We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it so much we went back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abadia Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abadia Colonial
Ranked #117 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We liked it so much we went back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Very friendly staff, with good English now, comfortable (if cool in the winter) rooms, and good food in a great location for walking everywhere from the Monserrate Cable station to Museo del Oro and the old Candelaria area which is delightful. This part of town is tucked up and asleep by 9pm, so not for those looking for night life. But it is quiet for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the back courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nichhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    82
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
79
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
330 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I arrived here 27hrs late due to missing plane connection. on arrival the receptionist was lovely and showed me to one of the nicest rooms in the hotel. all the rooms have flower names, mine was rosa. there was at least one single room that I saw but I would suggest paying the bit extra for a colonial room as the single looked rather small. also if you are a light sleeper, maybe best to have a room further away from the recption towards the garden. my room was the first in the garden, and although beautiful with a stained glass wall, the wooden floorboards just in front of the room were a little squeaky! I had perfect treatment for the 3 nights, every morning breakfast was different (their choice of juice and fruit, your choice of eggs or ceareal), and I was never disappointed. when I questioned about my no-show on the saturday night (I had paid a deposit beforehand) they said there was no problem, so I could stay the 3rd night with no extra charge, which is unheard of in europe! the room was lovely, very clean, with a heater if I needed it. the 3 receptionists did their best to help with all info I needed. I had one meal in the hotel, delicious and reasonable prices. also free internet if you want to use the computor. the location is perfect, in the most pretty colonial roads, and not near any dangerous areas. fantastic!

Room Tip: choose nearest the garden or patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed for several nights here (on and off) and cannot recommend it highly enough.
The staff are incredibly helpful - we lost a case on the flight out for 3 days and they went out of their way to help us (calling people etc for us). They even ensured our clothes were washed in about 3 hours as we had nothing else to wear!
The location is very good for the old town - you're right by the Botero museam and Plaza Bolivar. The hotel staff also gave us very good tips for nights out in Zona Rosa and Parque 93.
On our return we missed our flight (yes, it was that sort of holiday) and again, they went out of their way to help - giving us rooms at very short notice and allowing us use of a room past the checkout time while we sorted everything out.
All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobAndAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

I arrived there for a casuality. i looked for an hotel in the downtown. i visited other 3 hotels before and they were really bad. What's mean bad for me: aanomimous, dirty special the toilet and no interesting. when i arrived in Abbadia Colonial people at the reception company me to choose the only 3 room free. so i choose mine and it was the best choose. I arrived on March 31 and i left it on April 2 to make a trip in colombia. Well i booked a room again before to back at home. it's strategic to visit the really town, there's the University and 5 museum. Close to Bolivar square, the Government and the ares is safe for turistsWonderfull coffe, breakfast, bed and lovable peolpe.

Room Tip: I suggest you Rose room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walpapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights when we arrived in Bogota at the beginning of our 3 week visit to Colombia. Subsequently we returned twice each time for a one night stopover on our way to another area.
The hotel is in a good location to explore the old part of Bogota .. very easy to walk down to the square and to the shops. It's representative of Spanish architecture and has two lovely open courtyards and upstairs dining with a view of the mountains.
Service was excellent and staff were friendly and exceptionally responsive to any queries we had .. when we had a receptionist who was unable to speak English she was very happy for us to use the Google interpreter which worked brilliantly.
Food was good and there is also an Italian restaurant which produced great food.
Rooms are reasonable sizes although they vary and some are obviously better than others. The only real difficulty we found were the mattresses!! These are exceptionally hard and I notice from the owners' response to a previous review that they are orthopeadic mattresses and they certainly felt like it. We got used to them in the end but I don't think I've slept on mattresses so hard but I guess I can console myself that they were good for my back!! Apart from this though, the location is great, the staff exceptionally helpful and food good so we'd definitely go back as we enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolonerocchi, Gerente at Abadia Colonial, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Hello Mrs. Indira,
We are very pleased that you liked our hotel and restaurant.
I followed his advice and I bought mattresses softer-
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Paolo Rocchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

I booked one of the cheaper rooms at this hotel in advance of my arrival in Bogota - I´d never visited the city before, and wanted to stay in a decent hotel in a good area for my first few nights, but didn´t want to pay too much - and the Abadia Colonial seemed to fit the bill... Whilst these cheaper rooms are attractive and comfortable, they open out onto a courtyard/bar/dining area which is incredibly noisy (with loud music & people talking) until around 11pm at night - so beware!! I believe the higher-priced rooms are located around a second, quieter courtyard... Overall though I found the staff to be very polite & professional, and the breakfast served in the restaurant upstairs was delicious... but from the noise perspective, I found my room to be overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elklondon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Excellent, clean and peaceful spot after a day of touring. Friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant was very good and had typical foods and then a list of italian specialties which the people in Bogota seem to be partial too.

Good, free internet and very good breakfast included in the upstairs restaurant each morning. You must try the ariepas and the ajiaco.

The helped us find a tour last minute with Authentic Tours and it was a perfect 2 days.

It gets cool at night so wear warm pajamas!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abiondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#86 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#41 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#92 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Deco
#14 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#79 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#48 of 268 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadia Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia Colonial

Property: Abadia Colonial
Address: calle 11 # 2-32 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abadia Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abadia Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abadia Colonial Bogota
Abadia Colonial Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing