay in my room despite hosting delegates from a conference. I can not fault this hostel. My stay was PERFECT.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelsmithtorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Lovely gem in the Candelaria district of Bogota. Rooms are clean, cozy and well appointed, and staff are cheerful and helpful. Beds are a bit thin, and rooms facing the street can be a bit noisy, but overall, it's a great place to stay and in walking distance to Plaza Bolivar, Museo Botero, Museo de Oro, and many others.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltraNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Guest hostal set around two courtyards in old home in historic part of Bogota. Easy 10-minute walk to Plaza Bolivar and surrounding attractions. 10 or 15 minutes to walk to closest Transmilenio station. Taxis can be called. The owner, Margarita, speaks fluent English and French. She has a superb staff of young women who are accommodating, friendly, very good at communicating with guests who have only limited Spanish. The rooms are spotless, well-designed, each with a desk with good lighting, shelves long enough for many books and much clothing; floors are waxed wood. The six bathrooms are well-tended, with good hot-water supply. Excellent security. Community kitchen is also well-tended; guests are welcome to cook, keep supplies in refrigerator. Cable TV in the kitchen; board games; huge numbers of books (most seem to be in English). Very quiet. No partying. Great for all ages (I'm retired). During one week, I met interesting people from Sweden, Costa Rica, the U.S., Uruguay, Argentina, France, Canada.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#10 of 242 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 242 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Zohar Hostel
Zohar Hostel
#52 of 242 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
La Candelaria
Swiss Hostal Martinik
Swiss Hostal Martinik
#19 of 242 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#3 of 242 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anandamayi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandamayi Hostel

Property: Anandamayi Hostel
Address: Calle 9 no 2-81 | Candelaria - Centro, Bogota 110321, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anandamayi is a very comfortable and inexpensive Hostel & Hotel in the most beautiful colonial house in la Candelaria old town. It has 3 poetic and colourful patios with hammocks and geraniums; a wonderful ancient garden with waterfalls, fish ponds and incredibly friendly hummingbirds; Nice and clean rooms and an attic from where you can see the sunrise behind Private Monserrate and hear the bells from the old churches and cathedral; and at sunset, the martial band when they change the guard at the presidential palace which is just around the corner. Anandamayi can lodge 27 people.' love all, serve all' are it's aims.All museums, theatres and major attractions like the Quinta de Bolivar, Monserrate Sanctuary, the Botero Museum, Gold Museum, Luis Angel Arango library, colonial churches and historical monuments are within walking distance. On week-ends you can join ecological trekking groups that follow the ancient Indian roads: lots of Sun, exercise and beautiful scenery. You can enjoy the super location of this safe and drugs-free place and yet you will be surprised at how quiet it is inside, and how friendly and homely the atmosphere is. Writers, painters and poets often stay for a long time. Price includes:A very good continental breakfast, taxes, linen and towels, hot water, free wireless, safe box, luggage storage, laundry service, common room with cable TV and lots of good films, a superb garden, good books, good vib, the possibility to cook your own food like in your own home, and take a very good rest and sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Anandamayi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anandamayi Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing