We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in historical district of Bogotá "La Candelaria"”
Review of Muisca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muisca Hotel
Ranked #103 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was so nice that it is difficult to express with words. Nearly on the top of the hill, walking distance from the city centre, in the historical area, small house from outside is hiding a very beautiful, magnificently designed charming hotel. Very clean, cosy, elegant, comfortable and extremely quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpul, we could choose the place where we wish to have breakfast and what we wish to eat. We have been eating on the roof with beautiful view to the centrum of Bogota. In the neighbourhood on the way from the city centre there were several excellent restaurants and museas. It was a pity that the opera house which is also on the way up to the hill was not functioning. Perhaps next time. Only one remark from my side, we asked a quiet room with a window, we have received it, but the window could not be opened. The same was true for the bathroom. We spent there two nights, the hotel manager was willing to change our room but we did not insist.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 243 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is definitely the best value hotel i have stayed in, true there is climb home, but the quality of the design, the cleanliness and superb hospitality makes this a hotel you cant refuse. This is the first review i have written in having visited 49 countries and i felt compelled to write about the fine hosts Johanna and Jenny, who really care about their guests.

Room Tip: Try and stay on ground or first floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxMomentum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Muisca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos su comentario y nos enorgullece saber que nuestro trabajo se ve reflejado en una positiva percepción de nuestro hotel y en una buena experiencia de viaje para ustedes!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful two day stay in this charming, well designed and beautifully decorated. The room was small but perfectly adequate for our needs. The service is exemplary. I highly recommend this hotel though climbing up the hill was a little struggle!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianEvans12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Muisca on our last day in Bogota. The hotel has great atmosphere, beautiful rooms and public areas. And the staff is very helpful and really try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Upon arrival we had a bit of an argument with the taxi driver who tried to charge us more than we had agreed at the airport. The hotel staff helped to sort that out. The also gave us a good overview of nearby attractions, restaurants, where to go and areas to avoid. We had to wait a bit as we arrived before official check in time but they have the cutest small courtyard and you can order cold drinks from the hotel bar - waiting is rarely so nice. The rooms each have a cool design and are spotless. As it was 7 of us travelling, we had two large rooms. A nice bonus was actual hot water - as it was the end of our trip, we had learnt that in Colombia a hot shower is not so easy to come by. All in all - great experience for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Muisca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are very glad that you´ve enjoyed your staying, especially that you felt comfortable in our group rooms. It´s also important for our staff to know that they could help you to have a better experience in our Country. Hope you could come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this hotel on booking.com and it was not listed in any guide book so we were not sure of the place but the price was right for us and the location according to the map. When we arrived we were so pleased with the place. The room was big and all the details one likes in a hotel room was there, hooks, light switches, nice soap, heat, hot water(the shower was great), bed and linings were cozy comfortable. The decor was very unique with the use of the 200 year old brick how well the space was planned. The staff were fabulous, helpful, friendly. The bar was open at night and cozy. The breakfast is included and you can have it in a variety of places, the dining area(upstairs from the bar), in the courtyard, in your room, or our favorite on the top deck that over looks the city and mountain range in the back.
The only downfalls were no window in our room(but we did not spend too much time there), and the hill you had to walk up to the hotel. I gave the rating of average for restaurant because there were not many choices for food
Loved this hotel and would love to go back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gooutintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this great hotel in La Candelaria. Staff is friendly and helpful. The front door is locked at all times and room locks are very secure as well. The rooms and the public areas are kept spotless. The neighborhood is lively during the day, but does get pretty sparse by 7 at night. You'll find an OXXO, 7-11 type store, about 1 1/2 blocks down Calle 11 and a wonderful French Patisserie shop about 1/2 block on Calle 9, Also, check out the Visitor's Information Office at Carrera 8 and Calle 10.They are a great source of information and also give daily 2 hr walking tours of La Candelaria for free.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I are active senior travelers. We enjoyed the daily walks up and down the hill in Candelaria to the nearby tourism sites. However, the hotel will gladly call a metered taxi any time. Be sure to carry the hotel's business card for the return taxi ride. Carry ample cash in small denominations. There is a no-fee ATM machine in a hole-in-the-wall booth near the corner of Avenida 7 and Calle 19. The hotel books tours for an independent contractor. We took the tour to a coffee plantation, but found that the publicity misrepresented the tour: not conducted in English, did not include lunch, and took 8 hours instead of 5. We recommend that the hotel drop this tour operator. A better choice for tours is to book at the Visitor Information Office in Bolivar Plaza. Staff in the hotel were charming and helpful. The heat in the room was not always reliable, but an effort was made to keep us warm at night. We would gladly stay here again. Before visiting South America, it is very useful to take a short course in Spanish. Meals, transportation, and shopping will all be more efficient and enjoyable. Food tip: ask the staff to direct you to a market that sells "arequipe", a delicious caramel confection with a crunchy crystalized-sugar crust. Mmm, good!

Room Tip: During the busy season, couples may wish to request a room apart from the dormitory rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macgrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamiloGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Muisca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We really appreciate your review and will consider to provide a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#80 of 269 in Bogota
336 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#125 of 269 in Bogota
215 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#17 of 269 in Bogota
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#75 of 269 in Bogota
67 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#34 of 269 in Bogota
557 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#55 of 269 in Bogota
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muisca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muisca Hotel

Address: Calle 10 # 0 - 25 Este, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: $49 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muisca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTEL A carefully restored space with more than 200 years of history in the historical center of Bogota, which mixes the spirit of Muisca culture and colonial architecture. Inside you will discover fourteen unique rooms and different service areas that allow you to experience the warmth of Colombia. OUR ROOMS The hotel consists of three levels with fourteen (14) rooms in Simple, Twin, Double accommodation and Groups from 3 to 6 persons. Amenities in our rooms are: unlimited free local calls and national and international collect calls, LCD TV 32" with cable TV, Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, security box service, 24 hours room service to purchase products from the mini bar menu and conveniences menu, environmentally friendly heating in all rooms and common areas with fireplaces. SERVICES. Our Hotel has two patios, coffee, lounge, spa, terrace and permanent exhibition areas, all of which represents the Muisca territory, mythology and art. Moreover, the hotel has a great location in the traditional Candelaria District, an ancient holy place for the Muiscas ancestors which is now known as the epicenter of historic, economic, cultural and governmental center of the city, surrounded by parks, monuments, theaters, museums, churches, libraries, restaurants, bars and universities. Likewise, the Candelaria offers a unique atmosphere of tranquility and calm into the hectic life of a great city. ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN. Objects such as lamps, grills, pots, beds, tables, and others inspired by the Muisca art, have been uniquely designed to bring life to the hotel, and have been mixed with colonial elements carefully restored such as windows, balconies, doors, creating unique spaces who wish to generate interest in our visitors about our culture and history. Briefly, we offer a unique experience of wellness, culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Muisca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing