We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hostel in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candelos Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candelos Hostel
Ranked #89 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A good hostel in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hostel has a good atmosphere and a free breakfast in the morning. You need to get a bit imaginative as it is 2 eggs and 2 rolls each day, plus coffee. The staff were very friendly and happy enough to let us in at 5am after a night out. The 4 bed dorm we stayed in had good quality beds and bedding. A thin duvet is provided to help with the cold nights. Showers are hot, as long as you are not the last to shower.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I make a point to stay here any time I'm visiting Bogota. This hostel is friendly, cozy, and relaxed... with staff who are always ready to help you out with any inquiries you might have. One of the best and most unique features is their rooftop terrace (and bar!). From up there, you can enjoy the view of Monserrate while having a beer and relaxing with new friends.

You're right in the middle of La Candelaria, so anything you might want to do is within walking distance. The area is packed with restaurants, parks, shopping, and even grocery stores if you prefer to buy some food to bring back to cook in the hostel's communal kitchen.

Thanks Candelos, and I'll be back again soon to visit.

And if you're looking for someone to climb Mt. Monserrate with, ask Tanya because she's always ready to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for roughly 2 to 3 months. I had never felt so at home so far from home!!
The staff were all really friendly and were as helpful as they could be at every occasion. The hostel itself has a fantastic look and feel about it. It has a good kitchen and nice communal areas. The hostel is also the only hostel in Bogota with a big roof top terrace that has a bar and sometimes holds events and parties. They have an amazing fire pit in funky wheel-barrow and has an amazing view of Monserrate and the surrounding mountains. It also gives you a great view of the surrounding city and the beautiful sunset towards the west while using some of the weights they have available for you to work out, if you want!!!. The facilities are usually always clean and they offer information of the surrounding areas and events where you will sometimes even be invited to party with the staff when they go out!!

Overall...this hostel deserves to be in the top 5 for a reason!!

Thanks Candelos for an amazing stay in Bogota!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best thing about this hostel is the wonderful people that work there, as a girl travelling alone after all my friends had left me it was everything i could ask for. The rooftop is amazing for parties with a fire in a wheel barrow and great music and because it is locked away upstairs you're not affected when you go to bed. Really clean with a kitchen you can use, hot, powerful showers (something i'd read on other hostel reviews is hard to find in the city) great location in the best part of Bogota. Funky shops, bars, cafes, great places to eat, supermarkets and most importantly I felt safe. The room was a bit small but due to the famiy atmosphere at the hostel I didn't mind one bit. Great big TV room to chill in too. By the end of my stay there I did not want to go home!! I'm so glad I was lucky enough to find this hostel. Thank you guys xxxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Django F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is everything a hostel should be. The staff are fantastic - they always have a smile and anything you need to know - they know. Very helpful in directing us to best sights and places to be. We were here over Independance Day and the hostel have a rooftop terrace with a lovely fire in the wheelbarrow (it´s cold in Bogota!) which also operates as a bar most nights. The crowd was great on Independance Night, with plenty of locals there so it wasn't just all gringos - we got a chance to practice our Spanish, dance and meet some really lovely people - I don´t think this would happen in most other hostels. There is an open mic night on the Terrace on Sundays which is the only one in Candelaria and is going on as I type (leaving shortly for bus) and sounds great!

The location is great too - everything you need is a stone throw away and, of course, it´s in Candelaria which is the main backpacker spot in Bogota and it´s for good reason! On top of all of that the price is really good and includes a help yourself breakfast of bread and eggs! Absolute bargain. Oh and the hostel is kept fantastically clean and has powerful hot showers.

We´ve spent 4 nights here and could easily spend more time as we just love the people and the place.

Room Tip: We had a great double room (shared bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire_sa_turas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff here are incredibly friendly and so much fun, the place just has an incredible vibe. In terms of amenities it has everything you need, all of a good standard and there´s plenty of communal space. The beds are proper beds which was a nice change! I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of my time in Colombia and absolutely loved it! The location was great, right in the heart of Candilaria - within walking distance of many attractions and shops - and the hostel was lovely. We were made to feel so welcome by all the staff upon arrival. Their priority is to look after you and to make sure you enjoy not only your stay at the hostel, but also your time in Bogota. On the first night they invited a local band to play on the rooftop bar/patio before we all went out together to a club in the nearby area. It was a great way to meet other travellers as well as experiencing Bogota with the help of people in the know.
The next day we all went out with the owner once again, to a BMX competition one of her friends was judging downtown. Again, we were made to feel so welcome by her, as if we were old friends she wanted to show around the city, and in the evening we all retired to watch films in the spacious common room around a big fire.
The rooms were very clean and the hostel was cleaned from top to bottom daily. There is a large kitchen should you wish to cook for yourself; and eggs, bread and coffee were complimentary each morning.
I really enjoyed my time here and would urge anyone else to come and make friends in the most hospitable hostel in Bogota!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth_Lavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#68 of 262 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
La Candelaria
SC House
SC House
#53 of 211 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#12 of 211 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arche Noah Guesthouse
#4 of 211 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Ulucaho Hostel
#13 of 289 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
La Candelaria
Yepeto Hostal
Yepeto Hostal
#20 of 211 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelos Hostel

Property: Candelos Hostel
Address: Carrera 123c - 94 | La Candelaria, Bogota 110911, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candelos Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Candelos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing