We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice place to stay. quiet neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Book Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Book Hotel
Ranked #66 of 262 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very nice place to stay. quiet neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

nice place to stay quiet neighborhood. great service. close to cra septima.(main street )

nice beds

comfy.

one down side was carpet needs to be updated. stains everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmountcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    58
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
71
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pretty hotel with good location. I don't speak Spanish and they spoke some English. Rooms were modern and clean. I would definitely stay here again. Beware that here is no heat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed for three nights at this hotel. I tried it because it had great reviews. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms were cozy and the bathroom was nice. The location is relatively safe as well. However, I also disagree with them. First, the guys in charged of the front desk looked like they were new. They were inefficient and not very professional. Since I speak Spanish, I was addressed using "Tú", which I find extremely annoying (they did not know me, and yet they were talking to me as if we were pals). Second, there are no activities or variety of restaurants within walking distance. If you want to get a break of the Italian restaurant next door you have to take a taxi, because even though the area is safe, I would not walked at night far beyond the 7th Ave. Third, the breakfast was good, but it took them a while to get their act together. It took me more than 50 minutes to finish my breakfast. It seems that there is only one cook and the guy at the reception is the waiter as well.

In summary, I think that this hotel is still a good option, but they need to be more efficient and professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nomada40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed 6 nights
Great service, nice clean room
Just great

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stasnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We made a reservation, but when we arrived, they had no space for us. They tried to help us find another option (at Midnight), but the only options they gave us were twice the price we had already paid with our credit card to them. In the end, we just wanted to leave and find another place, but they couldn't even call us a taxi to leave. In the moment when they realized we couldn't stay there with them and we didn't want one of their choices of hotels, they pretty much kicked us out. As owner of a travel agency, I would never recommend the hotel because of the service we received by hotel staff, and certainly not for my clients looking for good service.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank Scottytico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My friend and I stayed here 5 nights while on business. The staff are so nice and pleasant and many went out of their way to show us the hospitality and the true culture of Colombia. The area is quaint, quiet and very colonial. Rooms were clean and neat and very modern. Wireless internet and use of computer made this even move like home away from home. Angelo, Belqui, Alejandro, Carlos the van driver, Nelvis, and Gladiz were great. If and when I come back to Bogota, I will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our stay at Hotel Boutique Alma was very nice, but not the best place that we stayed during our trip. The Hotel is beautiful and very modern with a lot of art on the walls. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. Everything was clean and comfortable. The location is in a fairly good place with easy access to the bus system and many restaurants close by. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and their dining area well decorated. The staff are very nice, but not as helpful as we would have liked. They tried to overcharge us during checkout and were not willing to work with us around our travel schedule. Overall, this hotel is very nice and has a very upscale feel to it. Our personal preference is to stay in a place that has a more traditional feel but can see how many people would enjoy their stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love to travel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#59 of 262 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#58 of 262 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#10 of 262 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Book Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Book Hotel

Property: The Book Hotel
Address: Carrera 5 # 57-79 | Chapinero Alto, Bogota 11001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Boutique Alma)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 262 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Book Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BOOK HOTEL, a different concept in the hotel sector that is born in an old Tudor style house, located in the area of Chapinero Alto in Bogota City. Perfect combination of the best European tradition and Colombian unmistakable flavor. The Book Hotel is also bookstore, coffe shop and restaurant bistrot with interesting dishes inspired by the best of the Colombian and Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Book Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing