We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Safe comfortable option in Bogota” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estelar Windsor House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Windsor House
Ranked #69 of 262 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Safe comfortable option in Bogota”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have completed several stays in the Estelar Windsor House. This is a conversion from a condominium building to a hotel. That is the reason for the unusual design with an internal atrium and cast iron staircases reminiscent of Victorian London. When being assigned your room seek one of the suites, but not one of the two story ones. Once you become used to the big window fronting your living room, the setup is actually quite practical. The location is in a very neighborhood in which you can walk around and feel comfortable. The staff gets to know you and is very friendly. take the time to smile and get to know them. There is a gym, but the equipment is old and some needs replacement. Overall, this is a pleasant option for a stay in Bogota.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeFreqTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    61
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
28
15
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

On my first trip to Bogota the company put me up close to the office in the safe surrounds of this northern nquarter of this sprawling city.

I lived three days in this narrow strip. The hotel was absolutelyt fine. Almost all you'd expect from a business hotel: comfort, safety, good wifi but not much in the way of natural beauty or exercise options.

The room - I had suite 512 - was huge. A vast lounge but with windows oddly facing inside to the hotel corridor. A blind preserves privacy, but is still strange. The wood-floored suite then opens onto the bedroom with a decent-sized bed and window overlooking neighbouring flats.

The bathroom has a large bathtub with jets as well as....the wardrobes - never seen those in a bathroom before.

I ate breakfast here. had it on the outside terrace (see pic) and it was varied and plentiful. The terrace is heated.

Overall a pleasant three night stay, but not over-excited about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
658 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Quick summary: safe location. This was a good stay, but the first room I was shown was not good - maybe the last of the unrenovated rooms? I was given another room that was much better. The point: ask for something else if you are not happy.

The hotel was chosen by local colleagues for quality, safety, and location to the corporate offices. The area and hotel feel safe, and there are neaby restaurants and shops worth visiting.

My first room (#511) must have been one of the last to be renovated and seemed to have no ventilation (A/C or heat, but can't be sure.) When I mentioned it, I was moved to a much nicer room (#520) in terms of feeling fresh, upgraded plumbing, feeling safe opening a window, etc. Both were the standard rooms, I think, i.e. not suites.

These rooms each had king beds with nice quality sheets and bath linens, and felt spacious. Good closet and drawer storage, good work desk. Everythig worked well, i.e. wifi, TV, etc. All the usual amenities of a good business class hotel: in-room safe, free wifi, nice toiletries.

Very good housekeeping. Freindly, professional staff throughout.

The restaurant was quite good. The breakfast buffet was a nice spread of pastries, fruits, juices, cereals, good omlette guy making fresh egg dishes, etc. There was some very good talent in the kitchen at dinner, with a range of items to please most tastes. Well-priced wine list. The lounges could serve a good drink.

The hotel is in a nice area, so we often walked to a nearby restaurant, but the hotel's restaurant does a good job when you've had a long day and don't feel up to exploring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent four nights at this hotel. The area is very nice and I felt very safe there. The room was spacious. It was quite nice but a little tired. The carpeting in the bedroom was a little old and tired. The bed was *very* hard, as another poster noted. Otherwise, the room was quite nice. Service was very good. The breakfast that came with the room was large - including a full range of breads, juices, really fantastic fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, cold-cuts, etc. The WiFi didn't work well in my room, leaving me to do a lot of internet activities in the lobby (where it worked well). Other than the wifi issue, I had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_Waldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip, and I was given a suite/apartment. On the first floor, I had a bathroom, living room, dinning table, and full size refrigerator, which were great. On the second, I had a nice, big room, closet, and a great bathroom. The only problem were the stairs, as they were spiral shape y very narrow. Fortunately I had a mid size luggage, so getting up and down stairs was not terrible, but a bit challening. This room is not made for people bringing big bags, with health issues, overweight, or with kids ... Hotel in general was well kept, clean, bright, but architectural bridges were different. It gave me the feeling of emergency metal stairs, that connected sections of the hotel. They were hard to roll bags over, and I could see people steeping careful as if they were going to fall down. They were wells secured, but gave that feeling ... Food was excelent, great location, staff super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The apartment concept was good and different, but make sure you do not have big bags, health issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooner_orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is located 35 minutes from the El Dorado Airport, and only 5 min to one of the best commercial areas in the city. The neighborhood is very high end, and the security in that area is truly remarkable. Many dining options just minutes away, and the cost of taxis is very cheap. One way trip from Hotel to Airport is around USD 12.

Rooms are quite big for the hotels size, there's parking free of charge, and the breakfast (included) is one of the best I tried for free. Service is exceptional!

The only con that I found is the low quality on the mattresses, they lack softness and is almost like sleeping on a chinese bed (asian travelers will understand).

Rates usually goes from the 100-150 USD per night all taxes included. I will consider this hotel again if I travel to Bogota.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I guess when everyone talks about Colombia the first thing that comes to your mind is safety. Well, his hotel is located in a very safe area of Bogota, very quiet and close to main 100 street business area and 93 park nightlife places. Spent three nights at this hotel and must say that classic traditional decoration and ambience makes the environment quite warm and familiar, rooms are spacious and also decorated with traditional/classic style where dark brown is predominant. Only one major downside of the rooms is that walls are so thin that you can perceive every single, even minimum, noises from next door's room. Also there is a sealed glass window right next to main room's entrance door only coverable by a curtain which makes you feel like observed and privacy invaded by people on the corridor.... something like being in a zoo feeling.... but you are the one on the other side of the glass! I felt like that, anyway.... for the rest, staff is very kind and well educated, like everyone in this fresh and pretty conservative city. Breakfast is disappointing, very poor options and when you ask for coffee, need to do it at least three times...... experience is only saved by the good taste of real Colombian coffee. Good for families I guess. However I will not come back there for the privacy issue and also noisy rooms experience caused by thin walls......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Chapinero
Hotel Estelar Parque De La 93
Ramada Bogota Parque 93
#67 of 262 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel BH Parque 93
#86 of 262 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Hotel GHL 93
#94 of 262 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
BS Kiu
#91 of 262 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar Windsor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Windsor House

Property: Hotel Estelar Windsor House
Address: Calle 95 No 9-97, Bogota 110211, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#48 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estelar Windsor House 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Estelar Windsor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghl Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing