We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location great price!”
Review of Ambar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambar Hotel
Ranked #176 of 296 Bogota B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location great price!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This place turned out to be way better than expected. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the location was within walking distance of so many great things. 24 hour front door staff watching over the place was a bonus for sure. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean and cozy hotel for a very low cost!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattyballz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    53
    19
    35
See reviews for
42
53
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

They had a computer glitch that double booked the hotel. They found us a new place for the one night and for the price difference the taxis. Very friendly staff that speak English. Good location. Don't take a room on the street, but that is the same in any large city. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCsaralou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in June, 2013. Here are the things I think you should know about this hotel:
- It is spotless!
- It is affordable. At $40 USD/night (with a discount for paying in cash) this was easily the cheapest hotel we stayed in while on our trip to Colombia.
- It is comfortable. Hot water (Bogota was quite chilly in June), comfortable beds, nice warm and cozy decor/lighting (something we found incredible rare during our trip...all the other hotels had harsh headache-inducing lighting). A flat screen tv for those that are so inclined.
- The storage situation is fine unless you plan on being on an extended business trip or something. Our room had a desk with a drawer, and foot stool, and two bedside tables with drawers. We found this to be just fine for our short stay. I had one nice dress which I hung over the bathroom door. Not really the issue people are making it out to be.
- The staff was pleasant, especially Graciela (who might be the owner?) BUT, no one speaks English. This was fine for us as I speak decent Spanish but if you're not fluent enough to have the necessary check-in/check-out conversations, this isn't the place for you.
- Yes, the outside rooms are noisy. Personally, I didn't expect anything different given that Bogota is a big city and naturally has city sounds just like New York or Miami etc. If you are easily bothered by music, talking, horns, etc. then you should probably consider staying outside of a major city. It didn't bother us at all.
- The location is good. It is within a fairly short walk to plaza de bolivar and the candelaria district and a short cab ride to zona rosa. The neighborhood is a little sketchy. I was not about to go walking down the street alone after sundown but we had the hotel call us cabs when we wanted to go out at night and we were fine.
- We felt perfectly safe in the hotel. They have a locked gate in front of their doors and there is always staff on at all hours to let you in/out.
- Free breakfast was enough to get up and going. Fresh pressed juice and toast with jam and butter. Coffee.

That's about it. We did have an issue when we first arrived - the water in our room was not working - the staff apologized and helped us try to fix it, when it didn't work they apologized profusely and said they would have it taken care of within the hour and promptly called the maintenance man to the room. We went out for food and by the time we came back everything was fine. They also did not have our reservation (which we had made through a third party) but it wasn't an issue. We found this to be a VERY common problem throughout the country. I suggest calling ahead and confirming with an actual, live person rather than trusting the internet to get it right.

All in all we enjoyed this hotel very much and would absolutely recommend/stay again.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise ask for an inner/south side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyImpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went back to the Hotel in March, 2013. While there, my credit cards and bank accounts were frozen. I did not know why and had to call the bank. I was not able to reach the number from the Hotel. I spoke to the Hotel staff and they told me to keep trying, that I was doing something wrong. Eventually I discovered that all international calls are blocked from the hotel. I had wasted several hours and I was mad, No one from the Hotel would help me. I had no cash, my credit cards useless. I went into the street and the Police, the Museum of Gold, a bank and a store owner helped me. The problem was quite simple and easily resolved. I went back to the Hotel and enjoyed the rest of my stay. I made a reservation July 24 and was told the Hotel was full, that they had sold all of their rooms to third parties. I made a reservation on a third party site on July 24. On July 28 I received an email telling me the Hotel would not acceot my reservation. I had this emil from the Hotel: Buenos días sra. Beverley:

Comedidamente nos permitimos informarle que el Hotel hará uso del derecho de admisión, por lo anterior le comunicamos que no será aceptada su reserva por parte Despegar, ya se le comunico al operador las razones por las cuales no aceptamos su reserva. Nuestra decisión se basa en su inconformidad durante su última visita a nuestro hotel, no deseamos tener inconvenientes con usted ni que usted se tenga que quejar de nuestro servicio.

DON"T STAY HERE if you are international. If you need to call home you cannot call from the Hotel and they are clearly immature. Yes, I had a dispute and a disappointment, as I've had in other places from time to time, but I thought it was resolved. I did nothing to thie Hotel other than pay and write a good review. I even helped a guest of their when I was there.

Very disappointing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcadMonteria_Cordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bogota hotels

usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

i stood at this hotel and no lie i will stay here from now on the best location and best prices the staff super nice and Bellas but over all A+ in my book verry safe and sound i recomended The best is its location. It is just one block from the carrera 7 tourist street and a 4 minute walk to the Museo de Oro. Wi Fi and breakfast are included at no additional cost. The staff is very friendly. The hotel and the rooms are spotless.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritchie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I discovered this hotel through the popular Latin American booking site of despegar.com
The hotel has good and bad things about it. The best is its location. It is just one block from the carrera 7 tourist street and a 4 minute walk to the Museo de Oro. Wi Fi and breakfast are included at no additional cost. The staff is very friendly. The hotel and the rooms are spotless. There are lots of small restaurants in the area. I really liked the "Novillo de Oro" parrilla about 50 yards from the hotel.
There are several big negatives. Rooms facing the street can be VERY noisy. I'd recommend staying in these rooms only if you have earplugs. Rooms facing the interior courtyard are much quieter. I was in room 206 and slept fine with earplugs.
The other major negative is that the rooms have NO storage. No closets. No hangers. No drawers for clothing. So you have to live out of the suitcase. Very inconvenient.
There is no elevator and, to the best of my knowledge, the staff does not speak English.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be very noisy. Bring earplugs for these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

this will be a difficult review. The hotel , obviously, is making every effort to be excellent and I believe will be so shortly. I spoke with the manager about the lack of hangers and they are constructing them but the rooms are spotless and the beds are very very comfortable. The hotel is immacutately clean and the staff wonderful. The negatives are rather impossible to avoid, a bit of noise from Carrera 8 in an outside room and noise from the dining room at 6 AM from loud guests. I recommend that the management tell the early risers to to tone it down. This , however, has been the best hotel I have found after 12 trips to Bogota in this price range and I thoroughly recommend it. Try and get an inside room and don't hesitate to tell the desk to ask early risers to tone it down. The shower is wonderful, like a waterfall, and the only problem is that the bed is so comfortable that you don't want to get up. The lack of hangars is being addressed, about 20 percent of the rooms have them but I spoke with the manager and it is top priority now. I definitely recommend this hotel and I know the hotels well in downtown Bogota. Breakfast is delicious. I arrived ill from something I ate en route and they made me good chicken soup brought to my room and I was better the next day, partially the soup but their gestures are genuine and you can feel their concern for your stay. Recommended!!!

Room Tip: the only minor hassle were the lack of hangers. This is currently being worked on by the owners. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tervesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Regina
#116 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
#134 of 265 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Dann Avenida 19 Hotel
#125 of 265 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Deco
#16 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Casa Guadalupe
Hotel Casa Guadalupe
#11 of 296 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Hotel Avenida Jimenez
#36 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambar Hotel

Property: Ambar Hotel
Address: Carrera 8 No. 17 - 86, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambar is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Bogota. With 48 rooms in a classic and modern environment at the same time, comfortable and above all with much style, in which every detail makes it a very attractive place. Definitely a great alternative to enjoy romantic days in couple or business or relaxation while enjoying the incredible cultural offerings by the center of the city. The attraction of the hotel is perceived by its classical structure of Spanish style. The concept that exposes is a charming hotel in which one feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing