We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Mount Monserrate
from $40.00
More Info
from $39.00
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
from $43.81
More Info
Reviews (15,105)
Filter reviews
15,105 results
Traveler rating
9,373
4,629
963
95
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,373
4,629
963
95
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car funicular ride great view of the city walk up entire city above sea level high altitude souvenir shops coca tea worth the trip sunny day beautiful church bogota city la candelaria monserrate teleferico climb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 15,105 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The very best view of Bogotá. In my experience I have two recommendations:

First: Try to do it Monday to Thursday, for the following reasons. On Fridays, arrive a lot of people to Bogota from other places and from El Dorado Airport. Saturday is busy. On Sunday they have around 15 Masses (the ceremony of the Eucharist).

I went on Monday and we were just 7 persons on the cable car.

Second: Take a good camera and go at night. At day the pictures are better of course, but at night the sight is astonishing. I saw the sunset over there and it was really beautiful and romantic, which is a big plus.

It's better a good memory than a photo. At night you can have both, but a greater mind picture.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank fidelmorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Monserrate mountain is one of the places where you can find a nice view of the city, is also a good place for trekking and jogging, sometimes a little bit crowded, specially on weekends but the transportation service is amazing and offer one of the best views of the capital.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mariobogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The mountain is best visited in the morning, when the sun is behind your back. The view from the top gives you a good perspective of the city.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing view. Lovely church. Well worth the trip. This is one of the things I would do if I only had one day in Bogota. I would do it again

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Bigal1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The view of the city is just awe inspiring! It’s worth the money for a trip up the mountain in a cable car or the other option is a crazy rail car. It has a small Mercado with plenty of souvenirs and a church for those that want to visit. There are plenty of small restaurants in a little food court type area, only down side I could see is there wasn’t a lot of vegetarian or vegan options but there is always rice and vegetable sides I suppose. The people are VERY friendly and you can easily find a fellow traveler willing to take photos of you if you desire. All in all I recommend the visit!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Topsecretclearence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews