We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Gold Museum (Museo del Oro)
from $21.34
More Info
from $72.00
More Info
Reviews (12,498)
Filter reviews
3,905 results
Traveler rating
2,576
947
324
38
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,576
947
324
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold museum pre hispanic beautiful pieces on display museo del oro audio guide gift shop impressive collection south america entrance fee colombian history couple of hours visiting bogota artifacts metals raft civilizations
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,905 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This has to be the highlight of Bogotá. I was literally awe struck by the amount of gold and ancient objects here. I spent 4 hours and could have stayed all day. The cost is only 4000 pesos which is like $2. I would have paid $20. Don’t forget to explore the special gallery downstairs too of other art.

Thank DaleL943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We found that it was worth spending 1.5 hours seeing the collection. Would highly recommend the audio guide. The exhibit is a bit repetitious however.

Thank Jroyfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

What were were able to view was enchanting. Our time at the museum was cut short due to a protest and the warning to leave the area.

Thank GoPlaces25633842334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

A magic museum full of history and beautiful gold pieces. Highly recommended. Very cheap and central in downtown.

Thank Yy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The museum has a wealth of artifact about the heritage and culture of the Colombian peoples.

If you get a tour of the museum plan to spend 2-3 hours walking and learning.

If you need a break, there is a great coffee shop at the lower level. Buy some coffee, coffee beans, and get something to eat. Then, back to learning.

Thank Nonac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We took a walk with a guide downtown and to this museum. We really enjoyed learning about the history of gold in the region and different uses in culture over time. It was interesting to see things from a South American perspective!

Thank Aisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved this tour
Best coffee in Colombia in the Balsarestaurant in the Museum
Great guide , incredible knowledge
Highly recommended

Thank Phetita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is one of the world’s great museums and I’d rank it with the Museum of Egyptian Antiquities in Cairo and the National Museum of Anthropology Mexico City. They have an immense range and variety of golden, silver, platinum and copper artefacts. The workmanship of the preColombian artisans is breathtaking. Exhibits are clearly displayed and very well illuminated.

My only regret was that we were unable to stay as long as we would have liked. I would recommend at least two hours to appreciate the skill beauty and value of the exhibits.

Thank Mingalaba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although not solely about gold, the Museo de Oro focuses on pre-columbian gold and other artifacts that were created by the peoples who lived in and around what is now the nation of Colombia. The displays illustrate how artists created the artifacts, and explanatory signs in Spanish and very well-translated English give some background and facts about what you're seeing. The main museum is on the second and third floors, and the -2 level has a special exhibit (right now, it's about the African slave trade). There's a gift shop, a cafe, and a restaurant as well. Admission is now 4000 COP. There are lockers if you have a big bag you don't want to carry around; they require a 200 or 500 peso coin, but you get it back when you return the key.

Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I only expect gold items, but it was more then that. I learn a lot about their philosophy, life style and history! Entry is free on Sunday

Thank Laima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews