We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The worst hotel experience-Ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Augusta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Augusta
Ranked #70 of 261 Hotels in Bogota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel experience-Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have traveled to over 50 countries and this was by far my worst hotel experience! Staff made a commitment for the hotel van to pick us up at our rental car return facility, and then dropped the ball and refused to pick us up at night, in a very dangerous city. After we made our way back to the hotel, we were treated to a shower with no warm water, a toilet that ran all night, and a TV in the room that came on by itself all night long. The final icing on the proverbial cake was when the desk clerk at 5AM in the morning had to inspect our room to see if we had stolen anything. I tried personally explaining my dissatisfaction with my experience to the reception desk at the hotel and they handed me a survey and said to voice my opinions through the survey-"that they were too busy to listen to guests complaints in person."
I would encourage everyone to avoid this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce_knoepfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Augusta_Bogota, General Manager at Hotel Augusta, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It's satisfying for us to have customers like you . Therefore, we appreciate the time you spent on leave your comments in our satisfaction survey, be sure we're going to include your disagreements in continuous Hotel Augusta improvement actions.

We hope for your future visit, we can assist you with the care and professionalism that identifies our staff and you could fully enjoy our facilities.

Likewise, we apologize for the inconvenience presented during you stay in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing us as your rest choice in Bogotá.

Have a good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    118
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
39
85
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Small and dark rooms without aircondition, dirty carpet, very small bathroom - not able to open the door fully, spa and gym in remodelation so we weren't able to use it, but payed the full price, could hear our room neighbours television and either if he was using the toilet or snorring during night,
in the morning we had to wait for being seated because all tables were occupied, breakfast buffet is ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guest486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Augusta_Bogota, General Manager at Hotel Augusta, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It's satisfying for us to have customers like you . Therefore, we appreciate the time you spent on leave your comments in our satisfaction survey, be sure we're going to include your disagreements in continuous Hotel Augusta improvement actions.

We hope for your future visit, we can assist you with the care and professionalism that identifies our staff and you could fully enjoy our facilities.

Likewise, we apologize for the inconvenience presented during you stay in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing us as your rest choice in Bogotá.

Have a good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival at the Hotel Augusta. The staff were very friendly and insisted on helping us with our bags out of the taxi into the reception area.

The hotel decor overall is modern and well maintained. We found our room very comfortable & clean the only downside was that it was a little small but I think that is to be expected.

I would stay here again if I return to Bogota.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozzer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

For seeing the Gold Museum and other museums within walking distance, the Hotel Augusta was good. The staff was friendly and the breakfast good with eggs to order and a fruit and pasty buffet. Every morning there we several hot items. The beds were hard, the rooms dark and the towels inadequate. Every day (4) we had to request more towels, more toilet tissue, more soap. The shower was uneven and never drained. The bathroom was large, as was the shower, but not very attractive. There was no place to put anything in the bathroom. It was cold while we were there so they sent us a space heater. The beds were covered with plastic sheets. I ripped that off the first night since it was very uncomfortable. I felt like I was in the Sleep Cheap with a sheet like this on the bed. We were advised not to go out at night unles we took a cab. The hotel is in Candalalaria, which is not the safest area at night. The location was fine for us for what we wanted to do. I would not stay in this area on my next visit, but it was great for visiting museums and tourist attractions. I'd give the hotel a solid average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour group and, as with all hotels where we stayed in Colombia, the room sizes varied from tiny (one way passing with mimimal space for luggage), to nice sized suites--all on the same floor and next to one another. So, be sure to ask for a larger room if you’re not satisfied with the one assigned. (Since I was on a tour I don’t know if the cost of the rooms vary with size, so be sure to ask.) They give free drink coupons for the first night, which is a nice touch. The breakfasts were OK, with eggs cooked to order. The location is good if you want to be in the Candelaria area (old Bogota) near the Gold Museum and the Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: If you get assigned a small room, ask for a larger one, after checking price differential if any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I give an 8 for this hotel! Thanks to the porter who gave a free adapter for the voltage so i could load my phone and camera. I will definately come back if i return to bogota. Good service! Also a good location.in the center of la candelaria which is bogota's niciest neigboorhood.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theladyofrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, it is a very fair and very helpful choise as it in walking distance to all the museums in the city center. Rooms are clean, big enough and breakfast is ok.At night if you want to go to zana rosa or zona t crab a taxi (30 minutes 15000)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DimitrisKouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#95 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#38 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Hotel Regina
#101 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#83 of 261 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#10 of 261 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#46 of 261 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augusta

Property: Hotel Augusta
Address: Avenida Jimenez No 4 - 77, Bogota 11001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel BD Nueva Granada)
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 261 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augusta Hotel is a modern and alternative architectural space, a place with its own life and letting you live unique moments marked by an atmosphere of good taste and tranquility. Each of the spaces within the hotel is specially designed for you to experience different sensations, guaranteeing comfort and well being throughout their stay. We are located in the heart of Bogota in the historic and tourist downtown. "La Candelaria" offers visitors varied experiences, from the rich cultural heritage in a form innovative and different. A few steps away are the most charming and touristic sites of the capital like "la Candelaria", "el Chorro de Quevedo", Monserrate Hill, Gold Museum, "Quinta de Bolivar", "Plaza Bolivar", the Church of San Francisco, the Cathedral, among others, being an excellent choice for business people, tourists and organizations in general. It is just 25 minutes from El Dorado International Airport, 30 minutes from the bus terminal and 10 minutes from the train station of the Savannah. The Augusta hotel has 60 comfortable rooms, in those one we use elements that contribute to true rest, relaxation, satisfaction, comfort and convenience to our guests. Restaurant with international food and snacks, meeting rooms like Dorado, Indigo and Escarlata well disposed with technical equipment in order to offer the best alternative for conducting business meetings, seminars, conferences and other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing