We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Vegetarian options.”
Review of Britannia Pub - CLOSED

Britannia Pub
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Colombian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Britannia is Bogota's authentic British pub. We have our own micro-brewery and many have said that our Beer is the best in Colombia. Our menu includes some classic British dishes as well as stir-fries, burgers, salads and plenty to pick at. From 4-7pm Monday to Thursday we have 2 x 1 coctails. English spoken.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food! Vegetarian options.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I really liked the food here, great choice including Vegetarian food and the service is excellent as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afowen, Owner at Britannia Pub, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks Jenigiri for your comment.

In fact, due to my previous chef leaving without warning, we are running a reduced menu at the moment. I'm glad that you enjoyed the food even though there is not a great selection at the moment. The plan is to have a more ample range available within two weeks.

Cheers,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprise right outside my hotel door”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I found Britannia purely by accident when walking by and Alex touted his beer. My co-workers and I found the food very good and the atmosphere excellent. On my trip through out of the country, it was a must stop and I was not disappointed. The food is a great change of pace and very well made. The staff is attentive and friendly, not something always found in Colombia, especially to foreigners. Alex recognized me from my earlier trip through 2 months earlier and made certain to sit and chat for a few minutes. They serve the best Mojito I have ever had and the selection of music is right in my comfort zone. Keep doing what you do Alex, well done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A piece of home far from home!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What's to say about the Britannia that not already been said, the foods good, simple, well prepared food which is well priced and fresh made. The Geordie skewers are Amszing but not on the official menu YET.
The beer is a hangover waiting to happen you can just have one of the IPA,s! And as for the Belgian BE CAREFUL, it tends to have a very strange effect on your legs very quickly!! More than 5 and you,ll know about it.
The staff is very helpful and it's a great place to hang out and talk to Europeans or English speaking people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnhowe-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A taste of Britain in Bogota”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Britannia Pub is a great bit of England in a great part of Bogota. If you're staying at the Sheraton, Marriott or Holiday Inn near the airport, this place is short walk away (and in a new and safe part of Bogota to be out at night). Great fish and chips but the best part are the fabulous homemade beers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank djJazzyKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, NM
2 reviews
“My favorite place in South America”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Let's be clear, this is a Pub, not a "Bar and Grill". You won't find a massively thick menu that looks like it came from The Cheesecake Factory, waitresses wearing their mandated 15 pieces of flair, or a dessert tray. But what you will find is a huge surprise in the middle of Bogota.

An amazingly warm atmosphere, I've met so many people from all over the world while hanging out in this bar while in Bogota for business. Not to say you won't also find locals as they're happy to hang out here too.

When in town for a 7 day stay I often eat here 4-5 days with my personal favorites being the Fish and Chips - best I've had outside of the UK - and the Stir Fry (they call it a Wok) with egg. Bartenders are universally good with English and waitresses passable and will grab someone if they need help understanding you. Lunch special, different each day, is also good on the rare weekday when I don't have to go into the office.

In-house produced beers are excellent and I've turned many of my co-workers onto their beers. Try the American Brown and the Belgian for sure as both are excellent.

A British co-worker working on a project here in Bogota said he was glad he wasn't staying next door at the Marriott or Sheraton because he'd be there every night. Perhaps that says it best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tminus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Pub also viewed

 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing