We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Opera
Nearby Hotels
EK Hotel(Bogota)
$136
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$109
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$246
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lancaster House(Bogota)(Great Value!)
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$419
$376
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$500
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
308
226
72
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
226
72
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotero museumgold museumpresidential palacemirador restauranthistoric hotelteatro coloncolonial sectiongovernment buildingscandelaria districtpretty hotelcentral courtyardseventh floorlovely hotelpolice presenceperfect locationsmall balconysimon bolivar
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 634 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel located in the heart of the Candelaria neighborhood is absolutely exquisite. Living in the States, I wasn’t sure what a luxury hotel in Colombia might look like, but I was not disappointed. There are two room options available; colonial and deco. I did not stay in a colonial room, but from what I saw, they are lovely rooms, some with balconies, looking over the (indoor) courtyard area of the hotel. I stayed in a deco room on the 7th floor, which are the more modern rooms. The room had a king size bed, flat screen TV, huge bath tub in a fully modern bathroom with luxury bath products, and extras (robe, toiletries). I strongly suggest reserving a deco room. The 7th floor has a nice sala (living room) where you can relax, read or watch TV outside of your room. The room also had beautiful views of Bogota and the mountains. A nice breakfast with several options is served each morning in a beautiful dining area, and there are 2 restaurants and a bar in the hotel. The hotel has a beautiful spa with a small pool, hot tub, massage rooms and sauna. During my visit, construction was taking place somewhere in the hotel, which resulted in loud noises heard in the spa that prohibited true relaxation. However, the spa atmosphere combined with several reclining lounge chairs, has the potential to be a wonderful, calming place to unwind after a day of sightseeing (when there’s no construction). The staff were for the most part friendly and willing to help (1 or 2 were rude, but you get that anywhere). Tip: The location of this Candelaria hotel is perfect for visiting Bolivar Square, Museo de Oro, Museo Botero, even within walking distance to the base of Cerro Monserrate (about a 1.5 mile walk). There are several restaurants and cafes (including the famous La Puerta Falsa) very close to the hotel. As a single female traveler, I felt perfectly safe within the hotel. However, be careful and aware of your surroundings when walking through Candelaria at night. Some areas can be desolate and poorly lit.

Room Tip: Stay in a deco room for true luxury and beautiful views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancethrulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve and encourage overcoming our guest's expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,


Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is well situated in the old quarter of Bogota, close to the central square, the main cathedral and the Gold Museum which is a must see. We were a group of seven people, three couples and a single lady and were allocated different rooms. These rooms were of varying standards. Ours had a decent sized bedroom but a tiny bathroom. The room allocated to the single lady had no outside windows and only looked into the central area - totally unacceptable for a hotel which claims 5-star status on the sign outside the entry.

We also had no hot water on our arrival and our rooms were pretty cold although another traveller complained about his room on the other side of the hotel being too hot!

Breakfast looked pretty varied but service was excruciatingly slow. It took nearly 30 minutes to serve our boiled eggs.

One other complaint was that the hotel receptionist reserved a table for 7 at a famous restaurant on a certain date but when we arrived at the venue, we discovered that a belated Christmas/New Year party was being held for the restaurant employees that very night and was therefore closed to others.

The only reason why I am giving this hotel an average, not lower rating, was the incredible politeness shown to us by the hotel employees. In fact, we found Colombians of all walks of life respectful and more than willing to help, which made our overall trip the most memorable of all the 5 different trips we have made as a group to Latin America.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room has a window looking outside and also a decent-sized bathroom. Check to see that there is hot water.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion about our Hotel.

We apologies for the inconvenient you had on your last stay in our Hotel. Actually all of our rooms are different due to the restoration our founders made when they opened after it had been a family house and commercial business. In this order, we also have variety in case our guests do not like to be next to the street and prefer interior room.

We have Concierge and a very complete guide to help you in your entire trip; you can ask to the receptionist for the concierge or the person on charge who can give you assist on all your stay. We are committed with the excellence and customer service I hope we can demonstrate you in your next visit to our city.

Please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice place, location, staff. Hot room with no ceiling fan or AC or window. Inner courtyard type with window opening to inner balcony walkway. They gave us a fan, but it was not enough; we checked out early. Too bad, it's a nice place.

Room Tip: Try the street facing rooms which will be cooler, but may be noisy (street traffic).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dduck245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve every day.

It is a shame that you could not have an excellent stay in our Hotel, every day we work to satisfy your expectations, if the room did not like to you, you could change to another in which you had felt comfortable.

I hope we have the opportunity to see you next time in our hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with big pluses. This colonial hotel is on a beautiful narrow street shared with old presidential palace, a theater, and the Presidential Guard at both ends making this seem super safe. The omelet breakfast chef was great. The new plastic key system perfect. Wifi excellent. All the staff had smiles and tried to correct small problems. The problems, though trivial, detracted from a high level of expectation. This is in the Candalaria so it's no Sofitel on the north side let's face it. But the warn towels were disappointing, an issue with power to most outlets was amusing in that I had fun solving the problem jointly with Randy the bell hop by locating the main panel. We had room 716. Not as good as roof top and cathedral view rooms 715 etc. Not sure if that was a junior suite which was our prepaid reservation. When we were checked into room 102 with no windows we knew that was an odd error. Especially as there was a wedding going on outside our door on the pretty atrium. That was hysterical as the violinist, who was terrific, could see me dressing through half shuttered atrium window. The transfer to Deco room 715 was arranged within 15 minutes. OK. I will recommend this hotel to any tourist who wants amazing strolling proximity to the Gold Museum, the Botero museum, old Candalaria district. We had 3 nights there. But 4 stars because it didn't meet expectations of a 5 star hotel. And it's on the prettiest street.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments about our services, they always help us to improve and consider new goals in order to satisfy our guests.

We apologies for the inconvenient you had on your last stay, promising we are making improvement actions to avoid this kind of situations. Hotel de la Opera staff is committed with the excellence and service; we always make everything possible to fill your expectations. After this comment we work all together in order to correct and have the best option for you in the History Center.

I hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed there with my family and had a very pleasant stay. the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good. it has a spa with sauna and pool and even a gym. the staff is very friendly and they provide you with everything. I can highly recommend it high end places is your type of stay.

un abrazo
gregor

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve and encourage overcoming our guest's expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews