We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Upscale Budget Accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casona del Patio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casona del Patio
Ranked #2 of 291 Bogota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upscale Budget Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would call this a very upscale hostel. Our room had 3 twin beds, a private bath, and a gorgeous view of the little patio out back, mountains and everything. We stayed here only one night at the beginning of an Intrepid tour, but it was the nicest of all our (budget) accomodations on the trip. Hot water, English speaking staff, a working computer in the common area, included breakfast, and like 8 security guards guarding the front door at night. Cute bars and restaurants within a few block radius.

Definitely a safe and clean place to stay, although keep in mind that it's a ~20min walk to the Transmilenio, and another 20mins or so ride to the downtown Candeleria area so not necessarily terribly convenient if that's where you'll be spending the majority of a trip.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for writing us, your opinion is very important for us. It has been a pleasure to have you in the Hotel, we are glad to hear that you liked your stay here, we hope to see you in a future trip to Bogota.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    127
    41
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
91
59
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our Intrepid tour group was booked here for just our one night in Bogota. The inn is charming, well located, and the staff was friendly. Unlike many places in the country, the staff spoke some English, which was very helpful for this language-impaired world traveler. Everything was very clean and the included breakfast bountiful. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwoman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello, thank you for the time spent writing about us, we are pleased to know that you liked hotel and that your experience with us was nice, until a next opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for over a week, and we were very happy with the choice we made.
The main factors for us when staying on Hotels are having clean and quiet rooms, and this place was just perfect for us. We never enjoyed the breakfast due to the pacing we had during our great time in Bogota, but certainly the dinning room looked well organized, clean, and comfortable enough. The staff was very respectful, professional, and willing to help us any way possible. The hotel has transportation available all the times just outside at the walkway, with drivers and vehicles referred by them so we felt pretty safe taking any of them for a little bit more than what a taxi cab use to ask. Internet was fast enough, room was spacious, beds very comfy, nice hot shower, bathroom with sink and toilet rather small, and rooms with no fancy bells and whistles (like the ones at Grandma's home) but it were never an issue to us. Location was excellent, very close to malls, restaurants, and so on. Certainly we are willing to stay here on our future travels...

Room Tip: Room "Palacio de Narinno" at the 2nd floor (on the back side of the hotel) is very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for writing to us, it is a pleasure for us know that his experience in the hotel was nice, we hope to be able to provide care for them in a forthcoming visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent hostel/hotel
Location is great,close to supermarket (carulla) and malls and nightlife.
Don't bother walking around ar night,it's a safe barrio,not that hustle like in Candelaria.the hotel is very spacius,rooms super clean with comfy beds.hot showers,and a great openair patio.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmeichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your comment, has been a pleasure to have him in the hotel and still we are pleased to know that your stay with us was happy, we hope to serve you in a next opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was a little taken aback on the prices of hotels in Bogota and the low rating that some of them got. I am pretty particular about where I stay, but I am also thrifty (OK, I like to save a buck). This place was great. Good wifi everywhere. Heat in the rooms. They always had a cab waiting for you when you asked them to. Good breakfast, no additional charge in the morning. QUIET in the middle of a big city. The patio and other little open area had nice flowers and vines and birds. Close to a great panaderia. And only 75 bucks! I felt like I won the lottery.
The people were nice and spoke a little english. Also, free coffee at all times. GO THERE!

Room Tip: I was in the Casa Verrey. Not fancy, but a 32" flat screen. Great water pressure. They gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fargorunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comment, give us your opinion adds much value and we are glad to hear that du stay in the hotel was better than expected. We will be happy in a next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband I stayed here four times in a month. Our three different rooms off the street were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Other patrons were also considerate. While the rooms do not have bells and whistles, the showers are great. The location is terrific, considering most of the hotels in the area are more expensive. Nearby restaurants are excellent and the hotel breakfast was just fine. There is also a van service to the airport.

The friendly staff was heroic in figuring out what I needed due to my limited Spanish. Some of the staff do speak some English. They all deserve a raise.

My only recommendation is a baggage rack or two would be helpful. I am getting on in years. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street. I suffer from cold so I appreciated a heater in my room to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSLAMissoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your comment, your opinion adds us much value, and we are pleased to know that stay at the hotel du was better than expected.

To provide a better service and help our guests now have a Bellboy at Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place was fine, very dorm-like. That said (and that's a big part), it was pretty clean, efficient, and I thought the breakfast was good too. The patio was a nice morning hang. We were advised where we might go out and sensed no safety issues (a group of 5). Found a hipster bar/club 2 blocks away in the quiet neighborhood, and bunch of cafes we wanted to try when they were open the next day. GREAT used book store 3 blocks away on Carrera 11.
Reasonable place, but not fancy at all. It was just fine.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are reasonably loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the comment, it is a pleasure to know that liked the hotel and filled with expectations we hope to meet them in an upcoming visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Paulina
#99 of 262 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#120 of 262 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Ibis Bogota Museo
#49 of 262 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#43 of 262 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona del Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona del Patio

Property: Casona del Patio
Address: carrera 8 No. 69 _ 24, Bogota 11001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona del Patio 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona del Patio is located in Quinta Camacho Chapinero, a quiet nestled area in the heart of the financial district where there are also great restaurants, night life and shopping like the central commercial Chile Avenue, G Zone, the Rose Zone and the Andino Mall. as well as easy access to public transportation which is one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casona del Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Patio Bogota
Casona Del Patio Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing