We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff - average hotel”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #38 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night before flying to Medellin and on the plus side, i found the room to be a good size and the staff to be highly accomodating and friendly and spoke a reasonable/good level of english.

However, the downsides are that the hotel 'look and feel' is in need of some modernisation, the breakfast options were poor (apart from the omlette guy), the immediate location wasnt great and the food in the hotel wasnt particularly inspiring either.

Also, make sure you check your bill carefully as when checking out, i noticed a few phantom charges on mine (including a meal which i had paid for in cash the previous day) which I asked the staff to remove and they did so without much challenge.

For the same price of just a little more, there are much better places to stay in Bogota.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondCut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear DiamondCut, I am so sorry the hotel wasn’t to your taste. As much as we want to be the perfect hotel for everyone, we know that no hotel can be all things to all guests. Different travelers value different things. Most of our guests choose us because they are the type of travelers who prefer to be in a small an cozy home away from home with an eager to please staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a great birthday weekend! Thanks to the great service provided by all of the employees at the hotel my birthday celebration was a success. They even got me flowers!!!!!
The only negative coment that I have are the room service prices, This are really expensive, but everything else was as expected from the comments post here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Paula D, We are so glad to hear that your birthday celebration was a success! We hope we can help you celebrate many more happy occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms are somehow a bit dated with the beds being very average. The hotel is located in the business district and there is not much to see around, you need to take a 10 minute cab to zona rosa where there is a bit more action and places to eat. The shower had low pressure. Breakfast was ok, but far from being spectacular. I booked on easyclicktravel and paid 80$ a night and I had to pay another 10$ per person per night insurance. For the amount I paid, I guess I got a fair deal but I was expecting much more since rates on Expedia and the likes was quite higher. Our room didn't have wi-fi signal...

Room Tip: They have rooms with nice balconies
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincebilodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Vincebilodeau, I would like to mention that when you left the hotel, you left a note stating “excellente estancia, gracias”, which translates to “Excellent stay, thank you.” I am sorry your stay at Lancaster House was not as you had expected. For us it is of outmost importance that our guests have a wonderful stay. Had you let our staff know anything was not up to your standards we would have been more than happy to find a solution. I would like to take this opportunity to explain to you and any reader that we clearly state in our website as well as when people check-in that there is a hotel insurance and a VAT charge that is not included in the rate quoted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just spend 5 nights at the Lancaster House and had a wonderful time. I enjoyed a Junior Suite with Terrace and highly recommend it. It was my first trip to Bogata and they left a positive lasting impression with me.

Room was clean and spacious with good internet connection (important for my work). I enjoyed the kitchen area since I prefer to snack or eat in. Nice selection of menu choices at the on location restaurant and room service was fast.

Likely one of the hardest working staffs that I have seen in a long time. Everyone was very pleasant, patient and helpful, going out of their way to compensate for my lousy Spanish. Having traveled extensively, you really learn to appreciate a top notch team like this.

Don't think I really need to give more detail since so many others here have pointed to the great location and other amenities. I will certainly stay here the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: The terrace adds a nice touch and makes a nice spot for morning coffee.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Joel S, We are glad to hear that your stay at Lancaster House was wonderful. It is rewarding to hear that you found the Junior Suite with Terrace comfortable, spacious and clean. That you were able to conduct your work with ease with the internet connection we provide. We strive to provide the best service to our guests and are pleased to hear you that you consider us a top notch team. We are glad you choose us, and hope to have you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Don't understand why this hotel got good reviews.
Probably the travellers that gave good reviews are hostels travellers !

A 4 to 5 stars class hotel main goal is to provide
- A cozy room, sound proof, silent,
- as well as great bathrooms so the guest can rest and relax.
- Last but not least great food,
- and fast internet service for business travellers
The above are all expected points.

Well, Hotel Lancaster House is not able to meet anyone of the above goals

Here's the summary :
- The Hotel is really old, smell old, look old. It needs a refurbish at the rate they ask !
- The Hotel location is right by the side of a main street / highway with a lot of traffic noise.
the windows are not sound proof, so it's like sleeping in the middle of a street !
- The Bathrooms are a joke.
First : The bathtubs don't have a proper overflow system.
Result : you turn on the water to fill-up the tub, and go at your computer to check your emails.
A few minutes later the whole suite is Flooded !!!
Second : I hope you like very hot showers !
Because the flow of cold water is 20% of the hot water.
The faucet needs lots of pressure to switch to the shower. Hence a very hot shower.
The bathrooms like the building are probably over 25 years old, and so are
the faucets, the tubs and everything...
- The service is another Joke :
No one to take care of us in the breakfast room.
Had to call twice to get a coffee. 3 days in a row.
- The Food is terrible : we order from the hotel restaurant to the room.
I got my stomach upset for over a day. The food quality is really average.
The breakfast is depressing. It ranges from very average to cheap food choice.
- The Sauna / Spa is like the above, old and uninviting.
- Internet Wireless : doesn't work ! if you are a business person you gonna hate this.
I called the manager to reset the router and wireless access point. That didn't help.
Since i followed him to make sure it was done, i have noticed they use residential / home
equipment. They don't have enough equipment and powerful equipment to cover all rooms.
As a solution they gave me a short cable to use at a desk. Stupid !
I would have expected a change of room closer to the wifi equipment.

In summary : the hotel look nice from the photos and reviews in booking.com and tripadvisor.
But the reality is as described above. Should be a 2 to 3 stars hotel in the range of 55 to 85 $ per night. This is not a place you will remember as a great experience. The terrible final grade is for the lack of proper response from the staff, and also to rebalance the too many good grades that are totally inappropriate and misleading for the traveller. Or probably old and not up to date.

Room Tip: Avoid, Go somewhere else !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RicFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Mr. Rick FR
I am truly sorry that you claim that your experience at our hotel was not a positive one.
I would like to clarify the four poits you state in your comment:
1. Lancaster House has been awarded a 4 star rating by SGS and the Colombian Ministry of Tourism.
2. Our Suites are ample and comfortable, as you can read in guests comments. The hotel underwent a full renovation in 2010. After which periodic renovations have been done and I believe you witnessed some work as well during your stay.
3. We offer great food as you can read in guests comments and arguably the widest variety of dishes that any hotel offers in Bogota.
4. We offer both Wi-Fi broadband internet service to all our guests, free of charge, as well as a full service Business Center.
What you fail to explain it that you flooded your room, and caused damages not only to your room for to other guest rooms. You immediately stated you were not going to pay for damages even before you knew what the hotel policy was. I believe you can agree that at no time were you charged for any of the damages you incurred. To be specific, before you flooded your suite, you had told our customer service people your stay was agreeable. After this incident, and even though you were moved to another suite, anything and everything we did at the hotel was not to your liking.
As per your summary:
- We do have thermo-acqustic windows for those suites facing the Street.
- Bathrooms have also been fully renovated in the last 2 years. The building is 15 years old, and management puts high importance on maintaining and renovating all aspects in the hotel.
- You did not complain about service while you stayed with us. Yet you ordered rooms service and enjoyed the restaurants’ food for the days you stayed with us. Had the food been so appalling I am sure you could have walk to any of the restaurants near our hotel. Every time you requested room service, there were no complaints and your plates were returned clear. So evidently you enjoyed our food. There was never a complaint or comment on the quality of the food while you stayed with us.
It greatly saddens us that your carelessness for which we assumed all costs turned into libel against Lancaster House. In summary, the hotel goes out of its way to provide excellent service, we have and will continue to do all we can to keep our guests comfortable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Lancaster hotel for a couple of days as part of an overall 3 weeks trip to Colombia (a period in which I stayed in quite a few hotels in different cities and thus can compare). I found the hotel to be an excellent choice for staying in Bogotá. The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and give a good feeling (I stayed in the suit). The hotel itself is also very well kept and well located in a good neighborhood (the northern area) in Bogotá and close enough (20-30 min in taxi depending the hour in the day) to the main touristic area. I found the staff to be especially friendly and helpful, and with some English speakers, an important fact for those who are not fluent in Spanish and a thing which is not a very common in Colombia. Breakfast was also varied and with good quality. The bottom line-excellent value for money and recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Public Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Alex S, We are glad to know you feel Lancaster House is an excellent choice for staying in Bogota. We are pleased to know you found our staff helpful and our suites pleasant. We strive to provide our guests with outstanding service and comfort. We are certainly delighted you chose us, and hope to have you again as our guest the next time you visit Bogota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very well located hotel in a upper class neighborhood, closed to restaurants and public transportation such as metro-Transmilenio. Suites are 45 square meters with living, dinning, kitchen and even laundry facilities inside the suite. Breakfast is excellent.
Service is wonderful, great people from the from the front desk manager, public relations manager to waiters, porters and maid services.
Regular price is not the best but I got 50% off through Trip Advisor. Look for specials.
Con: A little noisy because of the North highway just a few feet away but in my case I used ear plugs and solved the issue. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiagozamudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaGold, Public Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Mr. Santiagozamudio, We are glad to hear that your stay with us was good and that you enjoyed our service and spacious suites.
We are certainly pleased you chose us, and are glad to hear you will be returning to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#26 of 268 in Bogota
714 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#36 of 268 in Bogota
373 reviews
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#23 of 268 in Bogota
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel B3 Virrey
#32 of 268 in Bogota
899 reviews
Morrison 114 Hotel
#6 of 268 in Bogota
719 reviews
Usaquén
Sonesta Hotel Bogota
Sonesta Hotel Bogota
#27 of 268 in Bogota
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Address: Paralela 106B | 28, Bogota 110911, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Bogota
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#13 Green Hotel in Bogota
#22 Business Hotel in Bogota
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#26 Family Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: $48 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster House is an all-suite, seven-story, Art-Deco style hotel in northern Bogota. It is located in the upscale neighborhood of Chico-Navarra, near major business, commercial and residential districts, and only 20 minutes from the International Airport. The hotel offers 55 very ample suites ranging from 500 to 900 square feet. There are 45 Junior Suites with one bedroom and one bathroom, and 10 Master Suites with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Suites on the second floor offer an outdoor private terrace as well. All suites feature a living room that includes sofa-beds, LCD's, Home Theaters, dining room and full kitchen. For your convenience, suites offer complimentary high-speed internet, Wi-Fi, international Satellite TV channels, mini-bar, direct dial, and a safety box. The hotel has 2 restaurants. Gatsby Restaurant offers international cuisine, and monthly culinary festivals. Bistro 106 serves light fare meals, and pizzas in a casual environment. Kosher and Vegetarian meals are available on request. The Chimney Bar features international cocktails, and live music. A business center is equipped with computers, Wi-Fi and broadband internet connection, faxes and more. Six conference rooms are ideal to host business and social events. Fitness center contains cardiovascular, weight-training equipment and a sauna. Other services provided by the hotel include 24-hour room service, turn down service, concierge desk, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, underground parking, 24/7 security surveillance, and transportation. Lancaster House is ideal for families, business guests and others needing extra space; as well as for those who need extended stay services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Bogota
Lancaster Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing