We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent Management - Very Disappointed”
Review of Hotel B3 Virrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel B3 Virrey
Ranked #31 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Incompetent Management - Very Disappointed”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I just completed my second stay at the Hotel B3 Virrey, and my opinion of the property has changed dramatically due to incompetent and unresponsive management of the hotel. The location of the hotel is great - easy walking distance to Parque 93 and Zona Rosa, and centrally located for business access. Rooms are very basic but comfortable. Unfortunately, these positive qualities are outweighed by serious safety concerns, apathetic management, and poorly trained staff.

My primary problem is based on two experiences when trying to arrange transportation for a colleague. This colleague does not speak Spanish, and I asked for assurance that the hotel would transport her safely to her destination in the Candelaria area. On the first attempt, the hotel driver dropped her in the Candelaria several blocks from the destination, and departed. My colleague was lost for several hours, and managed to get back to the hotel 4 hours later using a regular taxi. This is unacceptable practice for a hotel driver, especially when the address was provided in writing, in Spanish, and with a local phone contact number.

We attempted the trip again on the following day, when I asked the front desk manager (Daniel) for personal assurance that this would not happen again. My colleague was going to the same destination, and needed to arrive no later than 10:15 in order to make the start of a formal tour. We arranged for a pickup at 9:20, but the driver did not arrive until 10:10. My colleague suggested that it was too late, but the driver insisted on departing. Of course, arrival in the Candelaria was around 11:00 a.m., too late for the departing tour. The driver never actually found the location, and returned to the hotel. We were charged a significant amount for this "round trip", and the manager (Daniel) refused to remove the transportation charge from the bill, suggesting that it was our problem.

There are many great hotels in Bogota that would love to have your business, I highly recommend any option over Hotel B3 Virrey. Concerns raised in other reviews about noise issues (internal and external), poor selection of TV channels, inoperable clock/alarm, DJ/parties in lobby, and poor management are 100% valid as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFelipeSantos, Propietario at Hotel B3 Virrey, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that your colleague had during the stay in our hotel. We have all ready taken all corrective measures with the transportation company that work with us and are in constant monitoring to prevent that these type of situations present again. We can assure you that these situations are not routine in our hotel. Since your first stay with us was completely satisfatory and we met all your expectations we hope to see you as our guest again in the near future . Again, I reiterate our apologies and we expect to be able to show you the real B3 experience.

Best Regards,
Carlos Felipe Santos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    398
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
84
344
70
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is well located — near great places to go out in the evening and a nice park to run in the mornings. The staff is really nice and friendly although all that is stated in DogAgre review is true - I have experienced and noticed the same details but for the noise, no noise for me. What really disturbed me is that you cannot take a shower without soaking the whole bathroom — they should change it. The kindness of the staff compensates the downsides.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattiSGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriana l, at Hotel B3 Virrey, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
One of our goals is to stay with us you feel at home, so we try to make our service even better, with respect to the area of the shower in the bathroom, we are working on the issue of how to fix it without affecting the Hotel style. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon arriving at this hotel, we were impressed at its modern design. As we stayed for our week, we loved our comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, good wi-fi, friendly staff, and nice breakfast. Unfortunately, these positives were outweighed by the negatives. It is directly across the street from some type of entertainment establishment that produces loud noise until about 3:30 every morning. Even with earplugs, we had a hard time getting a good night's sleep. The rooms, while modern, are too spartan -- there are no drawers for clothes, no shelf in the bathroom for amenities (you have to place these on the shower floor), no facial tissues. The television is difficult to operate, and the room clock was beyond our comprehension (the staff also apparently unplugged it several times while cleaning the room, and our time was almost never correct). The restaurant on site is rarely open for other than breakfast, and when it is open, the selection is very limited. And while they purport to be eco-friendly, they replaced our towels every day, although we placed them every day where we were asked to if we wanted to re-use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogAgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFelipeSantos, Gerente at Hotel B3 Virrey, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your good comments, we will consider your suggestions and we will try to take the corrective measures thereon. Hope to see you back with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If I come back to Bogota I will stay here again with great pleasure. Safe location, very very very friendly staff who speak English. The hotel seems to be recently renovated and rooms are very nice. Absolutely recommend it for budget travellers

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaso81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFelipeSantos, Gerente at Hotel B3 Virrey, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We hope your next visit very soon, appreciate your feedback of our service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have been traveling in business to Bogota for the past 4 years, and have had the chance to stay at several hotels (at least 10 other hotels: Cite, BH, Bogota Plaza, etc). I have had good and bad experiences, but overall my sense has been that I always overpaid for what I got. At B3 I particularly liked the matress, pillows, silence, desk space and inet connection in my room. The service was nice and helpful. Bfast was good, and location very central. I had drinks twice at the bar, try the B3 drink, awesome! For what I paid I think it's a great value, by far the best deal in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ferdinand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriana l, Gerente at Hotel B3 Virrey, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for you comments. El Tres cocktail its our signature drink at our bar. We hope to have you with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#22 of 267 in Bogota
742 reviews
Lancaster House
#37 of 267 in Bogota
1,135 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#28 of 267 in Bogota
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Morrison 114 Hotel
#5 of 267 in Bogota
704 reviews
Chapinero
The Click Clack Hotel
The Click Clack Hotel
#39 of 267 in Bogota
671 reviews
Atton Bogota 93
#10 of 267 in Bogota
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B3 Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B3 Virrey

Property: Hotel B3 Virrey
Address: Carrera 15 con Calle 88 | Costado Oriental, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel B3 Virrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel B3 Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing