We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Museum (Museo del Oro)

Gold Museum (Museo del Oro)
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.60*
and up
Private Gold Museum Guided Tour Including Entrance Fee
Ranked #2 of 310 things to do in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Banco de la República Gold Museum houses one of the most important collections of pre-Hispanic metallurgy in the world. As its history, which dates back to 1939, has unfolded, so this institution has become a symbol of Colombia's cultural memory. Its golden exhibition, fully renewed in November, 2008, is a place you cannot miss in your next trip to Bogota.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very big. They have audio-guide in French, Spanish, English and German (not sure). They have a lot of structure in gold ! I loved this museum

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,548
    2,232
    582
    66
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Boy surprised me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I did not want to go as i thought it would be boring. However our friends insisted so we went. I am so happy I did as it really was one of the more interesting museums I have been and I learned so much about a pre-colonized Colombia!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, null, Colombia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The best gold museum in Latin America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's incredible collection of golden handicraft will leave the visitor really astonished. Thousands of the best pieces are exposed in the renewed rooms of the museum. Take your time to visit it with a guide to understand in the best way. Really affordable is the best cultural visit in Bogota' (less than 2 usd). Don't miss it during your staying in Bogota'.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

You will not find in other places such a huge and beatiful collection and wait for the room that will surprise you, it really will.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meandyou7276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creemore, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“A golden experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A beautiful and well layed out museum. A "must see" if visiting Bogota. Friendly English speaking guides.Expect to spend many hours exploring the displays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank roberthornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Museum (Museo del Oro) also viewed

 

Been to Gold Museum (Museo del Oro)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing