We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming colonial hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #34 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was a perfect place to explore the colonial center of Bogota. We stayed in one of the Deco rooms on the 7th floor. It was modern, spacious, although the bathroom could have been a bit larger. The lobby and restaurant are charming and colonial. The spa was just ok, the jacuzzi water was the same temp as the pool. The service was good and the little cabinet of artisan jewelry held some of the most original and best priced souvenirs we found!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Mrs. Emily

We appreciate you share you good experience in our Hotel.

Your opinion is very important, because it helps us to be better. we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 557 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in Hotel De La Opera in May 2012. The hotel is so well located in the heart of old city (although a pain to commute from airport especially in peak hours). The street in which the hotel entrance is located has a window from where Simon Bolivar jumped to escape the Spanish. The ambience is charming and has cobbled streets and old chrches.
The National Assembly and President house is not far - one can go walking.
The Breakfast area of hotel is congested and has insufficient seating. the restaurant food is very good - "Ajiaco" is a must eat - with juicy corn, chiken , cream,avocadoes, rice and capers.
Rooms are clean but basic, they have wooden floors.
Getting taxi is a bit clumsy and can take time , so best to ask in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on street or towards the mountain with church , it looks very pretty at night. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We apreciate you share your experience in our Hotel.

Normally when external area of the restaurant is full we have available the internal area, we will be more attent for inform our guest about it.

We are aware of the delay in the taxi service in prime time, when this happens is an excellent idea that you propose to ask in advance or can use the private service usually available.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Lina Caro
Customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Well situated in the historic Candelaria section of Bogota, this little gem of a boutique hotel is like an urban hacienda. Besides the superb location, the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a traditional section of the hotel and a newer, "art deco" wing. The service is great at this hotel and the restaurant is truly excellent. I will not stay anywhere else in Bogota!

Room Tip: The art deco wing of the hotel has superior views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jerrboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear guest

¡Thank you! we are glad to listen about your experience in our hotel.

Please consider us your house in Bogotá.

Best regards,

Lina Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

March 2009, we spent four days is the lovely hotel in Bogota's historic district. We breakfasted each morning in the pretty indoor courtyard on fresh fruits and juices, then stepped out front onto the cobblestone street. The room decor was ultra contemporary in our first room. We returned a few days later and stayed in a more historic room overlooking the front door.

Later in our stay we discovered a modern swimming pool in the basement. Not sure how they got it there. Very nice. Well equipped locker rooms.

Cab drivers warned us not too walk around the neighborhood at night. It was fine during the day. Lots of students from the university. Not far from the Botero museum.

Room Tip: Ultra modern rooms on the upper floors, historic in some other spots. Both nice.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank inDC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing you experience at our Hotel.

Cause we are in the historical and gubernamental area of Bogotá, each day thousands of people walk the streets and at night university students, but we haven´t many residents so streets are so quiet at night, but is guarded 24 hours because is in front of the foreing affair relationship ministry and closer to the nariño´s palace, it is so safe.

Thanks for visited us and we hope you will come back soon

Best regards,

LINA CARO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We only stayed one night but it was lovely. Our judgement may have been slightly coloured by the fact that for the week leading up to our night at the Opera, we has been staying in places that did have hot running water. That said, the Opera is a class act - beautiful historic architecture, good service, fantastic location and good food at breakfast. The only thing is don't get too excited by the idea of the swimming pool - it's nice, but not that big.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaptainPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Captain

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

The pool is part of the Spa, specifically for relaxation, we have an agreement with a sports center where guests have access to swimming pools more suitable for sports when requested.

We hope you visit us again.

Greetings and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Everything about our stay at Hotel de la Opera was excellent. We arrived late at night, and a friendly hotel driver was waiting for us. When we arrived, we were ushered to our lovely room which had a balcony overlooking the street. It was a very nice touch that we appreciated even more the next morning when we could take in the view. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of fresh Colombian fruits and juices; the omelette station was great, too. There was working wifi throughout the hotel, which is uncommon in other Colombian hotels. The only negative was our transport back to the airport on the day of departure. We expected to be in the same comfortable town car in which we were picked up. Instead, we were transported in a small, cramped taxi that would have cost half the price had we hired it ourselves. Overall, though, we very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony -- great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tin_man_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear guest

We appreciate you share your experience in our hotel, it helps us to be better.

We hope you come back soon.

Best regards,

Lina Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was my first visit to Bogota and the hotel was perfect - location, room and amenities (like complimentary WiFi), helpful and courteous staff and the Colonial architecture. The complimentary breakfast - beautiful fruit, pastries, hot omelet and cafe con leche - was a bonus. The Police presence in the hotel's Candelaria district was reassuring.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveN999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear guest

Thanks for share you experience in our Hotel.

Our mission is you enjoy your stay and feel in the most secure place, in the historical and of goverment area in Bogotá .

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Lina Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#55 of 269 in Bogota
137 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#80 of 269 in Bogota
336 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#17 of 269 in Bogota
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#104 of 269 in Bogota
243 reviews
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#77 of 269 in Bogota
171 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#75 of 269 in Bogota
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: $123 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing