We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #37 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“great stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed the first full week of November 2013. At the end of a hard day this is a great place to retreat. Intelligent, practical, and gracious. We will return.

Pros - great service, great location, great price
Cons - While key staff were fluent in English, I wish the restaurant wait staff knew a few more basic English words - beef, pork, chicken, vegetable, cheese, etc.

Our room was street side. With the windows open the ambient traffic sound was not bothersome (we slept well) or intrusive (did not wash out conversation or TV audio). With the windows closed the sound was minimal. With respect to the sensitivities of others, the street side is not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viacognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Viacognito, I am pleased to read that your week-long stay with us was great and that the service and comfort of the hotel was what you expected. I will make sure all of our restaurant staff has basic English knowledge. We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    310
    95
    37
    26
See reviews for
232
317
91
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

An excellent hotel for anyone visiting or working in Bogota. Suites are very spacious and well equipped. The staff are very able and friendly. The restaurant is good. However, the hotel is certainly a lot more than the 6 miles from the airport stated! Make sure you leave a good hour for the US$55-60 return shuttle. Nevertheless, with the rates offered, it is a very good place to stay providing you know how far it is from the airport!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merely_the_Vehicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Merely the Vehicle, I am glad that our staff and services allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. I want to take the opportunity to mention that we do not claim to be an airport hotel. We are located in northern Bogota at the upscale neighborhood of Chico-Navarra. I hope the next time you visit Bogota we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had a karaoke birthday party at one of their events rooms. Turned up and got a surprise with all the confetti/decorations and even a cake. When asked if we can get some background music hotel obliged with a laptop and the whole DJ set.

Staff go out of their way to make you happy.

A first rate hotel in terms of service but the lobby & lobby toilet seriously need some renovation. Would choose it for location + service but not ambiance.

onechineseincolombia.com

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jessica w, I am glad to hear that your birthday celebration was a success and that our staff made sure you received everything you asked for. Thank you for the comments about up-grades, these have been shared with our general manager. I hope you can celebrate many more birthdays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
368 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed for four nights October 2013. I found the hotel to be clean and orderly. There is always enough staff and security at all times. The Manager on duty is there almost every day till about 9pm. Doorman always available to open the door for you. Rooms are large, bedroom nice size. The whole room including the bathroom are clean. Nice touch is the in closet "electronic room safe" in every room. This is a non-smoking property which was very nice.

I would stay at the Lancaster again, and I recommend it to travelers from the USA, it has competent management and maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street (106B) which runs in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainKuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear CaptainKuddles, I am pleased to read that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We are glad you chose us as your hotel in Bogota and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I have just spent the month of September at the hotel and cannot speak highly enough of the service we received from every single member of staff. We were studying Spanish at a University in Bogota and the hotel is right opposite the Transmileno bus stop which is really convenient. We stayed in a junior suite which had a basic kitchen with a big fridge which was extremely useful. The wi-fi is free and when we had a minor problem with the connection they installed a router in our room! Breakfast was excellent- we could not believe our good fortune when we saw All Bran amongst the cereals- and when we had dinner in the restaurant it was very good. If you are there on a Wednesday don't miss the Manager's cocktail event! The hotel is in a good area and we enjoyed walking to different places from the hotel. We had an excellent month there and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: It's on a very busy road so ask for a room away from the front. The junior suites are ideal thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Rhoslyn, I am very satisfied to rad that your month long stay with us was superb. We are certainly glad you chose us and hope to have you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was comfortable even though the room was hot, even for Bogota. But reception sent us a fan, which helped a little. The bed was a bit hard, but I've stayed in other hotels in Bogota and they all seem to have hard beds. The room was separate from the living area, which added privacy.
The staff was very helpful and nice, specially Sra. Mireya (bar and dining area) and Fausto. The reception and dining was pretty slow though.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FMDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear FMDA, I am pleased to hear that Mireya and Fausto were very helpful during your stay. I share all share reviews with our staff so that they know what our guests feel and comment. I am sorry your room was hot, the air condition towers we have for every room should have been in your suite. I will be making sure this does not happen in the future. We are glad you chose us and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

From A to B the lancaster hotel is amazing.
The service in the front desk was so great.
The breakfest staff was very inviting and welcoming.
The breakfest itself was full and very nutricous.
The rooms were very comftorble and nice and even tough its on the main road, it was very quiet.
for a first time south america visit its a very good start and highly recomended.
If you have some free time to waste in bogota, the lancaster is the place for you.
We enjoyed very much and in our next bogota visit it will be only in the lancester.
Thank you for evrething.
Gatenio Family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoshi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Shosi G, We are placed that your stay with us was amazing. We hope you visit South America again and hope to shave you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel B3 Virrey
#33 of 265 in Bogota
868 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#29 of 265 in Bogota
678 reviews
Morrison 114 Hotel
#7 of 265 in Bogota
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#24 of 265 in Bogota
716 reviews
BioHotel Organic Suites
#4 of 265 in Bogota
210 reviews
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#67 of 265 in Bogota
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Paralela 106B | 28, Bogota 110911, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Bogota
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#16 Best Value Hotel in Bogota
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#22 Business Hotel in Bogota
#26 Family Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster House is an all-suite, seven-story, Art-Deco style hotel in northern Bogota. It is located in the upscale neighborhood of Chico-Navarra, near major business, commercial and residential districts, and only 20 minutes from the International Airport. The hotel offers 55 very ample suites ranging from 500 to 900 square feet. There are 45 Junior Suites with one bedroom and one bathroom, and 10 Master Suites with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Suites on the second floor offer an outdoor private terrace as well. All suites feature a living room that includes sofa-beds, LCD's, Home Theaters, dining room and full kitchen. For your convenience, suites offer complimentary high-speed internet, Wi-Fi, international Satellite TV channels, mini-bar, direct dial, and a safety box. The hotel has 2 restaurants. Gatsby Restaurant offers international cuisine, and monthly culinary festivals. Bistro 106 serves light fare meals, and pizzas in a casual environment. Kosher and Vegetarian meals are available on request. The Chimney Bar features international cocktails, and live music. A business center is equipped with computers, Wi-Fi and broadband internet connection, faxes and more. Six conference rooms are ideal to host business and social events. Fitness center contains cardiovascular, weight-training equipment and a sauna. Other services provided by the hotel include 24-hour room service, turn down service, concierge desk, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, underground parking, 24/7 security surveillance, and transportation. Lancaster House is ideal for families, business guests and others needing extra space; as well as for those who need extended stay services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Bogota
Lancaster Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing