We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & View fantastic, some issues”
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #34 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Location & View fantastic, some issues”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If sound was controlled, better toiletries and spa was open would be 4 to 5 stars.

I had the luxury of staying at a couple of hotels in Bogota. This one and one in the Financial district. Hands down if you want to be a tourist this is the place - during the day. Zona Rosa is the place to have dinner and such if you want to walk around. You will however find a happening area a few blocks NorthEast where restaurants and hostels abound.

What I loved:
We had a room on the 7th floor in the "deco" wing. These rooms actually are attached via a hallway to an elevator, all interior, to the top floor of a neighboring building. The views from Room 712 were just incredible. Directly looking at the church domes, plazas and colonial dwellings. I doubt there is a better view in the La Calenderia area. There was no church bell noise as you expect in some European towns. The rooms was nicely furnished with basic furniture but lovely hard wood floors. The bathroom was spacious but not huge with a shower only (which I prefer).

The hotel location was great for what we wanted. During the day we happily walked all around the area and enjoyed the Botero Museum, Gold Museum, churches and plazas. There is a Juan Valdez a block away. Even at night we walked together and felt safe. I would be cautious but overall nothing more than when in a city in The US.

Breakfast was included and it was nice. They offered cook-to-order omelets and a variety of fruits and fried stuff.

Improvements:
The room was noisy. The windows are single pane and even though on the 7th floor you hear a lot of street noise. Also when someone walks down the hallway you also hear their footsteps. In all my years of travel noise is rarely an issue but when it is, it's maddening. The hotel was not even that busy when we were there so I can only imagine when the hotel is full with all the noise of walking around.

If you are expecting a nice time in the Spa/sauna area good luck. We arrived on Sunday and although the hotel was pretty much empty they held to a strict 3pm check in. No worries but then we were told the spa area was only open until 6 and closed on Mondays. We had expected it as a nice way to unwind after days of busy sight seeing but that did not happen. The front desk staff was also very uninterested in us not being happy with this.

Asking for a taxi was efficient and the hotel did not surcharge to do so. HOWEVER when I asked for a taxi to one of the Northern Suburbs to see the historic charm he suggested a much nicer location - a modern shopping mall near the airport. A total waste of a day and money. Still not sure what that was about.

I found myself twice at the front desk asking for help and while trying to help they assisted other patrons who were checking out or had room questions before they helped me. Not sure why, but it did make me feel less important and I had to wait while they helped others.

Overall it was a nice hotel but with the price you'd expect better hours for the sauna and quieter rooms. The view and location do counteract those issues if you are prepared.

Room Tip: Room 712 in the deco area has the view! Spa has limited hours. Bring your own toiletries - the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to make a review of our Hotel.

Our guests are the more important part of our organization that is why we have to make a regular maintenance each monday in our Thermae Spa. Additionally, our staff are commited with the excellence and are trained to advised you about nice places in Bogotá. We hope you give us the oportunity to demostrate it in a next stay.

Please, consider De La Opera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Kind Regards,

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    193
    66
    14
    11
See reviews for
52
254
62
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Don't get me wrong...a nice, safe choice for the government area...at night it is rather dead (or unsafe?) nearby...this hotel has charm, old world charm,..staff is genuinely nice and helpful. A bit pricey for what it is...

Room Tip: When you get your room...MAKE 100% SURE that you cannot hear any noise coming from the restaurant ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments.

We are working improve your expectations, and we hope to have the opportunity to see you back in the Hotel.

Sincerely;

LINA CARO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

While staying in Bogota for an extended period of time, we booked Hotel de la Opera, at an exceptional rate, for a weekend get-away in the Historical Center, and were very pleased.

There are two sections of the hotel, a beautifully restored Colonial section, on two floors, with rooms facing an internal courtyard, and a contemporary spa-inspired section on higher floor.

Our room was in the contemporary section, it was big and comfortable, light and airy, and quiet, with nice little amenities - robes, slippers, bottled water, and pleasing toiletries. The bathroom was large - with a great tub for soaking, and there were plenty of hangers in the wardrobe - always appreciated. I wasn't so crazy about the bedding - primarily the blanket and spread - finding them a bit dated and worn, though nothing horrible. Still, in the best interest of the hotel, I brought this to the attention of the staff and my concern was well-received and noted.

There is a peaceful little spa on the first level of the hotel, and use of the facilities are included in the room rate. There's a steam/sauna area, as well as a jacuzzi, and a small pool - and several comfy chairs/loungers for relaxing. The hours of operation are schedule-accommodating - from 7a.m. til 10 p.m. - and we found it a great place to unwind.

Service here was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. An issue with room service - forgotten items, poorly prepared food and plopped-on-the-plate presentation - was handled with finesse and corrected immediately.

Breakfast - also included in the room rate - was tasty and ample.

Overall, if you're looking for a hotel in the Historical Center, close to museums and other points of interest, Hotel de la Opera is a very good choice.

Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our services and look for exceed your expectations in your next stay.

We hope to see you back in the hotel.

Sincerely;

Lina Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel de la opera is strategically placed in one of the safest areas of Bogota, this delightful hotel is in a heavily policed historic area , lots of students walking and for those wanting to get lucky with a columbian emerald a good place to start.
Do not believe the negative western press on Bogota as wether you are in New York,Sydney or London all cities require a degree of caution.
Do not forget to try the potato and chicken soup,
The hotel has two court yards and exudes a Latin ambiance , the breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit, the rooms are good and the 7th floor has great roof top views.
There are five stars on the front of the Hotel but I think it may be self rated as it is not like five star hotels I have stayed.
All up good spot at a fair price.

Room Tip: Get motivated and travel to Bogota and Columbia before the rest of the Gringo,s discover how nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Customer Service at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you took to share about our Hotel.

It was a pleassure to have had with us and even better being able to meet your expectations.

We hope to see you back, please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Sincelery,

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel was the first part of our Colombian honeymoon in December of 2011.
We thought the building was beautiful with lots of character.
Our room was overlooking the street with a wraparound balcony.
I loved the balcony and the old windows. The view was lovely, top of buildings and churches.
I also loved the big bathroom with the old tub.

Short walking distance to most of the sights we were planning to see.

The hotel staff was very helpful when we needed taxi services or had questions.

The included breakfast was nice.

We also witnessed a small wedding in the courtyard - that was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_Gu_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Customer Service at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments. This encourage us to keep working in order to offer you an excellent service.

We hope to see you back in the hotel.

Sincerely;

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is one of a very few in the historic Candaleria section of Bogota. It is said to have been the home of Simone Bolivar during at least part of his time in Colombia.
The hotel is very well restored and maintained. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food was good, but not great. Breakfast, which included a made-to-order egg bar, came with the price of the room.
The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Bogota's main plaza, and is walking distance to places like the Botero Museum and the Museum of Gold. The Candaleria is not known as a safe place to wander at night, so we usually stayed in the hotel after dark and ate dinner there. The security on the street in front of the hotel seemed very good because there were guards blocking each end of that segment of street.
Our room had a balcony that overlooked the street, and we enjoyed the temperate Bogota weather each night as we slept. There was some street noise at night, but nothing that kept us from sleeping. Our daughters slept in a room to the rear of the hotel, and reported that some nearby construction would awaken them around 7 a.m.
While we could have stayed in suburban Bogota and enjoyed a wider choice of light life and restaurants at night, we were very pleased that we stayed at this attractive hotel in the heart of Bogota.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Customer Service at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our services every day and keep working to exceed your expectations next time.

We hope to see you again, consider De la Opera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Sincerely;

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent only one night in Dec 2012. Hotel rather old, with old equipment and really should be asap renovated. Hovewer bathrom was clean and well maintained. Room spacoius but as I mentioned, furniters, walls, curtains quite used and demaged. It is not a 4 star hotel. Breakfest was very good with wide variety of vegetables, meats and perfect kolumbian coffee. Unfotunately the biggest surprise it was check-out... I am not sure if it was by mistake or not, during check-out they requested to surpaid for addititional guest that according their opinion was in my room! They were rude and only after my firm request to show movie from video monitoring, and to immediatelly contact with an agency who made a booking, they told me: we a sorry, it was a mistake, this woman visited another room...

Dear De La Opera Hotel Manager, you should train your staff at the reception desk!
Hence, no more visits in Opera hotel in Bogota.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpawlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you took to share about our Hotel.

Our guests are the more important part of our organization that is why our staff is committed with the excellence and kindness. We hope to see to back and overcome your expectations in the next stay.

Please, consider De La Opera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Kind Regards,

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#52 of 265 in Bogota
129 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#74 of 265 in Bogota
326 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#14 of 265 in Bogota
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#98 of 265 in Bogota
240 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#128 of 265 in Bogota
208 reviews
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#82 of 265 in Bogota
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Property: Hotel de la Opera
Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing