We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second time at this charming hostel”
Review of Chocolate Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chocolate Hostel
Ranked #103 of 282 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed here from the 13th to the 17th of May and again on the 21st to the 23rd I have to say that the main reason why I came back to the hostel is because it is spotless , I was very impressed in how clean it is 24/7 and to me that is the most important characteristic in a hostel that has so much traffic, I must say overall it's a nice place with friendly staff although sometimes the front desk staff has a bit too many guests of their own and it's hard to find a glass or a knife for the paying customer since these "guests" are using them in their daily get togethers. I appreciate so much the nice lady that has breakfast on time and hot and ready to go the moment you step on the perfectly organized kitchen. I would like to thank chocolate hostel and I will be back! O another thing make sure to sock up on beers because that refrigerator has been empty for 4 days now!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miofidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Chocolate Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at Chocolate Hostel for two nights in April 2014. We paid $28 a night for a room with private bathroom and cable television. The room was small and the bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was small, too, and very dirty - the rug was filthy and the cleaning schedule posted on the bathroom door showed it was last cleaned in February 2012. The common area was okay, though the chimney was not connected to the fireplace so it was non-functional. The hostel is in La Candelaria and ten minutes walking from all the sights, metro line, restaurants and shops. If not for the dumpy room and filthy bathroom, Chocolate Hostel would be a good value. There are 75+ hostels in La Candelaria and we would try another one if we returned to Bogotà.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you're not really into the large party hostels in Colombia, this place is for you. They keep it quiet at night, but there's a good atmosphere where you can still meet other travelers. Nice architectural touches, a homey feel, and comfy common areas make this a fun place to hang during your stay. Close to everything in Candelaria, just don't walk around alone at night, obviously.
The only downside is the Bogota weather, so the semi-outdoor showers can be hard to keep warm!

Room Tip: If you can, spring for the little single rooms instead of the dorms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A very nice hostal, cheap and well located, with an amazingly helpful staff! Arrived exhausted with a twisted ankle and left walking normally with a smile.. A very warmful welcome to Colombia for anybody who arrives to Colombia. Rooms are clean and nice, breakfast is decent but not very big.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v_ammeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights as it has a good kitchen and a decent breakfast included. The breakfast was an hour late on the second morning. There are board games, DVDs, computers and a book exchange. Not enough bathrooms/toilets and 1 of the five staff we constantly came across actually was friendly, the rest sat on the computer all day sighing when you asked for any information. We have definitely met nicer people in Colombia.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hostel is really great, you find a great staff that know a lot of the city and can give you so good information about things to do and places to know. The beds are confortable and clean. The breakfast is nice and the people is great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed one week in this hostel and did not regret a second: in the very heart of the youthful and lively historic center of Bogotá, it offers a kind and perfect hospitalidad. When I first arrived at midnight, it seemed to be a dark and a bit scary corner of the town, but the cordial welcome let forget all the struggles of the journey: a clean, tidy and absolutely safe place. Edwis, Carolina and Jefferson were all the time so amicable, helpful with advice and information and very patient with my first steps in Spanish that I feel accustomed now like a resident. I particularly enjoyed the free internet and immediately felt at home. Try changua once at breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welterfahren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Fatima Suites
Fatima Suites
#16 of 282 in Bogota
36 reviews
La Candelaria
Arche Noah Guesthouse
Arche Noah Guesthouse
#9 of 282 in Bogota
112 reviews
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chorro de Quevedo
#17 of 323 in Bogota
273 reviews
La Candelaria
Kozii hostel D.C
Kozii hostel D.C
#8 of 282 in Bogota
116 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#2 of 282 in Bogota
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolate Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Hostel

Address: Calle 12f # 2-43, Bogota 250055, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 282 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chocolate Hostel is located in a beautiful colonial house in the historic center of the city where you will find a friendly, warm and welcoming atmosphere with all the comfort you deserve to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Chocolate Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing