We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing comfort food!!!”

La Despensa de Rafael
Ranked #154 of 2,289 Restaurants in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing comfort food!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food in this place is absolutely delicious. We went with a party of about 10 people, so we ordered many different dishes. The lamb burger is among the best burgers I have ever had!!! They also serve a great pisco sour. It's definitely pricey, but well worth the expenditure. A hot spot for locals!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    66
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, delicious food!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had heard several recommendations for this restaurant and finally decided to try it out as a date night. It was easy to get a reservation, but that may have been because it was mid-week. The atmosphere is wonderful: quaint, charming, and relaxed. We asked to sit by the fireplace, which was lovely. The food was excellent. We had a ceviche appetizer; the thai fish; and the maracuya cheesecake, which is quite possibly the best dessert we have had in Bogota. They also offer a good and extensive wine selection. We especially enjoyed our experience because the service was so good... we had several people check on us throughout the evening and they made helpful recommendations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great octopus!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Here we ate a great grilled octopus which we still talk about. The ambience is casual, kind of being at a a friends place. It was full when we went and there was some misunderstanding with our reservations and they looked for a prompt solution so we could stay. The service was excellent. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccs_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, excellent environment”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Literally just came back from La Despensa de Rafael tonight. Food was great, service was good (not great) and the environment was excellent.

The restaurant is a converted brick house that as a very cozy feel, modern yet summer home like appearance. It is located on Calle 70a between Carrera 9 & 10. We sat outside which is mostly covered and had heat lamps.

We got there at 7pm with no reservations. Fortunate for us, the place really doesn't open until 7:30 so we were seated and had some wine & bread. The hostess did not know any English, she found another waitress but she did not now English, zero. They found the go-to waiter and hs English was workable. There was 1 English menu out of 20. I just need to remind myself on this trip that we are in Latin America.

We ordered the seafood cerviche and the octopus apetitizers. I had seen great reviews for the octopus and it is true. I could eat that all day long. The cerviche was very good as well.
For our main dishes, I ordered the pasta pistonie (spelling?) which had arge shrimps and some seafood. It was a touch salty for me; lunch wa salty too so it could be me. Another employee had the fish of the day another had the salmon. They both agreed that it was excellent.

We had a little of Argentine wine to start then some Club de Colombia Rojas & Negra beer which was good and clean. The wine list is sufficient with most of the wines from Latin America. I did not get around to trying the pisco sour but will later this week or next.

The service was good, not great. It did take awhile to get some dishes and drinks even when it wasn't crowded yet. 2 hours is just too long for me. Value-wise, don't be fooled by the $8-22 price tag in TripAdvisor. Double that amount to get the true cost. On the company's dime, I didn't mind.

I would and will definitely be back to eat at La Despensa de Rafael.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GDVinHTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
474 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

the food was as good as can be..... the atmosphere was nice and relaxed, the waiter was super nice although he forgot to put in the order for our main dishes..... it didnt matter! the food came out really quick, and it was simply delicious! definately worth going back over and over and over again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Despensa de Rafael also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to La Despensa de Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing