We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

After welcoming experiences in hotels in Cartagena and Medellin, I was a little suspect when my taxi arrived and I was met not by a smiling bellhop, but by a guard with a dog to sniff my bags and another with a wand to make sure I wasn't carrying a gun. Turns out that was more of an indicator of the big city not the hotel! As soon as those formalities were completed and I stepped through the doors a very different vibe ensued. Great service from the front desk including a free upgrade to the executive floor. Very friendly and helpful bellhop named Jahir. Fun and entertaining Waite-staff at the executive lounge, completely professional with every attention to detail. Shout out to Johan the waiter for having an excellent memory. The Spa was wonderful, again, every detail was covered and (Angelica) the masseuse was top notch. Even (Alejandro) the driver they provided to take me to dinner downtown was great to chat with and did his job well. Anybody can build a nice building, which they certainly have done, but the staff is what makes this hotel stand above its competitors in Bogota. I had an early flight, and missed the breakfast, but am convinced that like everything else in the hotel, it would have been excellent.

Room Tip: The Executive floor was a nice treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest, it is a pleasure to know that our staff was as attentive as you expected. We do apologize if the guard dog might have seemed a little strange at your arrival but please know it is standard procedure as the safety of our guests is one of our main concerns. We are glad you enjoyed the benefits of the executive lounge as well as for the relaxing time at the spa. Rest assured we will pass your compliments along to our associates and we hope to have you once again on your next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    247
    25
    19
    15
See reviews for
187
333
105
1,050
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have written a previous positive review about the JW Marriott in Bogota. My opinion of that hotel has changed since my last trip to Bogota.

A few months ago, I had reservations there for 2 nights, separated by a trip to Cartagena. When I arrived from the airport at about 11:30 PM, the electricity was out in all of the hotel. There was not even a back up generator to serve the basic power needs of the hotel, such as keeping emergency lighting on and keeping their computer system up.

The Marriott was sending some guests to rooms they reserved in the Hilton. The power was COMPLETELY OUT, and literally nobody could stay in it. I knew of a better hotel to stay in where I could easily get a room. I spoke with the manager and told her that I would be going to another hotel. She was friendly and said that my reservation with Marriott would be cancelled at no cost to me. When I got to the other hotel, I got a room for that night and for the 2nd night after returning from Cartagena.

Well, a month later, I had charges on my AMEX for two nights at the JW Marriott in Bogota! Now I am stuck in a lengthy dispute process trying to get those charges off my AMEX.

I travel a lot and I don't need these hassles from a hotel chain that should be much better organized than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilango M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,
We know that this previous visit did not go according to your expectations and please know that the electricity problem we encountered was out of our hands.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience this issue is causing you and we understand you are upset. We hope you will contact us so we may look into this issue and figure out what caused the charge, and we can fix the problem as soon as possible.
Thank you for letting us know about it and rest assured we will provide a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked ahead for this 1st class hotel in a great neighborhood of little cafe's. Excellent service by staff, contemporary styling in the room, and delicious breakfast included in rate we chose.
Would come back to this hotel

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest, we are glad that the service offered by our associates was pleasing to you and that the establishments such as the rooms and our breakfast were up to your standards. Thank you for choosing us in your visit to Bogota and it will be more than a pleasure to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the best hotel I've stayed in Bogota. It's just perfect! You can see below I only have positive reviews and nothing negative to comment.

Postives: Location, Security, Rooms, Service, Internet Wi-Fi, Fitness, Restaurants (just fantastic...)

Negatives: Nothing

Room Tip: If you have a chance, try to pick a room at the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest, it is very good to know you consider us you best choice in Bogota. It makes us really glad that you had a good experience in every aspect. Please know that is it nothing short of a pleasure to offer you the best kind of service we can give you. We hope to have you with us again real soon and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our group had a nice stay at this hotel during March of 2013. We arrived early and were fortunate that rooms were available prior to normal check-in time. My room was really nice, with a very large size, nicely appointed room, and large bed. The only issue with the room was that the TV was not working.

There is also a nice coffee shop next door to the JW Marriott for coffee in the morning.

The staff was very helpful and polite during our stay.

Room Tip: Probably all rooms are nice based on my experience at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlliniRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest, it is good to know that your group had a nice experience with us. We are glad you were able to find your rooms all ready by the time of your arrival and that they were pleasing to you. We do apologize for the inconvenience the TV might have caused you and I hope you called to let us know about the issue as soon as you encountered it. Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your stay with us and we hope to have you on you next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. I don't have a bad thing to say about it.
I was here for work and wished I could stay longer. The hotel is beautiful, and the staff are super efficient. The baths are incredible.

The breakfast is pretty amazing - we also ate dinner here, which was nice, although some local choices would have made it perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest, we would first like to thank you for choosing us during your business trip to Bogota, it is wonderful to know that we were able to offer you an efficient service making your stay that much better. Thank you for visiting our restaurants as well as enjoying the experience they offer. We hope you can visit us again with more time so you can enjoy some of the things the city of Bogota has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I, were on February 18 /19/2013, . The hotel is elegant,, the dotacion make like stay at home. All is pretty. The associates are the best of the hotel They work with passion. Principally, Johana, Sandra Hernando , Daniel, are professionals workers. Same Mr Bernardo,the taxi driver. The reception are very friendly. Was a memorable travel.

Marcos Garcia,Laura Lujan

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us during your visit to Bogota. We are glad that the hotel was pleasing to you and that the passion of our associates allowed for an “exceptional experience”. Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us and we hope to have you and your husband again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bogota Victoria Regia
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bogota
Hilton Bogota
#10 of 267 in Bogota
1,137 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bogota Marriott Hotel
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#6 of 267 in Bogota
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota
2.9 mi away
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#15 of 267 in Bogota
593 reviews
2.9 mi away
NH Collection Bogota Hacienda Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Address: Calle 73 8-60, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is located at the heart of Bogota's financial and entertainment district. Our 5-star luxury hotel's location is ideal, close to corporate offices of major companies, the finest restaurants and bars of Zona G, Zona T, and 93rd St Park. Within our hotel, you will find an array of gastronomic and entertainment options. Get creative at The Market, a casual restaurant where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients to build you own pizzas, burgers, salads, and more. Indulge yourself at Tamarine, a chic restaurant that offers Asian fusion cuisine. Enjoy an authentic Japanese gastronomic experience at Nau Sushi Lounge, and try a variety of Sake based cocktails in a trendy and warm ambience. Relax and have fun at Circo, the spotlight where Bogota's upcoming music artists showcase their talents every night. Our hotel features a fully equipped fitness center, an indoor lap pool, an indoor Jacuzzi, a full service Spa with steam rooms, saunas, and six massage rooms. At the executive lounge on the 9th floor guests can have a complimentary breakfast, and in the evenings they can enjoy hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. All guest rooms at JW Marriott Bogota feature streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, and 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets to offer maximum comfort. Next time you visit Bogota on business or leisure, stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing