We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place in Colombia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Boutique Casa Violeta
Ranked #151 of 310 Bogota B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst place in Colombia”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were attracted by the great website of this place and the good reviews they have!
However we were highly disappointed.
Never have we experienced so unfriendly and rude staff.
The kitchen was so dirty that we could not use it. The water was freezingly cold, exactly the opposite of what they advertise. Same as the breakfast, since it depends on the mood of the staff if you get one or not!
We didn't feel welcomed at all and felt uncomfortable, also because there were "non-guests" linguering around in the common areas day and night!

There is no way we can recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ushuquito7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Unless there is absolutely no other accommodation available in bogota there is no reason anyone would choose to stay at Casa Violeta and here are some reasons why
1. It is dirty
2. The staff are rude, unhelpful and disinterested
3. The staff have there friends sleeping in the common areas and dorms which presents a security risk
4. Breakfast is not included on check out day or bank holiday
5. There is no coffee available at all
6. The bar is closed and dark and even on new years eve there was no beer available
7. The water is not hot ... It is cold
8. No 24 hour reception, you may wait outside ringing the door bell for up to 10 minutes

I hope this gives an overview of this highly rated but very under performing so called boutique hostel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillypfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Nice large rooms with a good location in La Candelaria. The only downside is the shared bathrooms and showers. Most hostels have showers that provide some privacy and an area where you can dress. Not so here. And the showers have electric hot water but the water does not get hot, not really warm, just not totally cold. Shared kitchen, breakfast included, free wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I loved Casa Violeta - It's been over a month since I've returned home but my feelings remain the same. I was super skeptical about staying in a "hostel" but this place is SO much more than that. The staff become your friends and your most valuable resource in Bogota. Alex was particularly helpful, gracious and amazing. Overall, the people in Colombia are the best and this place is a perfect example of that. The trip to the fruit market was great, as was the game of Tejo following it. I simply loved everything about this place - the only reason why I didn't rate it higher is that our bed wasn't great. BUT, I slept on it for 5 nights and would still return. I hope you check it out because you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We opted for the Violeta room because of the private bath - I preferred the privacy but the shared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My wife and I have just spent four nights at Casa Violeta and it's been absolutely brilliant. The hostel is very laid back but very stylish. There's art work hanging all over the walls and each room has a theme. It all felt very original to us. There's a small kitchen and very smart shared bathrooms, an X-Box in the living room and cable tv in the private rooms. The best thing about this place however is the staff. In the four days that we were there they provided a free dance class which was hilarious (and I hate to dance!) and a fantastic tour of a huge fruit market in Bogota. All we paid for was the fruit that we ate and the split cost of the taxi to take us there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junin2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here before heading north to Cartagena and Tayrona, and enjoyed it enough to book it again when we returned to Bogota. The guys and gal working the front desk are friendly and laid-back, and very helpful.

There were parties on the two Friday nights that we stayed here, one of which was still going on when we left for the airport the following morning! The music's loud, everyone's friendly, and it's a good mix of people. They are very careful about not allowing party guests through the gate upstairs to the dorm and private rooms, so it's noisy, but safe. During the week it's quiet.

We stayed in two different private double rooms: the Blue Room and the Brown Room. Both were 'carpeted' with AstroTurf-like material with minimal modern decor, and were clean and comfortable. It was winter when we were here, and the rooms had large windows overlooking a courtyard, so it was cold in the rooms at night.

The unisex bathroom is also minimalist and modern, and as noted by a previous reviewer, there are no locks on the frosted glass toilet stall doors. The four shower stalls have only heavy curtains. But it's very clean, and we didn't have any problems with privacy. The woman who cleans the rooms and bathrooms also does the breakfast cooking, and she works really hard. When you get tired of eating eggs and bread, there are plenty of options close by.

It's an easy walk downhill to the major sightseeing attractions, and the surrounding neighborhood is charming and full of students. I always felt safe walking around the area, day or night. The front hallway has a video camera and there are two doors controlled by buzzer before reaching the front desk. There was also a pretty heavy police presence all throughout La Candaleria.

As a side note, if you take the buseta from the airport and walk to the hostel, be aware that there are four Calle 12s: Calle 12, 12B, 12C, and 12D--and that Casa Violeta is on 12, closest to Calle 11. I got a little confused and had to ask for help in a nearby bakery. Taxi drivers usually find the place just fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MintLemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Casa Violeta on two occasions for a total of 5 nights. It´s a brand new hostel and is certainly on the right road to being a real hit.
It´s in a fantastic location in La Candelaria, is as safe as you could ask for in Bogota, and occupies a lovely building. The guys running the place are working full time on soft touches, one of the chaps is a very decent modern artist and is responsible for much of the funky decoration that gives the place a real twist and character of it´s own.
The rooms are enormous and very well kitted out. Brand new, firm beds with clean sheets and ´European-style´ duvet covers. Each private room is individually themed, some even have hammocks in them!
The dorm is also, arguably, the best I´ve seen in my days traveling. It´s spacious and the beds are well designed, large and comfortable.
The bathrooms, as is the norm here, are brand new and immaculately cleaned. As ever in Colombia, the showers are electric, but in this case are new and as safe as you could get. The water isn´t scorching, but they do the trick. Frosted glass doors on the toilets is an ´interesting concept´, especially given the absence of any locks!
There´s a well equipped kitchen for use, TVs in all the private room and a communal TV. Good Wi-Fi and a shared PC...along with an X-Box 360!
The only ´point for improvement´is the breakfast. It´s a simple affair - coffee or chocolate, eggs (of your choice) and ´sweet´bread. On the face of it, not too bad. In reality the eggs are a disaster and the bread was near inedible most of the mornings we were there. Don´t let this put you off Casa Violeta though, it´s a minor point and the breakfast may be deemed fine by others, eggs just aren´t particularly my favorite!
I wouldn´t hesitate to recommend Casa Violeta in Bogota. The accommodations are excellent, clean and comfortable and the staff are really friendly and will help you out with all your queries on Bogota.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAUER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Violeta Park Hostel
#83 of 276 in Bogota
30 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#30 of 267 in Bogota
884 reviews
Hotel Suites Real 97
#129 of 267 in Bogota
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Monica
#227 of 267 in Bogota
10 reviews
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#75 of 267 in Bogota
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Boutique Casa Violeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Boutique Casa Violeta

Property: Hostal Boutique Casa Violeta
Address: Carrera 12 27, Bogota 111511, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 310 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Boutique Casa Violeta 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to Casa Violeta Hostel, if you like art comfort and spend good times are about to experience one of your best trips. we have beautiful rooms with double accommodation and dorms to the best price in the better location of Bogota, Historic center "La Candelaria", an exclusive and funny place.Boutique Hostal Casa Violeta is a modern and original hostel, a traditional house newly renovated and conveniently located on the historic heart of Bogota.Casa Violeta Hostel, It's focused on quality, comfort, warmth and good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Boutique Casa Violeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing