We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Barrio La Candelaria
from $39.00
More Info
from $10.00
More Info
from $72.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
Reviews (4,242)
Filter reviews
1,082 results
Traveler rating
531
394
117
28
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
394
117
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la candelaria narrow streets colonial architecture interesting area historic neighborhood presidential palace walk around homeless people the main square street vendors bolivar square botero museum nice walk big city gold museum graffiti tour walking tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,082 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Awesome district. Full of history and colonial-republican culture. They have various walking tours, including graffitti ones. Really fun. Great second day in Bogota.

Thank Cbutler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Beautiful neighborhood in Bogotá historic houses churches

Nice museums

Don’t miss the hotel de la opera nice restaurant great view from the mirador

The cathedral is pretty
Don’t miss the graffiti tour great Street art

Thank isabella z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a few blocks of genuinally preserved colonial structures. Located in the absolute geographical center of Bogota this would constitute a walking tour because of the nightmare traffic would represent.
Best done with a guide who knows what they are doing.
No expensive valuables exposed please

Thank correaalberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were not sure if we should have gone to la candelaria since its not 100% safe but we followed a walking tour/map we found on the internet. We loved it especially carrera 2. Make sure you dont deviate from the map and you're not there after dark.

Thank Sylvie1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When i told anyone I was going to bogota they all told me to come here. Now i know why. It’s gorgeous and feels like nowhere else I’ve ever been.

Make sure to take a stroll through this area and remember to bring cash as most don’t accept cards.

Thank 339hollyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You cannot leave Bogota without visiting this place. So much history, food, culture all rolled into one. Maybe be aware of your surroundings and being caught on the street games that don't seem to be safe. Other than that, well worth walking up and down the streets.

Thank GlobeTrotting813365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

You must see it even that a lot of people will say that is dangerous in the night. There are plenty of contrasts, colonial buildings, grafitti, art, narrow streets....dangerous little streets.

Thank ElenaP2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Beautiful part of Bogota (yes there is actually part of this sprawling, traffic choked city that is) To stroll, take in the architecture, museums and the few expensive tourist shops. Not much in the way of dining down here, so the streets empty our around 6:00 in th evening

Thank VIEQUESBEACHBUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

I am sure a guided graffiti tour is fantastic, but just walking La Candelaria is the bomb. Fabulous old buildings painted to bits. Everywhere you look, there it is! Make sure you have lots of camera space. Super bohemian and funky.

Thank CaboSanLucasCocinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

You have to walk around Candelaria if you go to Bogota . The buildings and the culture are amazing and there is something to look at around every corner.

Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews