We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madisson Inn Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madisson Inn Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #76 of 261 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Grand House. The staff is great - friendly, gracious, always willing to help. My room - a junior suite - was large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a huge jacuzzi tub and a nice large counter. The decor is modern, if a bit spare. Lots of power outlets and strong wi-fi (there was a wireless router in my room). Location is on a very quiet street an easy walk to Parque 93 and a slightly longer walk to Zona T. Breakfast is nice - good selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, and eggs to order if you like. I do recommend avoiding the second floor, as there's a fair bit of noise from the parking garage immediately below (I moved to 4th floor after 1st night). I had no problems at all. Bill was 100% accurate at check-out. I would recommend the hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    54
    20
    2
    5
See reviews for
28
44
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia-USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I stayed at this hotel on my arrival into Colombia, and prior to my departure from the country. This hotel is nice, well-appointed, good service, good location, and a very good value. Service is impeccable.

The only downside is the bill and all of the addtional charges. First, they charged me for breakfast, but the website said it was included (like every other hotel in Colombia). The charge wasn't much, so I didn't argue on either stay about the charge. Upon leaving after the first night, I made a reservation for my return to Bogota, and we agreed on the same rate. Well, when i checked out to go to the airport, they had charged me twice my original rate AND for two nights! Luckily I still had the receipt from the original stay to show the rate we had agreed upon. It took 30 minutes to sort this out, but they finally did. ALso, when I was waiting on a cab in the lobby the night before, another customer was having the exact same argument with reception.

Also, don't use their "in-house" taxis nor do not let them charge it to your bill. They will add a 10% mark-up to everything and charge IVA.

Again, great hotel, just have your agreed upon rates handy upon check out.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Style_points
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

i stayed at the grand house hotel on my most recent trip to bogota... and plan on returning in a few weeks during my next trip.

i always try to find reasonably priced boutique properties when traveling for work and the grand house exceeded my expectations. from the modern, chic decor to the helpful staff and central location, i could not ask for much more particularly when paying less than $200 per night (direct rate from their site).

located near parque 93, the hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, malls, shops, and atms. not once did i feel concerned about my security (i'm a young female traveling alone) and it appeared to me that the hotel takes the security and privacy of its guests very seriously.

i stayed in a duplex, the downstairs is essentially just the minibar/small kitchen and the upstairs had a bathroom, flat screen tv, desk, and the bed facing a walk-out patio overlooking the andes. i feel that you can always tell the quality of a hotel by the bathrooms - my room featured a 7 jet shower and l'occitane toiletries - you can't find much better than that even in hotels that charge twice the price. everything was very clean and well-maintained. the hotel also has free wifi in all the rooms and guest areas, which handled skype and streaming mlb games. the bed was comfortable, a firm mattress with plenty of pillows. i also thought the welcome sweet was a thoughtful touch.

the breakfast had a good selection of juices, breads and a few hot items in a cute little restaurant area off the lobby. the room service selection was nice, erring on the side of healthy, fresher food, at least compared to most room service options. the hotel also has a gym and sauna.

i suppose my only complaint would be the car service. the cost of an airport pickup was about twice the price of a taxi (use the taxis just outside the arrivals, they are safe and affordable). i wound up using the car service a number of times around town and they too were a few thousand pesos more than had i called a taxi. that said, the cars were comfortable and the drivers were friendly.

after staying at a number of hotels in bogota, i am confident that you will not make a mistake by choosing the grand house hotel. my only hope is that with their continued success they continue to keep the prices accessible for business travelers and those on a mid-range+ budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyh12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My wife and I sayed 5 nights at the Grand House for our first visit to Colombia. We had done our research first and found good reviews on Trip Advisor so we went for it. What a great decision! The hotel is in an excellent location, North of the city, and we were able to walk to Zona Rosa, a modern area with superb amenities including the Hard Rock cafe.
The breakfast was superb with everything one could need, all the hotel staff were extremely helpful to the extent that when one of our excursions had a change of timings they went out of their way to ensure we had received the message. There was also free access to PC and Internet so we were able to check in and print our return flight boarding cards.
We decided to used City Discovery for transport for the Airport and some excursions, they too were excellent.
Being soccer fans we managed to organise flights to and from Medellin for the Colombia v Chile game superbly organised by Hansa Tours- great experience, very well looked after, felt very safe..
Brilliant holiday, thank you Grand House.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed there for business trip. It is very clean, the rooms are great, the food is incredible and the staff is extremely helpful. The location is a very good one. Walk distance to cafes and other restaurants. Great choice to stay in Bogota.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
221 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

HOTEL REVIEW # 176 Grand House

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Very good. About 4 blocks from Parque 93, with tons of restaurants and bars. Being a little bit away from the park is a plus to keep it a bit more quiet. There area is very safe even thought arriving at night made the place seem a bit creepy at first (because you don’t realize how good the neighborhood is until walking around).

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: At the airport, go to the taxi window and get a print out of the exact amount to pay the registered airport taxi. The cost was $18,500 COP and took about 15 minutes.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Suite. Tons of space. The living room area had a couch that was not in view of a TV.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: The bed was way too hard but the linens and down pillows were excellent. I didn’t like that there was no sheet. Just a blanket wrapped in a sheet.

LIGHTING: Excellent in all rooms and common area.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Huge Jacuzzi tub. The shower is in the tub which I am not a fan of. The shower had excellent water pressure and can be made very hot if desired.

TOILETRIES: L’Occitane.

CLEANLINESS: Spotless.

A/C: There was no A/C in the room and our room got uncomfortable hot. This is a major drawback and the reason for losing one star.

CLOSET SPACE: Walk in closet in the bathroom is huge.

STYLE OF ROOM: Stylish, but lacking any color.

COMMON AREA: Stylish, but could use some color other than grays and blacks. There really isn’t an area in the hotel to hang out as the lobby area is small.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: We could hear music off in the distance (we stayed on a Saturday night). Morning light could be blocked with the curtains.

FOOD: Breakfast was buffet style with high quality breads, cereals, juices. Not much hot food.

TV/INTERNET: Wireless was very fast and at no charge. Didn’t watch TV but the position was awkwardly high in position to the bed.

SERVICE: Excellent. The staff spoke English and they went out of their way to provide great service. Hiring the hotel car at 20,000 COP per hour is a great way to get around.

SUMMARY: Great stay and a true bargain at US$118 for a Saturday night stay on hotels.com (for a standard room). At this price it’s a find. A better bed and some A/C and this would be a 5 star TA review for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Recently stayed at Grand House for a business meeting. I found the rooms to be clean, modern and spacious. The hotel offered free internet and breakfast. The rooms come with a flat panel TV and Direct TV, however, I was never able to get the TV to work in my room (I didn't bother to complain about this because I spent so little time at the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgato9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Suites Hotel
Blue Suites Hotel
#95 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bogota Urban 93 Royal
NH Bogota Urban 93 Royal
#94 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel BH Parque 93
Hotel BH Parque 93
#85 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Bogota
0.1 mi away
Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Ramada Bogota Parque 93
Ramada Bogota Parque 93
#62 of 261 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madisson Inn Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madisson Inn Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Madisson Inn Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: Carrera 18 No. 93-97 | Barrio El Chico, Bogota 111211, Colombia (Formerly Park Inn By Radisson Bogota)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#34 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#67 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madisson Inn Hotel & Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the most attractive tourist, shopping and financial area of the city, Madisson Inn Hotel Luxury Suites (formerly Park Inn by Radisson), surrounded by offices, shopping centres, restaurants, bars, clubs and specialized trade. Located near the Zona Rosa of Bogota, T-zone, internationally recognized for its exquisite gastronomy, the 93 and major shopping malls such as the Centro 93 Park and the Andean Center. The international airport El Dorado (BOG) is 18 kilometers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Madisson Inn Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing