We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location. Rooms were not that great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Ranked #13 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Bellavista hostel is located next to a lovely square. Unfortunately when we were there, there was a concert that went until 2AM and keep me up.

The hostel itself could be described as quirky. Lots of stained glass and rooms that seemingly leed of to no where. The room we had was a 6 mixed bedroom. The bunks were super sketchy and threatened the collaspe on the person below, there were big windows that let the light in and our door didn't close.

There was a cool social area that had a glass roof that was awesome to read in. The computer facilities consisted of a netbook that had to be shared with everybody (although there was wifi).

Breakfast was minimal and there were no lockers in the rooms. There were lockable cubbies in the main room.

The staff is fantastic, they were always super cheerful. One of them even tried to help me set up the Claro sim card on my phone. It didn't work.. But he tried.

Overall, the hostel was okay and cheap. If you're travelling on a shoe string then this place might be for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregToDiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 258 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the private double-bedroom with private bathroom for 3 sleepless nights. The location of this hostel is either amazing or terrible depending on whether or not you want to sleep or party. It is right in the heart of La Candelaria, within walking distance to plazas, the transmilenio bus system, amazing street food, bars, museums, hiking mountains on the edge of town, and restaurants. It is located on the corner of an active plaza and active alley, so there is literally non stop noise outside the entire night. Even with earplugs I didn't sleep, but I was reluctant to leave this hostel because the staff is friendly and it was in a great spot for us to walk to almost everything. I didn't think the bathroom was dirty, but this is a popular place and everything is very thoroughly used. The water pressure is low.

I really enjoyed my stay here, but I'm not sure I would be back. The staff was friendly and respected our privacy, spoke both English and Spanish, and no one went into our room while we were gone, but unfortunately, the noise from outside becomes unbearable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErmMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in a double room for 70 000 pesos per night. The room was very big (the room is called Salento room) and a nice private bathroom. The common kitchen was very nice and clean, also very well equipped. The people running the hostel is very kind and helpful(speaks English) . We even got to use the kitchen after we had checked out and was waiting for our flight. That was awesome! The location is close to a couple of nice museums and the area is nice to walk in. We highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillihappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent location on a pedestrian street. This would be a great place to stay if there was some form of heating and insulation (it's chilly inside!), sound proofing (it's noisy outside), and renovations to its private room bathroom (e.g. towel rack, toilet paper holder, new paint). Breakfast is scarce. The hostel owners are welcoming and wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Boys at the reception were really very polite. Breakfast and coffee are served only around 8.30 and quite scarce. The 2nd night was in a private room but sheets were not changed after the previous hosts staying.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed there for just one night in a private double ensuite room. It was good option.

Room: very basic, very big, I think it could have five beds in there. No heater (it could be a problem in Bogota, depending on when you go), no minibar.

Bathroom: small but good enough. Soap (liquid, and a good one!) is provided, no hygienic shower, hot water, curtain. Towels are not provided, you can rent one for 1.000 COP.

Location: in a very small pedestrian street right next to Plaza Chorro de Quevedo. Many bars in the street -- it may be noisier on weekends. Our room faced the street so we could hear anyone walking or talking outside. We were so tired that we easily slept, though.

Staff: very kind

Value: very good value for a private double ensuite.

Cleaniness: good enough.

Cons: breakfast was scheduled to start at 8am but did not until past 8:30am.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mconstantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Casa BellaVista is in a great location in the historic downtown of Bogota, conveniently close to the best attractions, museums, and sites. All within walking distance, there are delcious restaurants, cafes, bars, and even clubs to get your groove on. If you care to venture out to other parts of Bogota, Casa BellaVista is five minutes from easy bus transportation, el transmilenio. The staff is chill and full of good advice for guests, and always knows a good place to go out any day of the week. Si viene a Bogoa, quedate en la Casa BellaVista!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizguinessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 299 in Bogota
646 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#5 of 299 in Bogota
210 reviews
La Candelaria
Kozii hostel D.C
Kozii hostel D.C
#6 of 299 in Bogota
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cranky Croc Hostel
#7 of 299 in Bogota
306 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Iku Hostel Backpackers Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bellavista Hostel

Address: Carrera 2 #12B-31, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 299 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: $13 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Bellavista Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bellavista Hostel is located in a renovated colonial house right off the Plaza del Chorro de Quevedo—one of the oldest and most historical sectors in the heart of the La Candelaria neighborhood. We offer medium-sized and small dormitory-style rooms with private or shared bathrooms, as well as private rooms. All our beds have new mattresses and lots of blankets to keep away the Bogota cold. Breakfast is included with your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bellavista Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing