We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming colonial with some faults”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #41 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Charming colonial with some faults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Well located charming colonial hotel near a collection of some of the city's big museums and other historical sites. It is also across from the Colombian Department of State, which brings with it an extra layer (or 3) of neighborhood security. Add to that the nearby Presidential Palace, which has its own collection of armed guards and this appears to be a very safe neighborhood.

I'd say it is next to the opera house but that will probably be meaningless when you read this due to the ongoing renovation although it is a good landmark for finding the hotel on the map.

The main part of the hotel is a merging of two historic properties....with a lot of steps, even to get to the elevator. Everything looks very well maintained. My travel friends said their rooms in this section were large and quite nice. The one complaint was that they were on or near the street level and, thus had no privacy. And it was very very noisy. The cars were right outside their windows and the honking horns started at dawn.

The hotel does not have A/C and it can get stuffy if you can't open the windows, which is a big issue when you are at street level.

My room – 712- was in an annex that is the top floor of an office building (that you get to via an elevator inside the hotel---the slowest elevator ever built). Everything on the 7th floor is very modern. There’s even a lounge area.

The room has a great view of the city. (So I was the only one in my group who saw the very bizarre 4am fireworks display. The guess is that they were queued up for a future event, probably related to football, and no one was around at 4am to turn off the launching machine.)

On the 7th floor: Good wifi. Lots of room space. Lots of desktop space. Big bathroom with a nice array of amenities, including robes and slippers.

The one warning is that the lighting is BYO. The hallway outside the room has a very well designed lighting system but they forgot to design a room system. It is very dark once the sun goes down.

The morning breakfast buffet is modest but had different hot foods each day.

My 4 rating is based on my experience and especially on the 7th floor. If I had had a stuffy, noisy room in the lower-level section it might be a 1.
…………………..

FYI: If you are in Bogota for business dress very formally in dark suits. Women’s office attire can be fashionable; men’s is very old-school and they all looked like their suits were custom fit.

If you are a tourist and want to blend in, wear dark clothes. The locals do wear pops of color but at least 90% of any crowd on the street will be in dark colors. (Maybe since they live in eternal spring weather they don’t feel the need to celebrate the end of winter with bright colors. ?)

Room Tip: Get a room on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate you took the time to give your opinion about our Hotel; it helps us to improve and offer each time a better experience to our guests.

Now we are installing the soundproof in our rooms which are the most important improvement to guarantee you have the best experience in our Hotel. Also, they will have new upholstery and linen.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel and have the opportunity to demonstrate you.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    186
    63
    14
    11
See reviews for
49
239
61
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We started our honeymoon from Ireland in this hotel and we were glad we did. Very friendly staff, very nice atmosphere and excellent location. All the reception staff were really helpful and nice.Orlando was working as a night porter and I had a great chat with him a lovely guy, prob the best English speaker there not sure if he just works nights but would be a great addition to the management team during the day in my opinion. Thanks for everything, if we come back to Colombia we will stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you take time to share your comments about our hotel. It always help us to improve and encourage our staff to work hard every day.

I glad to see Orlando gave you a excellent service and you had a wonderful experience during your stay, for Hotel de la Opera is very important to achieve the excellent in all of our services. We hope we can see you again in our Hotel and exceed even more your expectations.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were in the hotel for our three nights in Bogota.
This hotel was chosen by the tour company we travel with around the world. It is located in the center of the Candelaria district and close to the major plaza, Gold and Botero Museum. Getting around is easy.
Our room had windows and outside ventilation as we faced the street on a corner. Problem was the noise (6 AM to 1 AM). But we had ventilation that other rooms of our group did not. THANK GOODNESS.

Room was nice as was the bathroom - small but concise. Towels were extremely thin.

Everyone was super helpful, very nice - but everyone on Colombia was very pleasant and smiling. Colombia is considered to be the #1 friendliest country in the world.

Breakfast was limited. Waiters were super and had the espresso coffee ready for me.

One great complement was the internet connection - best we have had in over 120 countries and FREE.

Room: Get a room with an outside window - then check before unpacking.

Room Tip: Get a room with an outside window - then check before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you take time to share your comments about our hotel. It always help us to improve and encourage our staff to work hard every day.

I glad to see you had a good experience during your stay, for Hotel de la Opera is very important to achieve the excellent in all of our services that's why we are installing the soundproof this month in our rooms.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Clean, charming in appearance. Great location. Fine breakfast. But a big disappointment. My room was on an interior courtyard. Only window was on the courtyard and could not be opened. Room was hot and stuffy; only circulation was the wimpy bathroom fan (though I was given a good fan upon request). Noise rattles up from the courtyard; there was a party one night (mercifully finished by midnight) and the noise was so loud I could not concentrate on reading even with good earplugs; sleep was out of the question. To make matters worse there was a loudspeaker 10-15 feet from my door continuously (except during normal sleeping hours) playing rather rousing classical music; I have never encountered anything like that and it quickly got on my nerves. Another problem: I leave a daily tip for the maid, but one afternoon I got to my room which had not yet been serviced but the tip was gone; who got my tip?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phys406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate you took the time to give your opinion about our Hotel; it helps us to improve and offer each time a better experience to our guests.

We apologies for the noisy in your room, now we are installing the soundproof in our rooms which is the most important improvement to guarantee you have the best experience in our Hotel.

Also, we verified the security process because it is not correct that one of our employees take money from your room, after we checked there was not report about it. However, we want to assure you that we took actions to strengthen the security on all our installations.

We hope we can see you again in Hotel and have the opportunity to demonstrate you.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Hotel de la Opera was the perfect fit for an amazing first trip to Bogota. Upon check-in, the concierge (who said it was his second day of work at the hotel) and the girl at the front desk were so helpful and kind. That was a wonderful welcome and the hospitality continued with everyone that worked there during the trip. What a great staff!! The hotel is beautiful and has two sections - the Art Deco and the Colonial wings. I was lucky to get one of the Art Deco rooms that hosted absolutely stunning views across the city. The room was very big in size, had a huge bed and had all of the necessities one needs as well as having a large bathroom which was superb. The rest of the charming hotel was beautiful and was in immaculate condition. Bolivar Square is only a few blocks away, all of the museums, churches and historical spots are within walking distance. The concierge and front desk attendants were so helpful in mapping out directions, how to get to certain places and helped greatly with arranging taxis to Monserrate and Andres D.C. (Andres Carne de Res in Zona Rosa - very nice restaurant and closer than the Chia location).

Please extend a big Thank You to all of the staff at the Hotel de la Opera for a perfect first-time stay in La Candelaria. I tried my best with speaking Spanish but everyone at the hotel spoke perfect English so that was a really huge help!

Tips for travelers - take the time and explore the beautiful streets of this historic town. There is a free guided walking tour provided by the Bogota Tourist Information Centre that was fantastic and only a few blocks away from the hotel. They pointed out the Hotel de la Opera along the way and said it was a grand hotel. I was happy to say that I was staying there! Thanks again for a memorable trip to Bogota.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you take time to share your comments about our hotel. It always help us to improve and encourage our staff to work hard every day.

I glad to see the wonderful experience you had during your stay, for Hotel de la Opera is very important to achieve the excellent in all of our services. We hope we can see you again in our Hotel and exceed even more your expectations.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay in this lovely hotel ...our first night was on the first floor and it was noisy and a little warm because we could not open the windows...we were moved to the 7th floor on the next night and it was much better...we could sleep with open windows.the breakfast was very good...with a man who did very nice omletes..and very fresh fruit juices with lots more...it was very clean and the staff did speak English which was rare anyplace in Bogota!!!

Room Tip: do not stay on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you take time to share your comments about our hotel. It always help us to improve and encourage our staff work hard every day.

For Hotel de la Opera is very important to achieve the excellent in all of our services; we hope we can see you again in our Hotel and exceed even more your expectations.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January. The location is ideal for visiting the main sites in the old city. You are close to some good restaurants. We found the hotel was charming and provided you with a good buffet breakfast. Our room on the third floor- 301- corner room was very disappointing. It was simple, dark, but clean. There was construction going on outside our window which looked on to an alley. It was not quiet for sleeping. Because of the open courtyard noise travels. Nights can be very noisy. We found it difficult to sleep. We found the front desk could have been more courteous and helpful. We were disappointed in Room 301.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms on the open courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve and encourage overcoming our guest's expectations every day.

We apologies about the noisy of your room; next to us there is the "Teatro Colon" which has been restoring its internal construction during the day from 8am to 6pm. Hopefully, this year they will finish their work then we will have the opportunity to enjoy a pleasant stay and an excellent role play next to us.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,


Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#48 of 268 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#14 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#79 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#92 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#86 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#117 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Property: Hotel de la Opera
Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing