We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Hotel”
Review of Hotel Tequendama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tequendama
Ranked #178 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Safe Hotel”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Crowne Plaza Tequendama is a safe bet located within the historic district. I enjoyed my stay. There where several meal options on site here and a nice bar. The room was very nice and had everything required for a business stay. They have stores within the hotel complex but I did not visit any of them. You are walking distances to the down town area. My stay was for several days and it was well within what i expect from Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottybruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Aeromet :

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama and in my own name.
Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Currently we are working on improving our internet service. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    160
    105
    43
    31
See reviews for
31
71
48
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a very nice lobby and common areas. The rooms are appointed in a classic style but are functional.

My real issue is that the hallways on the floors are dark. Lights are activated by motion detectors, and you often end up walking past the light fixture before it finally turns on. Definitely is not safe and not comfortable. You get the feeling someone will jump out of the shadows. This should seriously be changed and definitely didn't inspire me to leave my room at night to go into the dark hallways. I really hope this is fixed for the lights to stay on at all times, as it otherwise diminishes a great hotel.

My father stayed here 27 years ago but I believe in the Tequendama suites which is next door. So my visit is at least made special by sharing that with my father

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
"Dear Shane S:
Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama and in my own name.
Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Currently we are working on improving our light detectors. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us.
We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Based on the signs around the hotel, I think this used to be Tequendama Hotel and Crowne Plaza may have bought and refurbished it. Though an old hotel, they tried their best to clean the hotel and the Standard Room where I stayed was comparable to the Crowne Plaza hotels in Canada or US. Staff were very friendly and they tried their best that made my stay excellent. The hotel was strategically located across Carrerra 7 which was the road that led to Montserrate, Plaza Bolivar, La Candelaria and Presidential Palace. Breakfast selection was good and kept me going with the long walks I did at the tourist spots.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
"Dear Dags M:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.

It is really nice for us to read such good comments about our Hotel. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed in this property over a weeknight in September 2013. The first thing you notice about this hotel is that it is very dated and very huge. There are armed guard outside, so you feel safe. Also they arrange for a very good taxi to take you to the airport, even though the cost is high. As a Platinum Elite with IHG, I felt I received excellent treatment and was kindly given a complimentary room upgrade to an amazing room. While the room was very nice with amenities and a plate of pretty bland cookies (I appreciate the effort though!), I had issues with the hours of services. For example, as a business traveler, I had to leave early -- thereby missing out on the hours of both the executive lounge and the complimentary breakfast. Would have been cool to try those things out.

The internet was also very spotty. Overall, I had a truly internationally modern experience. The location is amazing, right by the national hotel and a cool restaurant Tabula which was recently featured on Anthony Bourdain. The mountain views are also staggering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Albert L:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Currently we are working on improving our internet service. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Overall good service and an old fashioned hotel but with good amenities. I would say that taking the water off for half a day is a drag, but I suppose it has to happen sometime.
The guarded hotel does make it feel very safe, although it's in a safe area anyway.
The rooms are reasonable spacious some more than others.
Restaurant service and menu is good, and the breakfast does have an egg bar.
Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
"Dear Mr. Phephox:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne PlazaTequendama and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are very sorry you had problems with the water. Currently, we are working on that issue.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the last night of my Bogota vacation. The hotel is centrally located and most of the staff speaks good English.

Security was ultra-tight; it was like staying at a government office or the airport based on the number of offices (armed and unarmed) walking around inside and outside.

The room I got was quite spacious (it was a 2-room suite). The bathroom was in the small side and did not contain any face towels. The water temperature in the shower was also sporadic, going erratically from hot to cold, with just the slight move of the handle.

The best part of the stay was the fact that I could charge transport to my room. Cabs are generally sketchy at best in the city, but the hotel has a private car service that is very reasonably priced: I hired a car for 4 hours for $35USD.

Overall - this is a nice hotel in a great location with an attentive staff. The IHG Rewards club perks are also great, too (fruit basket in room and access to the Executive Lounge for Platinum members).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
"Dear Mr. Jacobandjune:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne PlazaTequendama and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.
It is nice to receive comments about our services, specially when a Platinum member reviews. We hope you have enjoyed your stay, and we also inform that we are currently working on improving the shower system.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent experience, amazing hotel, beautiful lobby with everything you will require, very secure and safe, nice room, clean, amazing staff and service, in a city as Bogota, this hotel can guaranty your security
Ah did I mentioned that they will provide amazing beds!
Would love to come back there in my next trip

Room Tip: everything there is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Raul C:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.

As per your kind opinion, we are glad and proud to receive such good comments about our hotel. We want to thank you, providing you a 10% off in the room rate for your next visit.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Tequendama Suites Bogota
#239 of 267 in Bogota
137 reviews
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#24 of 267 in Bogota
747 reviews
Grand Park Hotel
#109 of 267 in Bogota
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bogota Museo
#49 of 267 in Bogota
1,369 reviews
Hotel MS Oceania Confort
#160 of 267 in Bogota
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tequendama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tequendama

Property: Hotel Tequendama
Address: Carrera 10 No 26-21, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Tequendama)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tequendama Hotel would like to offer you our warmest welcome. We are truly a World Class Hotel. Our experience, quality and name have made us an icon in Bogota. We work tirelessly to provide you with the best service by offering you the high quality, comfort and world class service and facilities you deserve. Bogota opens its doors to you upon your arrival at El Dorado International Airport. The Tequendama Hotel is located just a few minutes away and offers the hospitality and comfort of one of the world s most renown hotel chains. Discover the magic of the Andean city from a unique perspective. You will experience the charm of Colombian culture as soon as you walk through the doors of the Tequendama Hotel A World Class Hotel. Come and enjoy one of our 578 luxurious rooms. We offer 24 hours Room Service, cable TV, voice mail, high speed internet access, laundry and valet service to meet all your demanding expectations. Nowadays we are ISO-9001 certified in our principal services. We are also certified in a local norm, as a five stars Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tequendama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel Bogota
Crowne Plaza Bogota
Crowne Plaza Hotel Bogota
Bogota Tequendama Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing