We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #33 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a charming hotel in the historic section of Bogota. I have stayed here twice. On the first occasion I managed to get a suite with a balcony in the historic part of the building. This was much preferred to the standard room and was spacious with good views to the street. The hotel reminds one of a pensione in the Italian style and is decorated as such in all the common areas of the hotel. The rooms themselves are simple and adequate. Go up to El Mirador restaurant to see the rooftop view of the city. Breakfast here is ample and tasty with of course very good coffee. The ajiaco is also very good. The street is secured at night. If this is your first time to Bogota, I would suggest staying here a few nights then heading to Zona Rosa or someplace in the North to experience the other side of Bogota. It is truly a city of many faces. As for hotel de la opera, I think it is one of the best if not the best in La Candelaria. I enjoyed it both times. The spa and relaxation pool are pretty.

Room Tip: Opt for the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LunaB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 573 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

my wife and I stayed here in December 2012 for 2 days and we loved it. we have been coming together to Bogota every year for 8 years (her family is here) and we always take time to get away on our own and experience something for ourselves. I always loved the candelaria area and the centro (central commerce area) and this hotel is very close with easy access. the hotel is beautiful - LOVED the pool - you can't really do laps, but after a day of walking in the high altitude the warm waters were welcome and rejuvenating. we also used the sauna and steam room and that was welcome as well. the staff were very helpful and some even spoke English - my wife is Colombian but I always find that comforting. I have to say the mirador restaurant served the best meal I've had in Colombia (chicken with gorgonzola with ham), my wife had Ajiaco (a chicken soup type dish that is the signature dish of Bogota) - she said it was good, but not as good as her mom's. Colombia is not known for it's cuisine but the food here was very good, comforting, the wine selection quite good and at a good price, and the entertainment was wonderful. breakfast was included and along with an omelette I had a croguette filled with coconut and rice that was delish. WIFIworked great - I watched a Netflix movie on my laptop as it's hard to find English language channels here. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone, and we'll be coming back here. pluses here are the great hot water, really good water pressure, location, friendly staff, good food, and a beautiful historic building. we were in a junior sweet on the 7th floor with an amazing view of the city - we opened the windows at night, but the street noise became too much-what do you expect in a very large city!!! we closed them and they kept the noise out.

Room Tip: you can get rooms on 1,2 or 7 - on 7 you can get great city views....1 and 2 is a beautiful interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_NorthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Steve

We appreciate you shared your experience in our Hotel.

Please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogotá.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Lina Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our "acclimitisation" stop over so that we could get used to the altitude of the high Andes. The Hotel was superbly situated and the building was lovely - but the hotel staff did not seem to have their heart in serving their guests -
I was not sure whether it was comforting or frightening to see armed security guards on the corners of many of the roads - but Bogota was fascinating and is certainly work while visiting - and i was sorry not to be travelling around Colombia more.It was disappointing that the Theatro Colon was not open during our stay as the proximity was tempting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anned0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were upgraded to this hotel when Casa Deco had a problem with rooms. The hotel has an excellent location in La Candelaria, right beside the Theatro Colon and within two blocks of most of the main sights. There are security guards/police stationed at both ends of the street. We visited the last weekend in October which was unusually busy due to a festival and this made it more pleasant to wander around into the evening.

The hotel is similar to an older style European hotel, comfortable and well maintained.

Our room, 201, was a older style room with high ceilings. There was a table, desk, chair, twin beds, night stands, flat screen TV, and closet with safe. The bathroom (shower) was small but had everything required including bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer and amenities. Wifi was on/off/on in the room, a cable in the room would not be helpful as we travel with an iPad.

Our room was an inner room, but there was still noise from other guests and also from the plumbing noises.

There are a number of common areas to relax and read in and the sitting room has some interesting books on Colombia.

Breakfast included fruit, juices, cereal, yoghurt, eggs, an assortment of four hot dishes one of which was rice, toast and pastries. The pastries and hot dishes were rather dry . At first we thought it was because it was the weekend but they were the same during the weekday.

We had two lunches, one in La Scala and the other in La Mirador. The food was okay but the service was rather remote. The staff were less welcoming and friendly than any of the other hotels we have been in this trip.

Would recommend for location and the European feel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is an absolutley gorgeous hotel in the middle of the La Candelaria. This hotel itself is beautifully maintained and exceptionally clean. It has a lot of similarities with a European style hotel. It's within walking distance of all the major sights of La Candelaria (Museo de Oro, Botero Museum, etc) and has some decent options for dining. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 709 and had a beautiful view of the city. I would reccomend that room. The breakfast was excellent, we had all sorts of choices (eggs, cereal, juice, coffee).

There were only two negative things I would mention here:
1) The wi-fi did not work for us. After trying countless times to connect we decided to just use the cable. The internet worked but no wi-fi.
2) While this is situated in a fantastic location and the hotel itself is very safe, the surroundings at night are not very good for tourists. I was with locals and even they did not want to walk around some of the streets at night. Be forewarned, cab it.

I would highly reccomend this place for couples looking for a romatic getaway, folks that want to be close to downtown, and people that are not looking to walk around the streets after dark.

Room Tip: Room 709 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Mr. Michael

Thank you for share your experience with us, our mission is that you enjoy your stay.

I apologize, we had troubles with WIFI connection for that reason we decided to have the cable in the rooms like a second option when connection does not work.

For to be in the historical and gubernamental area of Bogotá, each day thousands of people walk the streets and at night university students, but we haven´t many residents so streets are so quiet at night, but is guarded 24 hours because is in front of the foreing affair relationship ministry and closer to the nariño´s palace.

Thanks for visit us and we hope you come back soon

Lina Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed a brilliant couple of days at Opera Hotel ,good location and fabulous friendly helpful staff .The restaurant was a delight for breakfast, where there was an excellent choice with a lovely view .I hope to go back one day soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-Wal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel.

Your description is really accurate, please consider Hotel de la Opera like your home in Bogotá.

Best regards,

LINA CARO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a treat to stay at the De La Opera Hotel! Located perfectly in the historic district of La Candeleria, it features restored rooms of two Spanish Colonial townhouses embracing two courtyards. Our room had a small balcony. The eating area for an excellent breakfast is in one of the courtyards. We enjoyed a dinner there, as well as another dinner in the adjacent dining room. The quality of the food is outstanding. The hotel also has a spa and a lovely indoor small swimming pool. The business center offers free internet service. We appreciated the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel.
Because of its location, it is very easy to walk to museums, historic sites and restaurants. This hotel is a real find!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pedestrian street are a little quieter. Ask for the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear guest

We appreciate the time you take for share about our Hotel.

It is so good for us, to hear about clients like you, who enjoy the stay, we work every day for to be better.

Please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#54 of 268 in Bogota
141 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#82 of 268 in Bogota
340 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#16 of 268 in Bogota
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#102 of 268 in Bogota
249 reviews
Usaquén
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#17 of 268 in Bogota
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#15 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: $110 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing