We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keeping up appearences - horrible”
Review of Hotel Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Augusta
Ranked #80 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Small and dark rooms without aircondition, dirty carpet, very small bathroom - not able to open the door fully, spa and gym in remodelation so we weren't able to use it, but payed the full price, could hear our room neighbours television and either if he was using the toilet or snorring during night,
in the morning we had to wait for being seated because all tables were occupied, breakfast buffet is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guest486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Augusta_Bogota, General Manager at Hotel Augusta, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

It's satisfying for us to have customers like you . Therefore, we appreciate the time you spent on leave your comments in our satisfaction survey, be sure we're going to include your disagreements in continuous Hotel Augusta improvement actions.

We hope for your future visit, we can assist you with the care and professionalism that identifies our staff and you could fully enjoy our facilities.

Likewise, we apologize for the inconvenience presented during you stay in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing us as your rest choice in Bogotá.

Have a good Day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival at the Hotel Augusta. The staff were very friendly and insisted on helping us with our bags out of the taxi into the reception area.

The hotel decor overall is modern and well maintained. We found our room very comfortable & clean the only downside was that it was a little small but I think that is to be expected.

I would stay here again if I return to Bogota.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozzer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

For seeing the Gold Museum and other museums within walking distance, the Hotel Augusta was good. The staff was friendly and the breakfast good with eggs to order and a fruit and pasty buffet. Every morning there we several hot items. The beds were hard, the rooms dark and the towels inadequate. Every day (4) we had to request more towels, more toilet tissue, more soap. The shower was uneven and never drained. The bathroom was large, as was the shower, but not very attractive. There was no place to put anything in the bathroom. It was cold while we were there so they sent us a space heater. The beds were covered with plastic sheets. I ripped that off the first night since it was very uncomfortable. I felt like I was in the Sleep Cheap with a sheet like this on the bed. We were advised not to go out at night unles we took a cab. The hotel is in Candalalaria, which is not the safest area at night. The location was fine for us for what we wanted to do. I would not stay in this area on my next visit, but it was great for visiting museums and tourist attractions. I'd give the hotel a solid average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour group and, as with all hotels where we stayed in Colombia, the room sizes varied from tiny (one way passing with mimimal space for luggage), to nice sized suites--all on the same floor and next to one another. So, be sure to ask for a larger room if you’re not satisfied with the one assigned. (Since I was on a tour I don’t know if the cost of the rooms vary with size, so be sure to ask.) They give free drink coupons for the first night, which is a nice touch. The breakfasts were OK, with eggs cooked to order. The location is good if you want to be in the Candelaria area (old Bogota) near the Gold Museum and the Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: If you get assigned a small room, ask for a larger one, after checking price differential if any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I give an 8 for this hotel! Thanks to the porter who gave a free adapter for the voltage so i could load my phone and camera. I will definately come back if i return to bogota. Good service! Also a good location.in the center of la candelaria which is bogota's niciest neigboorhood.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theladyofrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, it is a very fair and very helpful choise as it in walking distance to all the museums in the city center. Rooms are clean, big enough and breakfast is ok.At night if you want to go to zana rosa or zona t crab a taxi (30 minutes 15000)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DimitrisKouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for five nights, and I really enjoyed my stay. Overall, the staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. There was one man at the front desk who was very rude, but he was an exception.

My room was always clean, it was a very nice size and the WIFI worked great. I had no complaints about the temperature of the room, and the water was always hot when I needed it.

The area isn't the best, but it is pretty centrally located around some cool shops, plazas and museums (Museo del Oro is just a few blocks away). There's a little shoe store right around the corner that sells handmade leather shoes for a great deal! I think I went there three or more times during my stay. There's plenty of places to eat close by, and the hotel has a decent restaurant. The hotel restaurant doesn't serve typical Colombian food, but they had pretty good Italian food.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#81 of 269 in Bogota
171 reviews
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#104 of 269 in Bogota
243 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#35 of 269 in Bogota
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#76 of 269 in Bogota
66 reviews
Hotel Regina
#122 of 269 in Bogota
149 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#18 of 269 in Bogota
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augusta

Address: Avenida Jimenez No 4 - 77, Bogota 11001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel BD Nueva Granada)
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: $54 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augusta Hotel is a modern and alternative architectural space, a place with its own life and letting you live unique moments marked by an atmosphere of good taste and tranquility. Each of the spaces within the hotel is specially designed for you to experience different sensations, guaranteeing comfort and well being throughout their stay. We are located in the heart of Bogota in the historic and tourist downtown. "La Candelaria" offers visitors varied experiences, from the rich cultural heritage in a form innovative and different. A few steps away are the most charming and touristic sites of the capital like "la Candelaria", "el Chorro de Quevedo", Monserrate Hill, Gold Museum, "Quinta de Bolivar", "Plaza Bolivar", the Church of San Francisco, the Cathedral, among others, being an excellent choice for business people, tourists and organizations in general. It is just 25 minutes from El Dorado International Airport, 30 minutes from the bus terminal and 10 minutes from the train station of the Savannah. The Augusta hotel has 60 comfortable rooms, in those one we use elements that contribute to true rest, relaxation, satisfaction, comfort and convenience to our guests. Restaurant with international food and snacks, meeting rooms like Dorado, Indigo and Escarlata well disposed with technical equipment in order to offer the best alternative for conducting business meetings, seminars, conferences and other. It also offers various plans to get to know the area, including the BOGOTA SEGWAY TOUR, which includes a tour of the Environmental Axis, Journalists Park, Iglesia de las Aguas, Policarpa Salavarrieta Monument, San Francisco River, Rosario Park and Plaza Of Bolivar, reservation is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing