We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in La Candelaria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Ranked #12 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in La Candelaria”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Casa BellaVista is in a great location in the historic downtown of Bogota, conveniently close to the best attractions, museums, and sites. All within walking distance, there are delcious restaurants, cafes, bars, and even clubs to get your groove on. If you care to venture out to other parts of Bogota, Casa BellaVista is five minutes from easy bus transportation, el transmilenio. The staff is chill and full of good advice for guests, and always knows a good place to go out any day of the week. Si viene a Bogoa, quedate en la Casa BellaVista!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizguinessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    72
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
55
102
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

As hostels go, some are layed back affairs with chill guests and staff and others cater to a different crowd (like baptist missionaries and the like)... thankfully, this is one of the former, a chill spot to drop your backpack and explore the Candelaria district of Bogota. Surrounded by badegas, restaurants, bars and pulparias, you will never be lonely here and the architectural value of the old city is off the hook. Staff is totally accomodating, place is clean, beds comfortable and unlimited coffee, what more can you ask for??? LOL Lots to do and see within walking distance, just a great spot that I know I will return to.

Room Tip: Bring warm fleece to sleep in, Bogota's cold and most places are un-heated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is in a seriously handy location for a short stay in Bogota...even if the new street numbering system is a bit confusing to navigate to the first time! There are lots of bars and restaurants nearby and loads if free museums and main sites all within walking distance. We booked a private double with ensuite and got an enormous split level room with a lounge area and the bed upstairs. There was a simple breakfast of bread and jam offered and free coffee all day. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My friend and I must be aging out of youth hostels now that we're in our early 30s, because our taxi driver from the airport kept trying to talk us out of staying here and asked a police officer to escort him from the taxi to the door. Casa Bellavista is in a little plazoleta that gets packed with college students on weekend nights, which must have been the cause for his concern - really, we felt very safe in the area. Our main problem was the noise! We had a lovely double room on the outside wall of the hostel with our own bathroom, lounge area and a funny spiral staircase up to the sleeping loft. It was charming but so, so loud on weekend nights - I slept with earplugs and still had trouble. If you're planning to stay out until 2 or 3 a.m. yourself or you're only planning to stay during the week, this is a fine choice. The staff are really friendly and helpful, breakfast is good and there are some nice sunny common areas. Just beware of the weekend cacophony...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place was in a great location where we could walk to all the sights. Beautiful rooms with a great common area and little kitchen, the only problem we had was staff played loud music till 1 in the morning and there was no one else there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyhbne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Well, there are few things that make me happy when I travel. Casa Bellavista had them all. Best possible location, very friendly staff, clean accomodations, easy to meet people. Very good value for the money. Yes, it can get noisy from the street, but that's beacuse you are right in the center where everything is happening. Yes, some parts of the hostel can be remodeled, but common you are paying a fraction of what you would pay otherwise.
Overall, it's a great option if you are on a budget and looking for a central place where it's easy to meet people.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Everything was super clean, free internet, and staff was probably one of the best that I encountered in all of Colombia!

The hostel is a little noisy, just because sounds seems to travel really well throughout it, but that is hostel life hey!

Breakfast is included as well and it's in a pretty neat part of town, close to anything you could need!!

Downfall, they charge you A LOT (50,000) for airport pick-up or when they call you a taxi (regular 22,000)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#22 of 267 in Bogota
756 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 276 in Bogota
623 reviews
The Cranky Croc Hostel
#7 of 276 in Bogota
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Iku Hostel Backpackers Bogota
12:12 Hostels
#11 of 276 in Bogota
187 reviews
La Candelaria
SC House
SC House
#29 of 276 in Bogota
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bellavista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bellavista Hostel

Property: Casa Bellavista Hostel
Address: Carrera 2 #12B-31, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Bellavista Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bellavista Hostel is located in a renovated colonial house right off the Plaza del Chorro de Quevedo—one of the oldest and most historical sectors in the heart of the La Candelaria neighborhood. We offer medium-sized and small dormitory-style rooms with private or shared bathrooms, as well as private rooms. All our beds have new mattresses and lots of blankets to keep away the Bogota cold. Breakfast is included with your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Bellavista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bellavista Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing