We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place for a group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casona del Patio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casona del Patio
Ranked #2 of 280 Bogota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great stay at Casona del Patio with a group of 10, mostly undergrads and grad students. The hotel was very convenient, the staff was helpful and efficient, and breakfast was delicious. The hotel is very comfortable, although the rooms and the water were not very warm, so bring warm clothes as Bogota can be chilly at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for writing to us, your opinion is very important. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Indeed, Bogota can be chilly at night. Heaters are available in all our courtyard rooms, please be sure that we will take actions to ensure additional heaters will be provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    119
    39
    3
    5
See reviews for
54
84
56
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. The staff were friendly and the room was simple and clean. The hotel has a nice little courtyard and lounge area with good wifi. The breakfast was included and was very good. The hotel is in a convenient location a short ride from the Candelaria and walking distance to lots of restaurants and the transmilenio public transportation.

I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hewwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are happy to know that you liked the hotel and thank you for choosing us to recommend it, we hope your visit next trip to Colombia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights at Casona del Patio and really enjoyed it there.

Overall the hotel was very clean and a nice place to stay. It was exceptionally good value as it is in the best of part of town and was actually cheaper than a hostel for us to stay in a double room with private bathroom.

The room we had was very nice and was clean. I am very fussy when it comes to cleanliness and even I walked around the room with no flip flops on which is something of a novelty of late staying in hostels!

They provide a small 'minibar' - not a normal minibar - its actually a few baskets on the side that have sachets of shampoo, tube of toothpaste, crisps and water etc but is cheap and handy if you forget something or run out whilst you are there.

We had a tv with cable which was useful and we did get wifi in our room which was very useful.

The room was cleaned daily and the towels replaced but they didn't change the bed clothes at all whilst we were there. They did however provide us with two extra pillows when we asked though.

There was a small sitting area opposite our room which was useful for sitting and Skyping family whilst my boyfriend was watching tv! It did have a glass roof which was quite noisy when it rained but otherswise was a nice little addition.

The only small issue we had is that they charge a lot for laundry and we therefore asked the reception staff where we could find a laundrette locally and they said they did not know which was very unhelpful! In fact there is one a few streets away but it takes a few days to get the clothes back so we didn't end up using it!

The staff on reception tend to speak English which is good but the level of helpfulness varies significantly!

If you go out for the night let the front desk know as we got back at midnight one night and had to knock for a good ten minutes before we got in! Saying that it shows what a nice neighbourhood it is that we felt completely safe walking around at that time!

The area is very pretty and clearly well to do which makes it feel very safe and is a pleasant place to have a stroll, there's a good supermarket two blocks away.

We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and it was not very good, I had the raviolli and it was very overcooked to the point that the filling was rock hard. My boyfriend had the chicken sandwich which was nice enough and there was plenty of it but nothing special. The breakfast was not very good and so even though it was included we only ended up having it the first morning!

All in all this is a good budget option and feels more like staying in a nice hotel than a hostel or budget hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We were in the back building next to the small sitting room which I think is called Bibloiteca Julio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for writing your opinion about the service at hotel, their comments we added much value and help us to improve, in relation to the restaurant we want to tell you that we have taken steps to correct the errors in the service and ensure the excellent quality of the dishes offered.

We are happy to know that you liked the hotel and you would recommend us thank you thank you for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 892 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would call this a very upscale hostel. Our room had 3 twin beds, a private bath, and a gorgeous view of the little patio out back, mountains and everything. We stayed here only one night at the beginning of an Intrepid tour, but it was the nicest of all our (budget) accomodations on the trip. Hot water, English speaking staff, a working computer in the common area, included breakfast, and like 8 security guards guarding the front door at night. Cute bars and restaurants within a few block radius.

Definitely a safe and clean place to stay, although keep in mind that it's a ~20min walk to the Transmilenio, and another 20mins or so ride to the downtown Candeleria area so not necessarily terribly convenient if that's where you'll be spending the majority of a trip.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for writing us, your opinion is very important for us. It has been a pleasure to have you in the Hotel, we are glad to hear that you liked your stay here, we hope to see you in a future trip to Bogota.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our Intrepid tour group was booked here for just our one night in Bogota. The inn is charming, well located, and the staff was friendly. Unlike many places in the country, the staff spoke some English, which was very helpful for this language-impaired world traveler. Everything was very clean and the included breakfast bountiful. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwoman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello, thank you for the time spent writing about us, we are pleased to know that you liked hotel and that your experience with us was nice, until a next opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for over a week, and we were very happy with the choice we made.
The main factors for us when staying on Hotels are having clean and quiet rooms, and this place was just perfect for us. We never enjoyed the breakfast due to the pacing we had during our great time in Bogota, but certainly the dinning room looked well organized, clean, and comfortable enough. The staff was very respectful, professional, and willing to help us any way possible. The hotel has transportation available all the times just outside at the walkway, with drivers and vehicles referred by them so we felt pretty safe taking any of them for a little bit more than what a taxi cab use to ask. Internet was fast enough, room was spacious, beds very comfy, nice hot shower, bathroom with sink and toilet rather small, and rooms with no fancy bells and whistles (like the ones at Grandma's home) but it were never an issue to us. Location was excellent, very close to malls, restaurants, and so on. Certainly we are willing to stay here on our future travels...

Room Tip: Room "Palacio de Narinno" at the 2nd floor (on the back side of the hotel) is very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for writing to us, it is a pleasure for us know that his experience in the hotel was nice, we hope to be able to provide care for them in a forthcoming visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent hostel/hotel
Location is great,close to supermarket (carulla) and malls and nightlife.
Don't bother walking around ar night,it's a safe barrio,not that hustle like in Candelaria.the hotel is very spacius,rooms super clean with comfy beds.hot showers,and a great openair patio.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmeichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your comment, has been a pleasure to have him in the hotel and still we are pleased to know that your stay with us was happy, we hope to serve you in a next opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Paulina
#94 of 260 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Ibis Bogota Museo
#45 of 260 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#112 of 260 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#52 of 260 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Hilton Bogota
#19 of 260 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona del Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona del Patio

Property: Casona del Patio
Address: carrera 8 No. 69 _ 24, Bogota 11001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona del Patio 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona del Patio is located in Quinta Camacho Chapinero, a quiet nestled area in the heart of the financial district where there are also great restaurants, night life and shopping like the central commercial Chile Avenue, G Zone, the Rose Zone and the Andino Mall. as well as easy access to public transportation which is one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Casona del Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Patio Bogota
Casona Del Patio Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing