We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tequendama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tequendama
Ranked #233 of 260 Hotels in Bogota
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great downtown location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the last night of my Bogota vacation. The hotel is centrally located and most of the staff speaks good English.

Security was ultra-tight; it was like staying at a government office or the airport based on the number of offices (armed and unarmed) walking around inside and outside.

The room I got was quite spacious (it was a 2-room suite). The bathroom was in the small side and did not contain any face towels. The water temperature in the shower was also sporadic, going erratically from hot to cold, with just the slight move of the handle.

The best part of the stay was the fact that I could charge transport to my room. Cabs are generally sketchy at best in the city, but the hotel has a private car service that is very reasonably priced: I hired a car for 4 hours for $35USD.

Overall - this is a nice hotel in a great location with an attentive staff. The IHG Rewards club perks are also great, too (fruit basket in room and access to the Executive Lounge for Platinum members).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
"Dear Mr. Jacobandjune:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne PlazaTequendama and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.
It is nice to receive comments about our services, specially when a Platinum member reviews. We hope you have enjoyed your stay, and we also inform that we are currently working on improving the shower system.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    125
    83
    38
    25
See reviews for
24
57
36
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent experience, amazing hotel, beautiful lobby with everything you will require, very secure and safe, nice room, clean, amazing staff and service, in a city as Bogota, this hotel can guaranty your security
Ah did I mentioned that they will provide amazing beds!
Would love to come back there in my next trip

Room Tip: everything there is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Raul C:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.

As per your kind opinion, we are glad and proud to receive such good comments about our hotel. We want to thank you, providing you a 10% off in the room rate for your next visit.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel money times in the past few years. I receive an employee discount through IHG Hospitality so I get a great rate. This hotel is in the heart of the financial district where it is pretty safe. There are usually taxis readily available to take you anywhere you want to go. The hotel also has a few taxis designated to them that are very nice and the drivers are very courteous. It is a little bit dated and definitely an old school style business hotel. If you have the option, get a suite as the views can be pretty nice and room spacious. They are rather strict regarding customers having guests in the hotel. The development of a Transmilineo station across from the hotel allows for great mobility if trying to venture away from taxis. Overall the hotel is clean and the area is safe.

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AboveTheClouds85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. AboveTheClouds85:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are proud to receive those positive comments about our services.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and although the hotel gives you what you need (a place to sleep) the years are clearly showing for this hotel. Stayed in a suite on the club level which was comfortable but lacked an individual AC control (had to arrange room temperature by opening/closing) windows. Service was great and staff in the club lounge very nice. Languague might sometimes be an issue if you don't speak Spanish...

Room Tip: always try to be on the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchtraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Dutchtraveller1979:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for giving us your very valid remarks in our services.

We are proud to receive those positive comments about our staff and we are working in order to improve English language skills and level.

We look forward to you visiting us again in order to assist you with the best pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
511 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arriving at the hotel isn't positive. It seems to be situated on the edge of a freeway and there are armed guards out the front. Then you have to go through a couple of lots of security to get to the lobby lifts. But the rooms were pleasant; the breakfast reasonable; the dinner menu good; the maid service good. And the location turns out to be better than it looks, within walking distance of the Museo Nacional, the downtown shops and La Candelaria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. WaterArt:
Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel and in my own name.
Let me thank you for giving us your very valid remarks in our services.

Our Security System is supported by the Colombian National Army which allows us offer better safe in the area where is the Hotel located in order to our guest feel safe. The Hotel is located strategically to comfort and ease of tourists who want to visit the most important historical places around the city. We are proud that you had feel comfortable with our rooms and other services that we offer our guests to pleasant stay.

We look forward to assist you again with a pleasure.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is old, outdated and dirty. Rooms are dirty, especially windows and window drapes as well as bathroom.
Stuff is unreliable, you ask for something as simple as a pen, you never get anything but promises. Only reception stuff speaks English, guys in a bar are so not speaking English that ordering water is difficult.
Breakfast is very poor, the only thing edible is local fruit.
Not that I was planning to ever come back to Bogota, but if I ever come here again that would be certainly not to the very old and dirty lady of Bogota.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunfloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sunfloo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition and cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bogota hotels

UK, North America etc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Where to start. As a business traveller I stay a lot in business hotels and never review as they are all pretty much the same, but my experience with this one was simply so poor that I felt I should share and spare someone else the grief.. there is a nice marriot 20 mins away! the weight exercise machines were a safety hazard in the 60's let alone today. The food in the restaurant was not terrible, the rooms were standard fare but dirty, the hot water takes a long time to run and the housekeeping service (I stayed there for over two weeks) varies according to the cleaning person whose shift it is.. it went from standard to me having to ask for towels as they were not replaced!!

Avoid, why deal with the hassle?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariamFLT, Community Manager at Hotel Tequendama, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Mr(s). Biztraveller30:

Receive a cordial greeting in the name of Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel and in my own name.

Let me thank you for giving us your very valid remarks in our services. We regret that you had that situation, since we have a clean service that allows us to deliver each guest clean and neat rooms.
We have standards and quality certifications in our service process. We will check the situation that you mention and we apologize again.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Tequendama Suites Bogota
#242 of 260 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Ibis Bogota Museo
#44 of 260 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
#107 of 260 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel MS Oceania
#165 of 260 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#39 of 260 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tequendama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tequendama

Property: Hotel Tequendama
Address: Carrera 10 No 26-21, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Tequendama)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tequendama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tequendama Hotel would like to offer you our warmest welcome. We are truly a World Class Hotel. Our experience, quality and name have made us an icon in Bogota. We work tirelessly to provide you with the best service by offering you the high quality, comfort and world class service and facilities you deserve. Bogota opens its doors to you upon your arrival at El Dorado International Airport. The Tequendama Hotel is located just a few minutes away and offers the hospitality and comfort of one of the world s most renown hotel chains. Discover the magic of the Andean city from a unique perspective. You will experience the charm of Colombian culture as soon as you walk through the doors of the Tequendama Hotel A World Class Hotel. Come and enjoy one of our 578 luxurious rooms. We offer 24 hours Room Service, cable TV, voice mail, high speed internet access, laundry and valet service to meet all your demanding expectations. Nowadays we are ISO-9001 certified in our principal services. We are also certified in a local norm, as a five stars Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Tequendama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tequendama Hotel Bogota
Crowne Plaza Bogota
Crowne Plaza Hotel Bogota
Bogota Tequendama Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing