We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel in brilliant location”
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #34 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our "acclimitisation" stop over so that we could get used to the altitude of the high Andes. The Hotel was superbly situated and the building was lovely - but the hotel staff did not seem to have their heart in serving their guests -
I was not sure whether it was comforting or frightening to see armed security guards on the corners of many of the roads - but Bogota was fascinating and is certainly work while visiting - and i was sorry not to be travelling around Colombia more.It was disappointing that the Theatro Colon was not open during our stay as the proximity was tempting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anned0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were upgraded to this hotel when Casa Deco had a problem with rooms. The hotel has an excellent location in La Candelaria, right beside the Theatro Colon and within two blocks of most of the main sights. There are security guards/police stationed at both ends of the street. We visited the last weekend in October which was unusually busy due to a festival and this made it more pleasant to wander around into the evening.

The hotel is similar to an older style European hotel, comfortable and well maintained.

Our room, 201, was a older style room with high ceilings. There was a table, desk, chair, twin beds, night stands, flat screen TV, and closet with safe. The bathroom (shower) was small but had everything required including bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer and amenities. Wifi was on/off/on in the room, a cable in the room would not be helpful as we travel with an iPad.

Our room was an inner room, but there was still noise from other guests and also from the plumbing noises.

There are a number of common areas to relax and read in and the sitting room has some interesting books on Colombia.

Breakfast included fruit, juices, cereal, yoghurt, eggs, an assortment of four hot dishes one of which was rice, toast and pastries. The pastries and hot dishes were rather dry . At first we thought it was because it was the weekend but they were the same during the weekday.

We had two lunches, one in La Scala and the other in La Mirador. The food was okay but the service was rather remote. The staff were less welcoming and friendly than any of the other hotels we have been in this trip.

Would recommend for location and the European feel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is an absolutley gorgeous hotel in the middle of the La Candelaria. This hotel itself is beautifully maintained and exceptionally clean. It has a lot of similarities with a European style hotel. It's within walking distance of all the major sights of La Candelaria (Museo de Oro, Botero Museum, etc) and has some decent options for dining. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 709 and had a beautiful view of the city. I would reccomend that room. The breakfast was excellent, we had all sorts of choices (eggs, cereal, juice, coffee).

There were only two negative things I would mention here:
1) The wi-fi did not work for us. After trying countless times to connect we decided to just use the cable. The internet worked but no wi-fi.
2) While this is situated in a fantastic location and the hotel itself is very safe, the surroundings at night are not very good for tourists. I was with locals and even they did not want to walk around some of the streets at night. Be forewarned, cab it.

I would highly reccomend this place for couples looking for a romatic getaway, folks that want to be close to downtown, and people that are not looking to walk around the streets after dark.

Room Tip: Room 709 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Mr. Michael

Thank you for share your experience with us, our mission is that you enjoy your stay.

I apologize, we had troubles with WIFI connection for that reason we decided to have the cable in the rooms like a second option when connection does not work.

For to be in the historical and gubernamental area of Bogotá, each day thousands of people walk the streets and at night university students, but we haven´t many residents so streets are so quiet at night, but is guarded 24 hours because is in front of the foreing affair relationship ministry and closer to the nariño´s palace.

Thanks for visit us and we hope you come back soon

Lina Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed a brilliant couple of days at Opera Hotel ,good location and fabulous friendly helpful staff .The restaurant was a delight for breakfast, where there was an excellent choice with a lovely view .I hope to go back one day soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-Wal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel.

Your description is really accurate, please consider Hotel de la Opera like your home in Bogotá.

Best regards,

LINA CARO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a treat to stay at the De La Opera Hotel! Located perfectly in the historic district of La Candeleria, it features restored rooms of two Spanish Colonial townhouses embracing two courtyards. Our room had a small balcony. The eating area for an excellent breakfast is in one of the courtyards. We enjoyed a dinner there, as well as another dinner in the adjacent dining room. The quality of the food is outstanding. The hotel also has a spa and a lovely indoor small swimming pool. The business center offers free internet service. We appreciated the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel.
Because of its location, it is very easy to walk to museums, historic sites and restaurants. This hotel is a real find!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pedestrian street are a little quieter. Ask for the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear guest

We appreciate the time you take for share about our Hotel.

It is so good for us, to hear about clients like you, who enjoy the stay, we work every day for to be better.

Please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a lovely well-managed hotel located on a pedestrian street with security on both corners. Only vehicles with business on this street can enter as the hotel is surrounded by municipal buildings.

If you look at a map of Bogota, the hotel is located behind the main square and the cathedral. It is next door to the Opera House. It is walking distance from the main square, the Botero Museum, the Gold Museum,etc.

I was in room 712 in the new part of the building for four nights. It is a modern room, with light colored furniture with clean lines. It had twin beds pushed together and made up as one. The room was fine for one person, may be a bit cozy for two. The bathroom was especially nice, with a large shower and a skylight for natural light. The room had excellent wi-fi. Views from the window were of the red tiled colonial rooftops and the cathedral dome. There was minimal street noise.

By the schematic on the back of the door it looks like rooms 708, 711 and 712 are the smaller rooms on the floor. Rooms 705, 714 and 715 look like the largest. I visited room 712, a friends room. It had two double beds, more storage area and mountain views from both the bedroom and the bathroom. The bathroom also had a tub.

It looks like this floor was designed as a club floor as there is a comfortable lounge an bar area (unattended).

The elevator goes direct from the ground floor to the 7th floor and I never discovered what is on floors 2-6.

I enjoyed the buffet breakfasts with its egg chef.

The hotel pool is great for water exercise (it would be hard to do laps) and spa services. Everything was well attended and professional.

Reception staff at the De La Opera Hotel were especially helpful and friendly.

It would be a pleasure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Though the colonial rooms would be more atmospheric, they might be subject to street noise. I thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Customer

All remarks are true, we have special location in Bogota, and work hard to have guests like you who recommend us and want to return.

Please Consider us your home in Bogotá.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Staying here in an experience in itself. Two old town houses that are beautifully restored comprise the hotel. Two first class restaurants, one with excellent views. All rooms are different, some are VERY NICE. The prices are not high thinking of what you get in return. (The only negative thing I can think of is some noise from the street).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience with us, our mission is that you enjoy your stay.

We are working on general maintenance and the priority is to eliminate external noise in the rooms.

We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#55 of 269 in Bogota
137 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#80 of 269 in Bogota
336 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#17 of 269 in Bogota
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#104 of 269 in Bogota
243 reviews
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#77 of 269 in Bogota
171 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#75 of 269 in Bogota
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: $123 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing