We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good for a Marriott restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mina Steak & Lobster - CLOSED

La Mina Steak & Lobster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Mina Steak & Lobster is one of the most renowned steakhouse in Bogota, Colombia. Steaks and lobster among its biggest specialties with two wine cellars. Great for special occasions whether it be for business of pleasure.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
982 reviews
807 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,043 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a Marriott restaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

One doesn't associate restaurants located in a Marriott with gastronomy, but I've been pleasantly surprised the couple of times I've eaten at La Mina. Besides 'steak and lobster', the cuisine can be quite sophisticated and quality is good. Service is attentive and helpful. Maybe it's because the JW Marriott is a high-end hotel in Bogota.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at La Mina Steak & Lobster, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,
It is good to know La Mina Steak & Lobster met your expectations as to good gastronomy. Please know that our team puts all heart and soul into offering the best possible experience during your visit with us. We’d like to let you know we’ve just launched a new and redesigned menu that we hope you may be able to try soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    39
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Went in 3 different ocassions and it was always great. Each time we tried different plates and they were all good. Perhaps the menu is a bit overprice by Colombia's overall prices.
Drinks were well served and service was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at La Mina Steak & Lobster, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest, we are glad that you were able to visit La Mina Steak & Lobster during your stay at the JW Marriott Bogota. It is great to know you enjoyed the overall experience offered by our associates as well as the food and beverage offered. We hope to have you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Overall good but we had some issues”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The food was good but we did have a problem ordering. We were given the menus and after some time we were then given a special fois gras menu. We then had to spend more time making a decision now that we had more options! When making our choices we were then shown alternative choices using the same basic ingredient. I'm not sure what the purpose of this was as we had already seen the other options and had made our decisions based on our own preferences. There was no imput from the sommelier over our wine choice either. When it came to paying for our meal we tried to pay by American Express. The hotel claims to accept this but after trying two machines and our insistence that the card was good in Columbia the manager managed to produce a machine which worked. My husband travels the world and has never come across this before. We can only assume that they do not like paying the more expensive rate with Amex and deliberately refuse cards. We were not impressed as this was embarrassing for a business dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at La Mina Steak & Lobster, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,
First we’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. It would be great if you gave us another opportunity to redeem ourselves with the service you deserve. The reason we offered you a Foie Gras menu is because we are having a special festival until the 15th of December but we agree that our timing with the menus was not the most convenient. Please know that we do not discriminate any method of payment and we apologize as this issue happened as a result of a system failure.
We hope you may consider visiting us again to give you a whole new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced for Bogota”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went there yesterday, August 31st, and was overall disappointed. It is an overpriced restaurant for Bogota and the quality is just not that great. Food was ok (except for a terribly chewy octopus), service was ok and ambience ok (although too dark for lunch time). An "Ok" is not "ok" for a restaurant of these prices. One thing that did work out well was the sommelier who made a great wine recommendation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaJFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at La Mina Steak & Lobster, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear guest,
Your opinion about our restaurant is very valuable to us as it helps us improve in the service we provide all our costumers.
If you’d like to visit us again, we would love to surprise you with suggestions from our chef and give you a completely new service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in town!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via Local Picks

I totally agree! This place is so sophisticated that is a perfect deal to impress a collegue or a very good friend. Service is superb, since every employee know what his/her rol is...desserts are just a piece of art.
Decoration and furniture are so cozy...It's a very expensive place but even that, I have visited it twice during the last six months, specially because as a local visitor I can use the great JW Marriott Hotel valet service. A place full of tourist from all around the world.
Thank you Marriott brand for bringing such a great place to our beautiful Bogota!

Helpful?
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at La Mina Steak & Lobster, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear guest,
It is wonderful to know that you consider La Mina Steak & Lobster “the best restaurant in town”
We are glad that the ambiance and service officered by our associates was “superb” and that our desserts pleased you.
And thank you for choosing us to be your select restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Mina Steak & Lobster also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing