We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Bogota” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Andes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Andes Hostel
Ranked #46 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Bogota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in a twin room here and it was great. Pleanty of space and really clean and comfy. The staff were friendly and the location, right beside all the shopping centres and bars in Zona Rosa, is great as it is quiet for sleeping but the action is close by if you want to go out. It felt like a really safe neighbourhood too. A big plus was the super fast wifi, great for travellers on the go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
34
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed there with my dad for a week and the staff is sooo friendly and nice! The hostel is so cozy and clean and it is really Close to Zona Rosa I then went again by myself and since I am still a teenager the owner of the place was always making sure I was ok and they always provided me with great service. Great value! Great Staff! really recommend it! :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmenzs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Excelent location. Amazing nightlife all around.
Very clean. A bit pricier than other hostels but it's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndresSRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I didn't enjoy my stay at this hostel at all. We paid slightly extra for a deluxe double and when we got there it was the smallest room I have ever seen, basically just a bed. We noticed one of the rooms next to us was larger and free so asked if we could move there and they said no it is taken in an unfriendly manor which we accepted but then no one ever took this room. Also the room next door had an adjoining window so you could see into the next room if you had wanted and when they got up in the middle of the night and switched their light on it woke me up as light poured in.

They advertise a common area but the whole time we were there the TV was just being watched by the staff/owners with no room for anyone else. Also there is only one shared bathroom which is not kept very clean at all, if several guests are to share one small bathroom then it is important it is regularly cleaned. This didn't seem to happen. The only thing I would say about this hostel is that if you want to explore the North then this is a good location as it is right by the Zona Rosa which has lots of malls and bars/restaurants. I would not recommend this Hostel overall though. I stayed in Jan 2011.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERALDO O, Gerente at Los Andes Hostel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
He was not staying at the hostel. This comment is false
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having read a few of the previous reviews of this place, I have to say we had a completely different experience! We booked 2 nights with hostelworld, only to realise we would need a 3rd night a few days later - I contacted the hostel directly, and they arranged this for us no problem.

Apon arriving to the hostel, yes they still had the confirmation of the extra night, which I was nervous about them not having - excellent customer service!

Our private room was really spacious, and included towels, 2 free bottles of water, 2 free beers, extra quilts, hot, hot water - and home made breakfasts, yummy!

The place is quiet, it's not a party hostel, but this suited us fine. If you want to party, you can head out to the nearby zona rosa - we felt very safe in this area, and are very glad we stayed there.

The only thing I'd say is that the staff we met spoke very little English, no problem for us but you may want to brush up on your Spanish a little if you're concerned!

Room Tip: We were in the Argentina room which was huge and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cawte21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendoza, argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We selected the Los Andes due to many good reviews on the place. We decided to book the place for 4 nights and end up stayed there for only one night. it didn't provide towel, we had to pay an extra for those which cost us 6000 per night. My friend had to beg for a piece of soap to take a shower. The owner said no we don't provide soap, my friend said look we had no soap and we had to take a shower, please give us a soap, the owner said here is a piece of soap and this is the last time I would give it to you. It was a small piece of a hotel soap. Breakfast was very tidy, an egg was cold, tidy piece of cheese, butter and with half cup coffee. The owner was not willing to help or being any assistant. We felt like, we had to beg for things. It is too expensive for the poor service. We had a room which was a former garage. This hostel has wifi service however, there is no computer to use for free. guest has to pay the computer by the hour if needed. There is a construction working on the Road, digging and pulling. It made a lot noise. It started early in the morning at 7am and continue until 8pm. We complained about the noise and asked to change the room, we received an unpleasant response. The construction on the road would continue for many more months. We moved to another hotel located on 63 street. We have been traveling in South America in the past 4 months, this is the Worst Hostal we ever experience.

Good luck on your trip guy.

Room Tip: place has no personality run by a mother and son team -- we moved to a better place equally priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mimshome09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have reserved one night in this hostel over the phone. I called them 3 times to confirm as our flight was late (after midnight). Each time they confirmed they were waiting for us. Only once we arrived in the taxi, they told us it was full and did not help us to find anything else. They even told us we lied over the phone and they never told us it was reserved. They never apologized.
Net we had to take another cab after midnight and find a hotel in last minute which costed us lots of extra money and was unsafe for us not knowing the city.
I don't know about the rooms but that lack of service is not acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sevenvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERALDO O, Gerente at Los Andes Hostel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
They Didn´t confirm the booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Simon
Hotel Saint Simon
#98 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHL Hotel Hamilton
GHL Hotel Hamilton
#56 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Confort 80 Sede Lago
Hotel Confort 80 Sede Lago
#160 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Bogota Boheme Royal
NH Bogota Boheme Royal
#59 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel bh El Retiro
Hotel bh El Retiro
#108 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urbana Hostel
Urbana Hostel
#31 of 238 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Andes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Andes Hostel

Property: Los Andes Hostel
Address: Carrera 13A No. 79-07 | Zona Rosa, Bogota 009, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Andes Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeDiscover Bogota and Colombia with usLos Andes Hostel is the preferred accommodation for world travelers visiting the most exclusive of Bogota: The Zona Rose and 93 Park, access to the most renowned restaurants, cafes, clubs, shopping center "Andino, Atlantis and Retiro" and major embassies.We offer:* The best location and the safest area of the city.* Comfortable standard and deluxe private rooms.+ Colombian breakfast (included in rate).* Free wireless internet (WiFi).* Local calls and city guidebooks.* Free areas to watch TV or interact with other tourists.While staying with us you will interact with locals that live in the house and that will be more than glad to show you around town, teach you about our Colombian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Los Andes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing