We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay”
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #36 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Must Stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a treat to stay at the De La Opera Hotel! Located perfectly in the historic district of La Candeleria, it features restored rooms of two Spanish Colonial townhouses embracing two courtyards. Our room had a small balcony. The eating area for an excellent breakfast is in one of the courtyards. We enjoyed a dinner there, as well as another dinner in the adjacent dining room. The quality of the food is outstanding. The hotel also has a spa and a lovely indoor small swimming pool. The business center offers free internet service. We appreciated the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel.
Because of its location, it is very easy to walk to museums, historic sites and restaurants. This hotel is a real find!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pedestrian street are a little quieter. Ask for the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest

We appreciate the time you take for share about our Hotel.

It is so good for us, to hear about clients like you, who enjoy the stay, we work every day for to be better.

Please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    192
    65
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
247
62
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
877 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a lovely well-managed hotel located on a pedestrian street with security on both corners. Only vehicles with business on this street can enter as the hotel is surrounded by municipal buildings.

If you look at a map of Bogota, the hotel is located behind the main square and the cathedral. It is next door to the Opera House. It is walking distance from the main square, the Botero Museum, the Gold Museum,etc.

I was in room 712 in the new part of the building for four nights. It is a modern room, with light colored furniture with clean lines. It had twin beds pushed together and made up as one. The room was fine for one person, may be a bit cozy for two. The bathroom was especially nice, with a large shower and a skylight for natural light. The room had excellent wi-fi. Views from the window were of the red tiled colonial rooftops and the cathedral dome. There was minimal street noise.

By the schematic on the back of the door it looks like rooms 708, 711 and 712 are the smaller rooms on the floor. Rooms 705, 714 and 715 look like the largest. I visited room 712, a friends room. It had two double beds, more storage area and mountain views from both the bedroom and the bathroom. The bathroom also had a tub.

It looks like this floor was designed as a club floor as there is a comfortable lounge an bar area (unattended).

The elevator goes direct from the ground floor to the 7th floor and I never discovered what is on floors 2-6.

I enjoyed the buffet breakfasts with its egg chef.

The hotel pool is great for water exercise (it would be hard to do laps) and spa services. Everything was well attended and professional.

Reception staff at the De La Opera Hotel were especially helpful and friendly.

It would be a pleasure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Though the colonial rooms would be more atmospheric, they might be subject to street noise. I thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Customer

All remarks are true, we have special location in Bogota, and work hard to have guests like you who recommend us and want to return.

Please Consider us your home in Bogotá.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Staying here in an experience in itself. Two old town houses that are beautifully restored comprise the hotel. Two first class restaurants, one with excellent views. All rooms are different, some are VERY NICE. The prices are not high thinking of what you get in return. (The only negative thing I can think of is some noise from the street).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience with us, our mission is that you enjoy your stay.

We are working on general maintenance and the priority is to eliminate external noise in the rooms.

We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was so impressed by the overall decor of the hotel - and the food in the restaurant was definitely the best I've had in a hotel in a long time. The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect for me - I was able to walk and see all the sights on my "list". The last day of my visit I had an incident that needed a report to the police, and the hotel staff, and the English speaking manager, were over the top in helping me. I would definitley return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlsie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Customer

Thanks for share your experience with us.

Our priority is our guest, we whish you return soon.

Please Consider us your home in Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was a perfect place to explore the colonial center of Bogota. We stayed in one of the Deco rooms on the 7th floor. It was modern, spacious, although the bathroom could have been a bit larger. The lobby and restaurant are charming and colonial. The spa was just ok, the jacuzzi water was the same temp as the pool. The service was good and the little cabinet of artisan jewelry held some of the most original and best priced souvenirs we found!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Mrs. Emily

We appreciate you share you good experience in our Hotel.

Your opinion is very important, because it helps us to be better. we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in Hotel De La Opera in May 2012. The hotel is so well located in the heart of old city (although a pain to commute from airport especially in peak hours). The street in which the hotel entrance is located has a window from where Simon Bolivar jumped to escape the Spanish. The ambience is charming and has cobbled streets and old chrches.
The National Assembly and President house is not far - one can go walking.
The Breakfast area of hotel is congested and has insufficient seating. the restaurant food is very good - "Ajiaco" is a must eat - with juicy corn, chiken , cream,avocadoes, rice and capers.
Rooms are clean but basic, they have wooden floors.
Getting taxi is a bit clumsy and can take time , so best to ask in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on street or towards the mountain with church , it looks very pretty at night. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We apreciate you share your experience in our Hotel.

Normally when external area of the restaurant is full we have available the internal area, we will be more attent for inform our guest about it.

We are aware of the delay in the taxi service in prime time, when this happens is an excellent idea that you propose to ask in advance or can use the private service usually available.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Lina Caro
Customer service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Well situated in the historic Candelaria section of Bogota, this little gem of a boutique hotel is like an urban hacienda. Besides the superb location, the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a traditional section of the hotel and a newer, "art deco" wing. The service is great at this hotel and the restaurant is truly excellent. I will not stay anywhere else in Bogota!

Room Tip: The art deco wing of the hotel has superior views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jerrboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest

¡Thank you! we are glad to listen about your experience in our hotel.

Please consider us your house in Bogotá.

Best regards,

Lina Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#55 of 265 in Bogota
128 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#14 of 265 in Bogota
744 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#74 of 265 in Bogota
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#94 of 265 in Bogota
236 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#125 of 265 in Bogota
208 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#81 of 265 in Bogota
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Property: Hotel de la Opera
Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing