We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst rip off in Bogota!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirador La Paloma

Mirador La Paloma
Ranked #1,930 of 2,251 Restaurants in Bogota
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurante mirador no cover musica en vivo bar turistico en bogota lo mejor para visitar en bogota
Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The worst rip off in Bogota!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The place is nice and has an excellent view of the city, especially at night.
The service is bad and they steal your money one way or the other. They don't tell you about hidden fees and extra cover charges [???] You leave with a bad taste and promise yourself not to come back. I went there with some friends and enjoyed a 'canelazo' with other drinks and some food. They doubled the prices that we saw on the menu, they stated that it was for cover charges etc...and BS. I still have the receipt and a friend of mine is going to report them to the consumer abuse office of Bogota.
Bogota is one of the best cities in South America, it is well worth the visit, but places like La Paloma in La Calera make it look bad.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gringotraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    11
    21
    210
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“total piece of $H!T”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

this place charges premium $ for the "view" that you can get for free at any other place just meters away. we ordered 4 drinks, and didn't drink 2 of them because they were so horrible. the total bill? 100+ USD. They charged us a "VIP" fee....usually that means you get some sort of service or product - nope! I came into this place thinking it was a rustic dive that would try to serve good food and drinks and pretend to be a reasonable price. Not even close. They don't even hide that they're ripping you off. STAY AWAY AT ALL COST!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Movimento-axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a scam they will steal your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

stopped here for some wine and a view. The drinks were seriously sub par on the verge of undrinkable. When we went to get our bill and the lady whom was so nice when she sat us, took off, and for good reason. Four drinks and 30 minutes, total bill $265,000 or US $125. $25,000 for each drink and a $40,000 cover charge! We fought with the lady whom seem to feel she was in the right and finally got the cover reduced but still ended up with a huge bill for crappy drinks and an ill feeling in our guts, like we had just been robbed. There are plenty of places to stop on the mirador, bring your own bottle and stop along the road, the view will just as nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank montree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beware rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I wish somebody had warning me about this place before, I had the worst experience going to this so called "restaurant" they charge you a cover of $40.000 colombian pesos, just to sit in this restaurant and have one of the most expensive and poor drinks we ever had, we couldn't even finish our drinks they were so awful. this is not a restaurant, this is a place they stetted up to rob you, stay away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea00700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY IF YOU DON'T WANT TO BE RIPPED OFF”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

There are a few eateries on the road up to La Calera that offer a nice view over the city, but, MIRADOR LA PALOMA IS SIMPLY THE WORST OF THEM ALL. In fact I would say it is the worst place in Bogotá I have been to so far.
First of all there is a $40,000 COP entrance charge on nights with live music which you are not made aware until you are presented with the final bill. This would have have had less of a sting if we were able to hear the live music over that played on the tannoy system in the area where we were sat.
Secondly, you should be warned that the waiter will tell you that there are no menus available and will list a few dishes for you to order. We ordered a starter portion of Calamari, the quality of which was in no way sufficient to justify it's extortionate price tag. Had we been brought the menu in the first instance we would have left straight away.
I warn you now, STAY AWAY from this restaurant - you may enjoy a nice view but you will be left with a bitter taste in your mouth when you receive your bill for food and service that is simply below par. My experience here ruined what had been a lovely day up until then. If I could give this restaurant less than one out of five I would.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirador La Paloma also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
La Calera, Cundinamarca Department
 
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Mirador La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing