We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sweet hostel near trendy area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bogota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tip Top Hostel
Save
You added Tip Top Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #81 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sweet hostel near trendy area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Staff is very friendly. Local food and attractions in walking distance! Minutes away to public transportation. Tons of local tourist attractions as well as a local night scene within 5 minute walking,

Room Tip: Towels are a bit thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CROD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
20
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hostel is in a great location, close to most things in La Candelaria. The first time I walked in, I felt like I´m inside a traditional Colombian house. The people there are really really nice and made me feel welcomed. Wifi works great. Hihghly recommended for a nice, tranquil environment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alloutnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sucre
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a nice hostel in the center of old town.
The staff is really helpful and kind.
I stayed a couple of days longer because the hostel was so relax.
The location is in the middle of a activities from Bogota city

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robmaas18813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaklandish
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed there about 10 days between our trips in the different parts of Colombia and used the hotel as our base. The place might not be for everyone (depending our expectations) but we loved our stay and this is why we kept returning back to it. The hostel is conveniently located but above all the people (Sergio and his parents) are the nicest and sweetest people!!!!!!! they made us feel at home and helped us with tons of valuabe info. We would go back and book there again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaminanteCaminando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hostel was quite cheap, rooms were clean colorful and plenty of bedding. Can get cold in the night but what do you expect its in the mountains. Great location right near all the sights and close walk by into the town. The hostel was quiet and the ladies that run it cant speak much english but we got by. They had the owener come in one day and sat hvaing breakfast with us she was very helpful and helped us to plan our next journey and flights. The breakfast is actaully quite good, sweet bread and omlette with endless coffee on tap.
We used this hostel as a stop off and only stayed 2 nights but i would definaelty recommend it to anyone who wants to have a cheap few nights. Its not a party hostel but has everything you need. : )

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room away from the common room as they leave the tv on late and it can be very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice hostal,located near universities in the old town.
Friendly environment.
Staff is friendly an very helpful-they helped us with flights and hostal reservations for our next stay!
I totally recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brrjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

they stepped in for us when we had trouble with the police. Although we only stayed there for 2 nights, they treated us like VIP guests, including helping us with booking flight tickets.
I would recommend this for everyone, being new to colombia!
Thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
0.0 mi away
Tip Top Casa Hotel
Tip Top Casa Hotel
#63 of 200 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bogota Airport
8.9 mi away
La Nina Hostel
La Nina Hostel
#30 of 200 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Violeta Park Hostel
Violeta Park Hostel
#42 of 200 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
11.6 mi away
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#13 of 260 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bogota Marriott Hotel
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#1 of 260 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tip Top Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tip Top Hostel

Property: Tip Top Hostel
Address: Kra 1ra Bis # 12 D 78, Bogota 11001-000, Colombia (Formerly Tip Top Guest House)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing