We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice, but some staff issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota
Ranked #20 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A good choice, but some staff issues”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed a weekend night in Bogota in one of the junior suites. It's a pleasant enough property with plenty of security and next to some good places to eat. Inside it's unusual, with long corridors. It's a quiet place and some of the art is pleasing. The room was good with interesting furniture. Of particular note was an excellent bathroom with good lighting and a fine shower. The wifi - free and without password was fast.
The check in staff weren't wonderful - nothing major you just got the impression you were disturbing their chatter. We had breakfast on the terrace (not a cheap option, but presented well) and the staff seemed keen to move us on quickly, clearing away unfinished food items and stopping offering coffee. At the other end of the terrace a gentleman in sunglasses and his party was getting plenty of attention (our server actually left in mid order to go to that table). I guess on a dull, drizzly morning in Bogota shades either indicate the mother and father of a hangover or you are someone famous. My guess is the latter. We were told that two famous singers were staying at the property that weekend.
Would we return? Well the fireplace in the room looked inviting for a cold wet night in Bogota. The location was reasonable but service wasn't quite there. It's not as luxurious in fittings as the Sofitel or the sister Charleston property. It's an interesting choice, but at the price I wasn't totally convinced.

Room Tip: The junior suite was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room- in particular the bathroom and the Internet service. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear you felt our staff was not pleasant enough. We pride ourselves in offering first-class service and we feel this is uncharacteristic of our staff. We hope to have the chance to change that impression in the future.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    49
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
94
22
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but did tour the rooms and was very impressed. It looked like a really nice boutique style hotel with very nicely decorated rooms. I was invited to a luncheon that the hotel held in their backyard patio and while the service was extremely attentive and very friendly, the lunch choices were dubious at best. I found it odd that a fairly nice and somewhat elegant hotel would serve unimaginative sandwiches to our group of travel professionals! They were served with a smile - but in a country filled with fine foods it was a real disappointment for sure. So, that said, the hotel looked extremely comfortable - the staff was very attentive but I recommend that you check on the food because a concern to me is that any operator that has a dozen of the top travel professionals to entertain for two hours and decides that cold cuts are the way to impress - makes me wonder!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVENSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear your impressions on the facilities and the staff, however, we are quite sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with the food. We are known for the quality of the dishes in our regular menu, in particular our famed breakfast and the Italian specialties of Trattoria Santa Lucía, so we hope to get the opportunity to serve you again in order to change your impressions.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

i stayed at the hotel Casa Medina the week of July 8 2013. i found the room quality and service to be excellent, and all staff went out of the way to meet my needs. When i return to Bogota, i will stay here again.

Mike Barnholdt
Houston, TX USA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64mikeb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Barnholdt,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Casa Medina. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, in particular your room and the staff's service. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a great hotel, and it may feel pricey compared to other hotels in the neighborhood, but all similar ranked hotels are in this price range (Bogota is not a bargain folks!). The service is excellent and you can feel you are in a Colombian hotel and not a Western chain. It has a great location, nothing at all to complain about

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Carrera 7a are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paisa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Google Translation
Querido Cliente,

Muchas gracias por compartir con nosotros su buena experiencia en La Terraza del Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa Cartagena. Siempre nos esforzamos por satisfacer a cada uno de nuestros clientes y nos alegra mucho saber que disfrutó de la comida, música y ambiente del lugar. ¡Esperamos volver a verlo pronto!

Atentamente,

ANA MARIA VELEZ RUEDA
DIRECTORA MERCADEO
HOTELES CHARLESTON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an excellent hotel experience. It´s one of the reasons I love Bogota. Service, decor, food, smell- it is a delightful, luxurious experience. My favorite hotel in Latin America! I would happily recommend to the most discerning customers. The showers and the beds are wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestonHotelGroup, Director Comercial at Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a positive experience while staying at Hotel Charleston Casa Medina. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Tello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

At first you may find the arrival & the location of Casa Medina not so appealing as it is right off a very busy street & one block from a gas station but don't let yourself be scared off - It's a great little gem of a hotel. Very nice sense of place and very attentive & friendly staff. The decor is refined & feels authentic - Service is very personal & kind. Loved my (short) stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inner patio, they are quieter. Loove their bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I just finished my second stay at the Casa Medina, and it was even better than my first. The hotel room is large, and both it and the bed are very comfortable. Most importantly, the service and staff are excellent. I attended a conference at a another hotel - a large american brand - and the differences was apparent. The large brand hotel was loud, crowded, and you could tell customers had to compete with each other for services like transportation (required for Bogota).

The Casa Medina is much smaller, very quiet, and discrete. It is further from the airport, but situated in a Sector 6 neighborhood with many excellent restaurants close by. I needed last minute transportation numerous times, and the staff quickly accommodated me. I used their spa, dry cleaning, laundry and shoe shine services, and all were outstanding. And as a business traveler, they had a roomy desk, and more than enough outlets in the room to charge all 5 of my electronic devices. And I had continuous and strong wireless service - I even downloaded a couple of TV shows off iTunes with ease.

My only gripe? The Nespresso machine in the lobby was broken this vist, and they replaced it with a large traditional espresso maker that was not nearly as good. But the front desk staff assured me it was coming back in time for my next visit in April :)

But as we all know, it is the service and staff that make or break a hotel. Mistakes happen, issues come up, and it is how the staff deals with those problems that distinguish good hotels from great ones. And the staff at Casa Medina is the best I've seen, and I have been a business traveler for over 25 years. Casa Medina's General Manager should be justifiably proud of his staff, especially those at the front desk.

I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSB9982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Four Seasons Hotel Bogota
#52 of 265 in Bogota
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#54 of 265 in Bogota
128 reviews
W Bogota Hotel
#16 of 265 in Bogota
578 reviews
Hilton Bogota
#10 of 265 in Bogota
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota
Address: Carrera 7, 69A-22 | Cundinamarca, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#14 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Medina Bogota
Hotel Casa Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing