We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Location, Great restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet Location, Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Quiet and clean location, what you would expect from JW Mariott. The restaurant located onsite has some of the best steak and seafood in the city and the staff here are quite courteous and responsive to all of the guests needs. The spa services here are priced very well but they could use more space dedicated to the spa services. While utilizing the spa guests often encounter each other in the shared "waiting" area, this space is too small and can only handle 2-3 guest in between spa services. The hotel has a nice outdoor patio and a excellent executive lounge, there is also a great coffee shop next door with a very large outdoor patio.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear guest,
It is nice to learn about your visit with us. We are glad you enjoyed our food and that you considered it among the best of the city. We would like you to know that it is our pleasure having you and offering you the best service we can give. We hope to have you with us soon and thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    237
    21
    18
    13
See reviews for
157
298
94
908
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Location is great for business, no nice view and it could be noisy during rush hours.
Room are neat and clean. The toilet in my bathroom was broken and it took a full day to be fixed.
Bed is too soft for my taste.
NO ATM IN THE HOTEL. Becareful withdrawing large amount, the closest ATM is a block from the hotel.
Breakfast at executive level was great! but as usual in latin america, slow to ipen and fast to close (open late, close sharp on time)
Check in and check are good.
Counserge services are good too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank paeslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience with us. It is our pleasure to serve you and hope to have you back on your next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stay here often when I am traveling to Bogota. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and service is exceptional with cheerful staff. Above average gym for working out. Restaurant has an attentive staff and serves an outstanding breakfast with made to order items. One of best hotels in Bogota. Only reason for not giving 5 stars is due to the food offered in the executive lounge. Yes, it is complimentary and much appreciated for those of us who have access but it consistently offers very small daily portions during the dinner hours which pale in comparison to food offered at other Marriott Exec lounges - even those which are not JWs. Other than that, all good things to say regarding JW Marriott and is my hotel of choice in Bogota.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler610215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for your feedback! It is priceless for us to know how we can offer the best hotel experience from none other than our guests. We are glad the establishments of the hotel are pleasing to you as well as the service provided by our associates. We look forward to having you with us once again and thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've stayed at the JW in BOG every time I've been in Bogota. In fact, I've spent more time at this hotel than any other in the world, bar none.

The staff and accommodations are second to none. On site security is excellent. There's nothing about the JW that isn't excellent. I can't say enough good things about the property.

BEWARE, however, once you leave the property of any of the major hotels in this area, of which there are many (Hilton, etc) Con games are everywhere. Someone may watch you leave the hotel and direct their associates for the intercept. It happened to me yesterday!

In my case, the person who approached me was a well-dressed, professional bearing gentleman who identified himself as a officer from the Policía Nacional, complete with identification. He was claiming to being conduct immigration spot checks in area. All will seem innocent at first, and in fact he will appear incredibly helpful, and then it will move to how much currency are you carrying, have you purchased jewelry while here, etc. I have been working with the Colombia Policía Nacional now for 5 years and he had me fooled up to a point. And, when on foreign soil, one is very hesitant to disobey the police. It's a near-perfect scam for that reason!

Any hesitancy on your part to comply may result in a sudden appearance of an associate who will play the bad cop in the good cop / bad cop routine. When the bad cop appeared, I challenged them to show ID. The bad cop had none and I demanded to see the good cop's ID again. When he displayed it, I ran my finger over it and felt the raised areas where it had been fabricated. I declared them as 'No Policía' and extricated myself immediately.

Upon reporting the incident to the Policía Nacional, I found that they know who many of the characters are in this area, but their hands are tied. The victims, all foreign visitors, will not follow through with the Colombian judicial system to have them prosecuted. They want to complain, but not do their duty to support the Policía.

So the first step is avoidance. No member of the Policía Nacional will ever approach you in the area regarding immigration or customs issues. They must also carry their badge if out of uniform along with their ID. If approached, demand to see an ID and badge and don't settle for a quick glance. Look at it closely. Ask questions. Demand answers. There is a police station within 2 blocks of the JW and Hilton (Calle 72 & Carrera 7). It is located in the center median of the street making it most prominent. Find out where it is before you go out so you know where it is. Insist on going to the police station if approached. Walk away from the person and toward any business that has a video. Video is plentiful. They do NOT want to be on camera.

If out walking, stop suddenly and turn around. Look for anyone who may be following you to react. Try reversing and walking in the opposite direction from time to time.

They are good. It is how they make their living. Generally, they are not violent, just very good actors. Don't make it easy for them.

And, if it happens to you, and it can, report it to the police and support their efforts. They can't do it alone.

The Policía Nacional in Colombia are some of the most dedicated and hard working police professionals you will find. They are trained to be friendly, helpful, and communicate well with the public. They are your friends here when you are visiting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we want to tell you that it is our pleasure having with us and thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience, your feedback is extremely important.
As you mentioned, NO ONE on the street should ask anybody for ID let alone any purchases you have made during your visit, if any one does it should be under the roof of a government managed establishment. We are sorry you had to experience this and we encourage you and all visitors to Bogota to be slicker than the “smart guys” and mistrust anyone who looks the slightest bit suspicious. We look forward to hosting you again and once again thank you for telling other travelers about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I know it is cliche, but "you get what you pay for" is very apparent in Bogota. Having first booked a lesser hotel (which I left after first night) it was a pleasure to stay at the J.W. From the time you enter the hotel, to the time you leave, you are treated first class. Everything you expect from a 5 star hotel, but the Spa is very special. There is a large steam room, Jacuzzi, lap pool, fabulous shower with 5 shower heads, 4 on sides and one on top. The entire area is spotless. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,
It is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that the service provided to you by our associates was up to your standards of what a 5 star hotel should be, it is nice to know our Health Club was pleasing to you and we look forward to hosting you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very luxurious and a great find. Bogota itself is a delightful city and this is probably it's finest hotel. Stayed here for business and found the food, beds and service all absolutely top notch - as good as anything I've seen in the US or Europe. Even the bomb sniffing dogs are friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. It is wonderful to know you find us a fantastic hotel in the city of Bogota and that the services provided were pleasing to you, we do everything we can to make you feel welcome. We hope to have you back with us once again and thank you for choosing the JW Marriott on your business trip to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
957 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is not the most beautiful JW Marriott, but it is comfortable. Unlike the lower end Marriott hotels such as Fairfield Inn, everything is ala carte. You pay for Internet service and breakfast, for example. This is hard to believe nowadays, especially in Colombia where most hotels offer both as part of the room rate. We stayed here on points for one night. The points did not include the aforementioned. We paid an additional US$60 for the privilege of staying on the concierge floor that included Internet and an excellent light dinner and breakfast buffet. So the hotel was nice but the experience overall was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. We are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations, thank you for your visit and we hope you consider visiting us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
3.6 mi away
Bogota Marriott Hotel
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#2 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bogota Victoria Regia
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bogota
Hilton Bogota
#11 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#15 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.5 mi away
BioHotel Organic Suites
BioHotel Organic Suites
#5 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Bogota Hacienda Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Address: Calle 73 8-60, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is located at the heart of Bogota's financial and entertainment district. The hotel is close to corporate offices of major companies, the finest restaurants and bars of Zona G, Zona T and 93rd St Park are only a few minutes away. Within the hotel you will find an array of gastronomic and entertainment options. Get creative at The Market, a casual restaurant where guests can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients to build their own pizzas, hamburgers, salads and more. Indulge yourself at Tamarine, a chic restaurant that offers Asian fusion cuisine. Live an authentic Japanese gastronomic experience at Nau Sushi Lounge and try a variety of Sake based cocktails in a trendy and warm ambience. Relax and have fun at Circo, the spotlight where Bogota's upcoming music artists showcase their talents every night. The hotel features a fully equipped fitness center, an indoor lap pool, an indoor Jacuzzi, a full service Spa with steam rooms, saunas and six massage rooms. At the executive lounge on the 9th floor guests can have a complimentary breakfast and in the evenings hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. All guestrooms feature streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and a down feather mattress topper to offer maximum comfort. Next time you visit Bogota on business or leisure stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing