We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“viva bogota”
Review of Candelos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candelos Hostel
Ranked #61 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“viva bogota”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was there for 2weaks nice people very friendly rooms comfutable free breakfast bongo and yoga lessons nice partys on the roof of the nice classic building when a was there i get problem with my card and i stay with out money for two days the owners help me i appriseade that thanks for the good moments

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
14
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hostel has a friendly, laid-back atmosphere and the staff are very helpful. Herman in particular made us feel very welcome, even helping us to the bus stop and ensuring we got safely on our way when it was time to leave.

Location-wise it's perfect for exploring La Candelaria. Lots to see and do in the immediate vicinity and it felt safe.

Breakfast was provided (2 eggs, 2 rolls and coffee) which was a nice surprise. There are three communal areas: dining space, lounge with TV + book-share library and a roof terrace. The kitchen is well-equipped and kept clean.

We stayed in a double with private bathroom (no 3). The room was a decent size and had space to hang items and shelves to place things. Towels were provided. The bed was comfortable, pillows a little thin perhaps. Once we asked for another blanket we were warm and very cosy. The shower was powerful and warm. The room unfortunately did feel a little damp and particularly so after a shower. Our towels never dried properly whilst in there.

At night it could be a little noisy until midnight. There is a healthy party atmosphere and the layout means that sound does tend to carry into the rooms. The traffic outside starts fairly early and people use their horns a lot in Bogota. And our room being right next to the communal kitchen, we could hear early-morning goings-on. For many hostel goers this simply wouldn't be an issue, it's probably just a sign of our age.

In summary there were aspects we really enjoyed about this place and I'd love to award more stars. It was good value and we appreciated the staff and other residents. But in the end the noise and damp let it down a bit for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twohermitcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed there a couple of days last year and it was very nice. they have an excellent shower and the place to chillout is very nice. it has a bar on the roof and there are always people to have a little chat. least but not last the owner tanya is a very nice person and puts a lot of energy in the hostel.
so I can recommend it!

un abrazo
gregor

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The rooms here are damp and mouldy and all open onto the communal area/kitchen/reception which can be noisy. This is also where the cat lives.

The rooftop bar is open to non-residents Thursday-Sunday which can be noisy too.

Lots of other accommodation options within a couple of minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hostel has a good atmosphere and a free breakfast in the morning. You need to get a bit imaginative as it is 2 eggs and 2 rolls each day, plus coffee. The staff were very friendly and happy enough to let us in at 5am after a night out. The 4 bed dorm we stayed in had good quality beds and bedding. A thin duvet is provided to help with the cold nights. Showers are hot, as long as you are not the last to shower.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I make a point to stay here any time I'm visiting Bogota. This hostel is friendly, cozy, and relaxed... with staff who are always ready to help you out with any inquiries you might have. One of the best and most unique features is their rooftop terrace (and bar!). From up there, you can enjoy the view of Monserrate while having a beer and relaxing with new friends.

You're right in the middle of La Candelaria, so anything you might want to do is within walking distance. The area is packed with restaurants, parks, shopping, and even grocery stores if you prefer to buy some food to bring back to cook in the hostel's communal kitchen.

Thanks Candelos, and I'll be back again soon to visit.

And if you're looking for someone to climb Mt. Monserrate with, ask Tanya because she's always ready to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for roughly 2 to 3 months. I had never felt so at home so far from home!!
The staff were all really friendly and were as helpful as they could be at every occasion. The hostel itself has a fantastic look and feel about it. It has a good kitchen and nice communal areas. The hostel is also the only hostel in Bogota with a big roof top terrace that has a bar and sometimes holds events and parties. They have an amazing fire pit in funky wheel-barrow and has an amazing view of Monserrate and the surrounding mountains. It also gives you a great view of the surrounding city and the beautiful sunset towards the west while using some of the weights they have available for you to work out, if you want!!!. The facilities are usually always clean and they offer information of the surrounding areas and events where you will sometimes even be invited to party with the staff when they go out!!

Overall...this hostel deserves to be in the top 5 for a reason!!

Thanks Candelos for an amazing stay in Bogota!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#84 of 267 in Bogota
155 reviews
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
Ulucaho Hostel
#12 of 303 in Bogota
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sayta Hostal 2
#37 of 267 in Bogota
30 reviews
La Candelaria
Hostal Aventureros de la Candelaria
La Candelaria
Zohar Hostel
Zohar Hostel
#48 of 267 in Bogota
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelos Hostel

Property: Candelos Hostel
Address: Carrera 123c - 94 | La Candelaria, Bogota 110911, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candelos Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candelos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing