We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
78
73
51
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
73
51
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle glassla candelariacentrocarreraprosconsenglishfloorcerealnoise
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 224 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2015

When I arrived at this hotel, the street looked scruffy and there was a sex shop out front. 'Do I belong here?' I thought. As it turned out, yes. Inside, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, well cleaned and serviced. The staff were pleasant and the breakfasts were good. Just a block from the historical La Candelaria, it was close to the Museo del Oro, other museums, churches and plazas. In the other direction are plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: High up and a window to the front gives some lovely views, especially at night.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2015
Google Translation

Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is long overdue for a renovation. The thin windows where never designed to keep the streetnoise out. Next door a giant building is constructed and building continues day and night. Breakfast is mediocre with unfriendly staff. Not recommended!

Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
Thank Climber514278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2015
Google Translation

Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Dann Avenida 19 is definitely well-located, in La Candelaria, close to Carrera 7 and to the Museo del Oro. This very convenient location in the commercial and touristic center constitutes its only big advantage.

Otherwise, this hotel typically belongs to this variety of charmless and impersonal hotels built during the 1980s. Thus the style is flatly old-school, but in the way standardized hotels could be, so not old-school in the good way.

Unfortunately, there is not a reliable Internet access in the rooms... you have to go downstairs, in the hall, to get a good Internet connexion.

Moreover, the rooms are not so small, which is a good point, but doubtless faded. Except one person, the staff is not English-speaking and has to use Google Translate in order to speak with you if you don't understand Spanish. However, they do try to help you and the hotel has its own car service (which is more expensive than the taxis, but safer).

Furthermore, the breakfast is not so good... again, it's quite standardized with industrial products. Really not the best way to begin the day while you are in vacation.

Consequently, the hotel is "average": not so good and dated, but well-located and not so expensive. It could be a good option or plan B if you don't find a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doursou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2015
Google Translation

Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My stay started badly ,wifi was unavailable in my room . After a lot of to and fro checking with reception my room was changed to a lower floor. A mistake as the noise from the street and music form the nightclubs went on until about 4pm. Just when I fell asleep the hotels Muzak in the corridor came on around 6am . Also I was warned to be indoors by 9.30pm as the area was too dangerous. At its best the wifi reaction is erratic even in the hotel lobby .The plus was the good buffet breakfast and comfortable bed

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank adam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2015
Google Translation

Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel seemed ok when I entered and here are the good and bad points -

Pros -
1. The price was good
2. The room was clean
3. Close to the gold museum if your a tourist
4. descent wifi and even had free computers in the lobby

Cons
1. There was quite some security including locking the main doors at night, which led me to think it wasnt one of the safest areas.
2. One girl on the desk speaks English, its impossible to communicate at all if she isnt there
3. Taxi - I took the hotel taxi for everywhere, and they grossly overcharge. Instead of a 7000 peso ride as per my friend, they charged 25000! Also, this short guy who drove me to the Cathedral de Sal, had a dirty car, and back breaking ride, as he seemed to be in a race with Schumacher. I ended up spending a whole lot on the hotel cars. I understand that they are more expensive than regular taxis, but this was outrageous!
4. I had booked a room for 2. The price is the same whether its one adult or two adults, however, they made me pay $25/night per second person extra! Obviously since no one spoke English, I could not even bother explaining anything. Needless to say, check out was extremely bitter.
5. Room temperature cannot be controlled.
6. Bathroom is very ordinary though they give you basic utilities
7. I asked for a wake up call at 5. The guy calls me at 5:25.
8. Because they dont speak English, be prepared to be delayed for check in, etc. anything you need from the reception basically

Room Tip: All rooms were standard, nothing special. I would recommend check the bathroom before you accept a room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2015
Google Translation

Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews