We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot!”
Review of Muisca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muisca Hotel
Ranked #87 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
453 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nice spot!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to be in Candelaria, the oldest part of the city. This little hotel has 14 rooms I think. We had a nice room in the roof, last assent was via a narrow spiral staircase. Definitely not wheelchair accessible. But the room was nice, if a bit cool and the shower had good hot water. Muisca is at the top of a long hill, if you can't handle a steep hill at 8700' you will need to take taxis, but we had no problem. It's very quiet in the roof, others complained of noisy rooms, I could imagine that, the walls are thin and there are lots of steps that are a bit noisy. Our biggest disappointment was breakfast, we weren't expecting a massive American buffet. The choice was simple, eggs scrambled, dri ish bread, juice, coffee and a fruit. But it left us hungry and yearning good coffee each morning.
But the staff were super friendly, let us abuse their language with a smile and made us feel welcome.
If we return to Bogota, we'd probably stay again.
BTW you can drink the water!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    99
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
106
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We traveled around Colombia for 2 weeks and this was one of our favorite hotels. Prior to the trip, I sent a few emails to the staff at this hotel and they responded very promptly. We arrived in Bogota very early in the morning, and our arranged driver was waiting for us. We were also very relieved that we could check in early (for a small extra fee) since we were exhausted from the trip.
This hotel is a tranquil haven in the Candelaria area of Bogota. You can walk to the Plaza Bolivar in less than 10 minutes and the Museo Botero is also close by. We felt very safe walking in the Candelaria district and to and from the hotel. The hotel staff advised us to take a taxi if we planned to be out past 8pm. Calle 10 near this hotel is quite empty at night so the hotel did call us a taxi when we went to La Macarena district for dinner (this area has good mid-priced restaurants). Near the hotel, we enjoyed the tamales at La Puerta Falsa, as another reviewer mentioned. We didn't mind walking up the hill on the way back to the hotel. This ended up being a small hill compared to others we walked up in Colombia.
The staff at this hotel are very helpful, the rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. The first room we stayed in was "cozy" so we asked if we could have a larger room when we returned to Bogota at the end of our trip. They put us in room 14, which is extremely spacious. We just wished we had more time to enjoy this beautiful room!
We enjoyed having a nice breakfast on the terrace, which overlooks the city. There is also a pretty patio area with a few water features that makes a nice place to relax after a long day.
If you are looking for a hotel with some character, this is an excellent option. We will stay here again when we return to Bogota.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingteacher37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Planning a two-night stop over in Bogotá, I wanted to avoid a featureless chain hotel. Recent travel articles highlighted La Candelaria, the city's colonial section, so I booked Hotel Muisca after comparing it with other available lodging.

The hotel staff was responsive to e-mailed questions prior to arrival, but some sort of miscommunication left me at the airport with no driver for transfer to the hotel. I ended up taking a local taxi, which in fact saved me over 15,000 Colombian pesos each way. Several staff members apologized profusely for the oversight, and we quickly got over the obstacle.

My check in on Saturday night was smooth, and the receptionist helped to carry my luggage through the narrow hall to the rear of the building. She also explained several features of the room and showed me how to use the safe. My room was on the upper floor, overlooking a small interior patio that accessed other rooms. As other reviewers have noted, there is no elevator, and travelers with mobility difficulties probably will not be comfortable here.

My room was comfortably sized, with a double bed and a well-designed, compact bathroom. I made only a cursory scan of the room and collapsed into bed after a long day of travel, sleeping soundly until the next morning.

Breakfast was served in a small room above the reception, accessed by a narrow winding staircase. My breakfast was scrambled eggs, toast, some tropical fruit, coffee, and juice. It wasn't overly generous, but not meager, either.

Hotel Muisca is well positioned for a stroll around La Candelaria, but customers should take note of the hill. Walking down to the Plaza Bolivar was manageable, but my walk back up the hill on the return was challenging at Bogotá's altitude. Just the same, the hills provided great entertainment. I quickly realized that a scraping noise that I was hearing was a group of suicidal young men on skate boards. They raced down the streets, ably hopping broken pavers, pot holes, and speed bumps at seemingly reckless speeds. It looked like they were having a blast.

Despite the hills, it was easy to walk to restaurants like La Puerta Falsa, and I also visited the Museo de la Independencia and the Museo de Oro without taking a taxi. Strolling for several hours during the afternoon and early evening, I had no concerns about security or safety. The hotel was a nice change from standard hotels, providing a comfortable, unique platform for exploring Bogotá's historic center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

You can either opt to stay in an international hotel, or in a local hotel; the risk is that one cannot assume the quality of the latter in beforehand. If you plan to stay at a local hotel in Bogota, in La Candelaria quarter, it is recommended to stay at Hotel Muisca. The staff is most friendly and service oriented. The rooms are scattered around and beautiful. This area of Bogota is quite vivid, as you are in walking distance of the old center. Very good price quality !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonN2EURO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff was very very nice, but the Hotel was awkward despite is a beautiful building. We were in one of the back rooms, where noise was extremely loud. At night people coming to the rooms were noisy, and very early in the morning we heard passengers carrying luggage from the 2nd floor (there is no elevator) in a very loudly way, there was a School in the back, so kids laughing and chairs were disturbing from very early... and the fisrt morning, the school was repairing stuff, so we were woke up at 7 am by a nice hammer. Also there is a "nice" fountain in the back that was EXTREMELY NOISY. Apart from that, the heat was not working and they din't have an extra electric/gas heater, the only "solution" was an extra blanket. We didn't sleep at all any night despite we were very tired at night because the Hotel is very near to the touristic spots in the center, but to get there, there's a huge hill to climb up.

Room Tip: Please ask NOT to stay in the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Small hotel, with a nice interior design. There are many stairs everywhere which makes this hotel a small labyrinth. Nonetheless, the room I stayed in was large and comfortable (4 beds). Excellent attention from the staff, very efficient electronic payment with confirmation and receipt by email. Prices are really low. Definitely a must-go hotel. The best I found so far in Bogotà, and the one I'll choose next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupil72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Muisca Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Is impressive how in such a short time you could "feel" so much that we proposed from the conception of the hotel, from design and decoration, to the location and especially the attention to our guests. We can only thank you for your comment, because encourages us to move forward and make your experience getting better at our hotel.
Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This gem was a wonderful surprise from start to finish.

Months before leaving the US for a Colombia honeymoon, I was able to "converse" electronically with the hotel's staff through the hotel's website. I was assured they had our reservation, and they promised a large bed, and full bath.

Our late-arriving flight to El Dorado was met by a taxi sent from the hotel, who was a conversational "guide" into the city without treating us like we were on a tour. We arrived at the hotel late, but Sr Ospino, my correspondent, was waiting. The building, which is hundreds of years old, presents a small, secure face to the world. Inside, though, it was much larger than I had imagined. Sr. Ospino whisked us to our charming and comfortable room, easily explaining fundamentals of keys, hot water. breakfast, etc.

The room's square footage was cozy by US chain hotel standards, but had a very high ceiling that made it feel spacious. It was wrapped with windows (that had interior shutters for darkness and privacy). Beautiful, distinctive paintings permanently executed on the walls explained a facet of the Muiscan culture; although we didn't go into any of the other hotel rooms, I understand that each features similar art describing items of cultural significance. It was pristine when we arrived, and was maintained beautifully during our week-long stay by a small, friendly, unobtrusive cleaning staff. The W.C. was small, but had a spacious shower with ample hot water -- and beautiful stone fixtures.

Have i mentioned that the place is beautiful?

The bed struck me as "european," and not the ultra-deep, ultra-fluffy bed that's in vogue in most American chains. It was firm, and a few inches lower than its US counterparts. A perfect resting spot to watch [just a few] minutes of flat-screen cable while recharging our batteries. The room also offered all modern conveniences -- hair dryer. secure safe, individual room temperature control with responsive heat, wifi, phone, etc. . . .

The hotel is in La Candelaria, the "old" city downtown. It is in a perfect location -- on the top of the "hill" of La Candelaria (actually, the foot of a mountain), overlooking the old city sweeping away from it, with the new city reaching out to the horizon in every direction. A spectacular view every time we left the hotel! Taxis have a straight shot to the hotel, though, and from many parts of the city they reach it from the Circunvalar, the "bypass" on the mountain above the city. Most of our cab rides back from all parts of the city were quick, avoiding getting bogged down in the narrow streets of La Candelaria. As every review notes, the hill should be taken into account -- the walk "home" was invigorating most days, but tough sledding on a day we'd overextended ourselves and were racing to get back to prepare for a night out. But ultimately we thought the hill was one of the hotel's "plusses" -- it was great to have such a beautiful view, and my old, fat, weary bones enjoyed walking back.

We had morning plans almost every day, so we didn't stop and settle in for the complementary breakfast. And there are some fantastic breakfast "joints" on every block in La Candelaria, so the idea of taking breakfast there every day didn't make sense to us. But each morning, we did stop for coffee, and were served a distinctive fruit and interesting conversation by the morning chef -- who I believe actually manages the property, but takes mornings to connect with his guests. I can't say strongly enough that he, and everyone working at the hotel, was gracious, kind, quick to smile, and attentive while still offering a respectful privacy. Top notch boutique service.

I unhesitatingly recommend the hotel to everyone -- even if you're more prone to seek the familiar (many acquaintances we know stayed at the Embassy Suites -- a distinctive Chicago/Houston/Denver/DC vibe transplanted to Chapinero), you will still feel comfortable at Hotel Muisca. It felt like the perfect combination of authenticity, old-city charm, and boutique luxury. And it somehow did it while charging much less than some of the cookie-cutter chains.

Bravo!

Room Tip: Room 7 had two walls of windows overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistermuleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#117 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#90 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#40 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#75 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#16 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#52 of 265 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muisca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muisca Hotel

Property: Muisca Hotel
Address: Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muisca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTEL The first Theme Hotel on the Bogota's historic center is built after a careful restoration of a sustainable house with more than 200 years of history. The simplicity and functionality of the New Granada architecture are expressed in a modest front door with balcony and wood crafts, tiles and clay tiles, brick stone walls and santafereños patios decorated with railings, columns, windows, arches, fountains flowers and gardens. In this sense, the Hotel Muisca synthesized in its content and designs the colonial architecture and the ancient America, as an homage to Muisca-Chibcha nation that is part of the five great ancient cultures (Maya, Inca, Aztec and Jungle). OUR ROOMS The hotel consists of three levels with thirteen (13) rooms in Simple, Twin, Double accommodation and Groups from 3 to 6 persons. Amenities in our rooms are: unlimited free local calls and national and international collect calls, LCD TV 32" with cable TV, Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, security box service, 24 hours room service to purchase products from the mini bar menu and conveniences menu, environmentally friendly heating in all rooms and common areas with fireplaces. SERVICES. Our Hotel has two patios, coffee, lounge, spa, terrace and permanent exhibition areas, all of which represents the Muisca territory, mythology and art. Moreover, the hotel has a great location in the traditional Candelaria District, an ancient holy place for the Muiscas ancestors which is now known as the epicenter of historic, economic, cultural and governmental center of the city, surrounded by parks, monuments, theaters, museums, churches, libraries, restaurants, bars and universities. Likewise, the Candelaria offers a unique atmosphere of tranquility and calm into the hectic life of a great city. ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN. Objects such as lamps, grills, pots, beds, tables, and others inspired by the Muisca art, have been uniquely designed to bring life to the hotel, and have been mixed with colonial elements carefully restored such as windows, balconies, doors, creating unique spaces who wish to generate interest in our visitors about our culture and history. Briefly, we offer a unique experience of wellness, culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muisca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing