We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of GHL Hotel Capital

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GHL Hotel Capital
Ranked #18 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here during a recent off-site conference. The free shuttle from El Dorado airport was a huge bonus. The hotel even sent a photograph of the member of staff that would be waiting to meet me. Check in staff very friendly, although there was a delay in the process because I had booked with GHL Hotels online, and they were having problems matching the rate I had been given. My room was very nice, although temperature control was a little difficult. There is free Wifi throughout the hotel, but there are lots of different networks throughout. This became hugely frustrating because you had to repeatedly log in to a new network whenever you moved around the hotel. I tried the restaurant one evening, food was okay, small portions, and quite expensive. The free buffet breakfast was excellent, made to order omelettes were good, and there was a different choice of tapa-style dish each day. Bread and pastries were excellent. The bar area was small but friendly. As with all hotels in the city, security was tight at the front door, with explosives detection dogs and uniformed staff, but all were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghl hotel C, Manager at GHL Hotel Capital, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay in Bogotá. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    482
    111
    28
    12
See reviews for
193
258
128
983
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

GHL Hotel Capital is conveniently located close to the airport, but not too close where you won't be able to rest because of the air traffic. If your stay in Bogota is for a couple of days this is the hotel to stay, friendly staff, clean, and the drinks at the bar are fairly priced. Additionally, the breakfast buffet has great healthy options to choose from. If your stay is longer, I don't recommend it. It is about a 20 min cab ride from the Zona T, Parque 93 and zona rosa. The internet is not great, you get disconnected constantly. Finally, the gym could benefit from additional cardio equipment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borgesc5lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghl hotel C, Manager at GHL Hotel Capital, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Confortably hotel for a business trip, very safety and close to the airport. The great tip for this hotel is the restaurant located on the top. The meal is gorgeus and the staff is very friendly.
The room isn't big, but is clean and confortably. Also, the hotel offers a floor dedicated for smokers, with, of course, smokers rooms, that is forbbiden in several others hotels in the country.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fabiormart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghl hotel C, Coordinador de Calidad at GHL Hotel Capital, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We appreciate the time it took to fill out our survey, your opinion is very important because it gives us confidence to improve our service. We await your prompt return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had 5 hours on the Eldorado airport but our flight was cancelled bt TAM, and the other flight from LAN would departure 5 am next morning.
We made a quick reservation by internet and went to Hotel Capital.
Transportation was waiting for us, we didn´t have to wait 1 minute.
The check in was efficient, people very frindly and helpful. We would make the check-out 3 am, they even offered breakfest before that, we just had to tell them!
The room was perfect.
My wife was sick, and they offered to call a doctor who came very fast on the room and was very nice.
They did everything they could to make our stay pleasent.
Very good located, close to the airport and to to 2 shopping malls. restaurants right in front, very good area to walk around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghl hotel C, Coordinadora de Servicio al Huésped at GHL Hotel Capital, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, as you may know, so few people take the time to
let know when they are satisfied with a service.
We look forward to having the opportunity to you come back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was only there for layover from Cartagena, but the hotel is excellent. The staff is top notch, as are the rooms and it is very reasonably priced for Bogota at about $160 per night. Also, it is only about 5 minutes away from the airport and provides a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwolinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghl hotel C, Coordinador de Servicio al Huésped at GHL Hotel Capital, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We will offer excellent work in your next visit. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I loved this hotel, it was really cozy and I felt like home, its probably because Bogota is beautiful. But it is a normal hotel, clean, and I didnt feel the cold weather at all. Its close to Parque Simón Bolivar and Salitre Magico, I could watch the fireworks of Summer Fest from my window and it looked amazing. Its located in a residential neighborhood so you will have everything you need close to you. Breakfast buffetwas great and fresh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Simple, comfortable business hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. My room was on the 5th floor and had a balcony, which was a nice bonus. The hotel is conveniently located around a main business sector of the city, and close to the industrial area where I was working at. Not much to do around the hotel though, aside from walking a few blocks to reach the 2 large malls nearby. Yet, Bogota is such a lovely city that i just a cab out and went places.

They could work on a few things, like instead of having portable A/C units in the room they could invest on central A/C or if the building doesn't allow, at least split A/C units in rooms. The staff was always curteous, helpful and professional. This was interesting for me because nights were cool, but the surrounding areas were too loud to sleep with the window upen, and the room is warm with the windows closed, and the portable A/C unit was also very loud when on, so my nights at first were a little uncomfortable. Got used to it, though.

The WIFI (like most hotels in latin america) could be better and not have me sign on to the hotel system every time i turned on the wifi on my cellphone or ipod, or have me sign back on every 10 minutes or so. Otherwise the connection was fast and reliable, and had strong signal everywhere and didn't have issues signing on to VPN and streaming video.

I did have a small problem with a minibar charge but that was quickly resolved after i raised the issue with the front desk.

One thing i must say I was rather disappointed the hotel wouldn't exchange dollars for me. I worked pretty late every day and currency exchange places would be closed when I'd be free, so i was forced to go back to the airport to exchange. So word of advice, exchange at the airport, rates were better than at the malls.

And finally, as the title of my review suggests, i wouldn't recommend this hotel for family visits.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endospores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
4.8 mi away
Morrison 114 Hotel
Morrison 114 Hotel
#5 of 267 in Bogota
704 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel B3 Virrey
Hotel B3 Virrey
#31 of 267 in Bogota
873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson AR Hotel Bogota Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bogota Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bogota Airport
0.1 mi away
Bogota Marriott Hotel
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#7 of 267 in Bogota
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHL Hotel Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHL Hotel Capital

Property: GHL Hotel Capital
Address: Calle 25bs N0 69A-50, Bogota 110421, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#25 Family Hotel in Bogota
#45 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GHL Hotel Capital 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GHL Hotel Capital, se encuentra estrategicamente ubicado a tan solo 5 minutos de distancia del aeropuerto internacional El Dorado, el recinto ferial Corferias, muy cerca de la Embajada de los Estados Unidos, el centro comercial Salitre Plaza, Gran Estacion y el Centro Interactivo y tecnologico MALOKA (unico en Suramerica con un cine domo). El Hotel Capital se encuentra en la zona de mayor desarrollo urbanistico de Bogota, y el area de influencia de las principales zonas industriales de la ciudad. El Hotel Capital se encuentra rodeado de un sin numero de atractivos turisticos entre los cuales se destacan el Parque Metropolitano Simon Bolivar, el Parque Salitre Magico y el Jardin Botanico Jose Celestino Mutis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your GHL Hotel Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel Bogota
Hotel Capital Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing