We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Bogota
Ranked #28 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good place to stay in Bogotá.
About 20 minutes from downtown, this hotel is adequately placed.
The fitness room is not really from the hotel, but it is still good enough (though small).
Placed just beside a couple of restaurants, and really close to Usaquén, where there are also some great restaurants.
Room was good.
Breakfast was pretty complete.
Woud recommend going to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuequeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for your most recent review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We really appreciate your opinion about our Hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

I spent almost a week in Sonesta Hotel Bogota and enjoyed it. It is a fully functional, very clean and modern place. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms relatively uncommon but nice with a black floor, a huge mirror, a tropical rain shower, plenty of towels and numerous amenities. The ventilation fan is surprisingly noisy. Bed is king-size with good pillows. Ergonomic desk with led working light. Internet was functioning 100% and high speed: I could watch home TV and video-skype family without a single interruption. Breakfast is included, good and varied; staff is very attentive. Go early, i.e. before 7 - 7:30 am, if you wish to avoid the crowd. People at reception were pleasant, efficient and did their best to help guests. Obviously they spoke Spanish, but also good English and even French.

At the time of my visit, foreigners living abroad were exempted from IVA and other Columbian taxes provided the bill was made in the name of a person (i.e. not a company) with a full address abroad. This exemption amounted to 17% of the hotel bill. Check whether this exemption is still valid at the time of your visit.

Nearby Sonesta there is a large shopping center named "Multicentro" with numerous fashionable stores and several fast food outlets on the second floor. There is an Avianca office close to the Falabella shop. On the first floor, above entrance #2, you will find a "casa de cambio". There are two others on the right side of Carrera 15 when heading toward the city center, close to the crossing with Calle 122. A bit further away to the North, along Calle 127, there is a pleasant park with a beautiful lawn named "Parque el Country" where you can jog away from the exhaust pipes of the numerous honking and roaring buses and trucks. Or read quietly a book and enjoy the sun (don't forget sun cream: Bogota is at 2'600 meters of altitude!). No pet allowed. If you have a kid with you, that is the place to go as there is a sizable playing ground for children. Everywhere, there are security guards and I felt safe in the surroundings of the hotel.

I guess Sonesta is ideal for making business with firms located in the Northern part of Bogota. For tourists, the location of Sonesta is its only "minus": being far away from the historical center, driving to the Candelaria district took at least 45 minutes due to the hectic traffic conditions prevailing in Bogota. Even taking an hour was nothing special. Sonesta has a series of safe drivers at hand. I used the friendly services of Carlos Chiquiza who charged around US$ 12.50 per hour (4 hours for 50 US$). He is nice, honest and reliable but speaks no English.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claude-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Mr. Claude George,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com; our future guest will appreciate the firsthand experience that you described for us with amazing detail. One of our major motivations as hospitality professionals is the satisfaction of our guests. To hear that we have created a memorable experience for you it’s of great encouragement for us; to continue providing our guests an excellent service. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best choice you can make! Went there the first time for business and Sonesta is conveniently located in La Carolina/Unicentro which is quite a safe neighborhood and close to everything you need.
The rooms are modern, spacious and the staff goes above and beyond to make your stay special.
Came back a couple more times with family and friends and it never disappoints!
Having lived in Bogota for many years, it feels good to be "back home" in such a nice hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it is fantastic to know that you are a frequent guest of our hotel; thank you for sharing your opinion obout our Hotel on tripadvisor.com. We really appreciate your comments about our hotel and most important; our associates that make every effort possible to delight our guest. Once again thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Awesome hotel. Clean, close to everything, great service. Free breakfast was delicious. We stayed for 2 nights on our way back to the US. Hotel is just across from Unicentro which was convenient. Used the hotel's taxi service which was more expensive, but we felt safer and the vehicle was much better than those little yellow death traps off the street. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for the review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel had everything I needed for a very productive business trip and to enjoy a bit of Bogota. The room was large and comfortable room with modern amenities. Extremely clean, functional modern bathroom, large towels and spacious powerful shower. It was my first time in Bogota so I really don't know how it compares to other similarly priced hotels but I can say it felt like a value to me for a first rate hotel. The breakfast was included in my rate and it was more than adequate with fresh fruit, breads and omelet station. Adding to that, the internet was free. My colleague told me he stayed at the Hilton once at a better price but once he added in a resort fee, breakfast and internet charges, he ended up paying more. Seems to me one could hardly do better

Room Tip: Get to breakfast before 8 if you can. It can get quite busy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ketel_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for your most recent review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We really appreciate your opinion about our service. Our colleagues at the restaurant and kitchen are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City.

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is farther north than most tourists go. However we stayed here for a night before going north to Villa de Leyva. The hotel is modern and new with rooms/bathroom that you expect in a high end hotel. The Unicentre mall is next door but just a 10 min walk or taxi is another mall Hacienda Santa Barbara with a great restaurant & shopping area (Usaquen) just north of it. This area is worth the trip to walk around and grab dinner vs going to Unicentre. The hotel staff was friendly, wi-fi included, no issues with them removing the IVA tax and breakfast (included) is the best in town. Rates vary somewhat but we got a special for around $100/night.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ATL-Travel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for your wonderfull comments of our hotel and our beautiful city on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved Bogota, but after nearly a month of taking it easy and staying in low-key places I really treated myself with this Hotel stay. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful at the front desk. Cleanly, as well, which is always desired.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Chris,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for the remarkable review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Morrison 114 Hotel
#3 of 268 in Bogota
750 reviews
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#22 of 268 in Bogota
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Estelar La Fontana
#41 of 268 in Bogota
726 reviews
Atton Bogota 93
#12 of 268 in Bogota
1,529 reviews
GHL Hotel Capital
#20 of 268 in Bogota
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Bogota

Address: Carrera 15A # 125-26, Bogota 110111, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: $63 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Bogota 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SONESTA BOGOTA HOTEL The Sonesta Bogota Hotel opens the doors to a modern and exclusive hotel in the north of Bogota opposite the Unicentro Shopping Mall and with a cutting edge design and sophisticated personalized services. Accommodation in the capital of Colombia designed for business travelers and visitors seeking a comfortable hotel for their vacations and getaway breaks to Bogota. Book a great place to rest with the maximum guarantees in this Bogota hotel with free Wi-Fi, restaurant, meeting rooms, car park... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing