We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and warm hostel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tip Top Backpackers
Ranked #167 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tip-Top Backpackers is a colorful, family-run hostel near one of the main plazas of La Candelaria. The hostel is bright with fresh flowers and an open courtyard and has a fun, laid-back feel. The owners are very friendly and are always around to help you orient yourself in Bogota, getting to know them was a real treat -- Maria even made borscht for the guests while I was there! I didn't take any of the offered tours, but participated in some of the activities organized around the city, including a tour of Plaza Bolivar and the different palaces, which helped me meet some of the other guests. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a different vibe in La Candelaria, I had a great time and felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julitarrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

this is our fourth time staying at tip-top -- it has always been a great experience! the last three times we stayed at tip-top hostel, a few blocks away, and a great, calm location. this time we tried tip-top backpackers and we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful colonial house the owners have managed to convert into a safe and vibrant international community. we made a lot of new traveling friends at the activities organized by the hostel. the location is perfect, at the top of la candelaria, far from the bustle and noise of the lower streets but still close to public transport, restaurants, and bars. our favorite part was talking to the owners, maría and felipe, and getting their advice and help planning travel around colombia. we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajghonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just to clarify some confusion about the two different hostels “Tip Top Backpackers” and “Tip Top Hostel”: These are two separate hostels which belong to the same owner and they are only a few blocks away. I was booked into the “Tip Top Backpackers” but ended up in the “Tip Top Hostel”.
Both hostels are OK. For me the Backpacker is the nicer one; the rooms are organised around the courtyard with a big table; it feels quite spacious and the interior paint is very colourful.
The ‘Tip Top Hostel’ has a very family feel as the owners are cocking, eating and sometimes entertaining their guests in the hostel. The entrance is right into the kitchen (which is not the most ideal scenario). There are two rooms in the basement and the other rooms (many are private rooms) are located at the upper floors.
You can use the fridge and probably the kitchen stuff. There is a 24 hour reception; so you will have to ring whenever you want to enter (which I liked). The shower has warm water.
Both hostels were immaculate. The owner Maria speaks English quite well which is very helpful.
Note that all dormitories are mixed and not single sex as some booking websites suggest. But they try hard to accommodate all needs.
I would stay there again but would prefer the Backpacker before the Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_Max_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Danilo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastyan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: si vienes a Bogota te recomiendo venir si o si a este hostel! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mayrields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Swiss Hostal Martinik
Swiss Hostal Martinik
#19 of 299 in Bogota
231 reviews
La Candelaria
Bogota Dream Hostel
Bogota Dream Hostel
#34 of 299 in Bogota
90 reviews
La Candelaria
Iku Hostel Backpackers Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#5 of 299 in Bogota
210 reviews
La Candelaria
Kozii hostel D.C
Kozii hostel D.C
#6 of 299 in Bogota
127 reviews
12:12 Hostels
#10 of 299 in Bogota
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tip Top Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tip Top Backpackers

Address: Carrera 112b 81, Bogota 111031, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: $13 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tip Top Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tip Top Backpackers is a small, cozy and lovely renovated colonial house hostel. It is located in the beautiful historic district of La Candelaria and within walking distance of the major cultural attractions, restaurants, bars, banks, ATMs and moneychangers. It is only a short 5 minutes walk from the famous Monserrate mountain and palace. In the area there are a variety of interesting walking and bike tours, including the popular Bogota Graffiti tour. In addition, our hostel offers information about weekly events such as Spanglish exchange Tuesday, free latin dance classes on Wednesdays and Karaoke Thursdays. This hostel has the perfect location to explore the vibrant city of Bogota. Other information about our backpackers hostel includes our 4-9 person dormitories, safety lockers to keep your valuables, a variety of beverages for sale, and friendly staff to help. We also offer 2 special out of the city tours, 1) to the Salt Lake Cathedral and 2) to Guaraita Lake, both including a typical Colombian style lunch and tour guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Tip Top Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing