We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wifi, very loud, awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss Hostal Martinik
Ranked #21 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great wifi, very loud, awesome staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I'd love to give this place 5 stars because of the atmosphere. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful and it was very appreciated. However, and this may have a lot to do with my room being at the front of the property, it was very loud at night and earlyearly in the morning. My bed and pillow were also uncomfortable so I only stayed two nights before moving on to a new place.

The wifi was excellent and covered the whole property. The TV room was comfortable and had Directv, if you're into that kind of thing. I loved the always hot and fresh coffee in the kitchen.

If the bed I was in was better and I had used better earplugs I would have happily stayed longer.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, if possible, for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    69
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
3
51
90
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This wasn't the best but not also the worst hostel we've stayed in.
We went to there because it was a bit cheaper ($50.000 for a doble room) than most hostels in the Candelaria area and there was breakfast included.
Our room was in the back of the hostel and had a window into the hallway. Also the walls are thin and so you can hear everything that is going on. I guess this is the case in most hostels in old buildings but we had a hard time sleeping because people would talk in the kitchen until late at night instead of sitting in the reception area or the TV room where it would have been fine.
Also the beds are not really comfy.
Another con for us was that although they told us you couldn't smoke inside the hostel some people - and I especially remember one nicely dressed lady from the staff - smoked every half hour or so in the back in front of the bathroom. If we left the window open the smoke would come into our room.

BUT I also have to say that the staff was really friendly, especially the Swiss owner. Everyone was helpful and nice.
We also really liked the Müsli for breakfast (but there is also toast and jam and the coffee is free all day)! One recommendation for breakfast: eat early because there is not much left late in the morning.
The location was really good. Very central in the old town and you could do all the important sights on foot and there were enough restaurants around to eat at.

So if you are used to noise at night or don't mind earplugs (or you might just be lucky and only considerate people are staying in the hostel that keep their voices down after 11pm as the hostel requests) it's a decent choice!

Room Tip: We are not sure if there are rooms upstairs but if there are they might be a better choice because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaTheMonkeyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I arrived around 10 pm from airport paying around 30,000 COP via taxi to the hostal in Candaleria area. My spanish was very poor but we understood each other with receptionist. My room was clean. I rented a locker to put my valuable items like passport, iPad, credit cards by purchasing a locker for 5,000 COP from them. It was worth. The hostal is in a very central location to visit museums, walk to funicular to Montserrea and eating places, buses, market etc. It is very safe and friendly place. If you expect luxury and efficient safe place would work for you at Swiss Hostal Martinik. I definitely recommend. The receptionists help you to call taxi or give directions to any of your activities. Also, ASK for free english speaking guided tour every Tuesday and Thursday for two hours at 10 am which organized by Tourism of Bureau at Bogota. It was super helpful and informative.

Room Tip: Don't take the room next to the kitchen. People were chatting late at night so I couldn't sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duriye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here there and everywhere.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having booked directly with the hostal via email, everything was set and ready upon my late night arrival. Check in smooth, and my private room was ready and set. Good value for money at 38,000 COP...shared bath but they were right across the hall with 3 showers available.
Large kitchen for use which had all the things youd need to make any meal, free hot coffee (althogh sometimes weak) 24/7. They gave you plastic containers for your food to put in the fridge which kept things organized as well.....the kitchen was nice, really good.
TV/movie room excellent with lots of room and selection of things to watch on TV. Small simple breakfast in the morning but its nothing to write home about - is what it is. Cold drinks and a few other things you could simply put on your tab. Two internet stations for free use.....music on in the background...safe and secure entry with the buzz in format. Location was great - although the street it is on has quite alot of traffic and the busses wih the well known pollution making it a bit uncomfortable walking around the immediate vacinity.

They offer a 10% discout on a 7 night stay and if you want to volunteer with an organization they recommed (for a couple hrs a day), they will give you an additional 10 or 20% off as well - cant remember. Dorms are approx 24,000 COP.
Rooms are good sized....no windows of course, but they have shelves and places to hang clothes. Beds are ok.....but the plastic on them and the plastic encased pillows dont make sleeping the best youve ever had.

The girls working the front desk are awesome, fun, attentive and enthusiastic. They are very knowledgeable in tours and tourism and will help you with anything you need. There is lots of information up to read and learn about Colombia. Further, there is an activity board they update daily that gives you ideas of things to do.

I really enjoyed this hostel, planned on a few nights and stayed 7. Highly recommened for ppl who like good value, dont need the top of the top ammenities but like comfort and convenience.....and for those that want to meet other travellers. I will stay there again when I am back in Bogota.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hostal do not get internet reception....at least not when I was there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakefever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice place, friendly staff, good breakfast buffet included. The Candelaria area of Bogota can be a little dodgy at night, but this hostel was perfectly situated on a well lit street and I as a solo female traveler I felt completely safe. Also there are lots of good restaurants nearby so you don´t have to go more than half a block if it´s raining--which it does in Bogota!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljmc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Very close to centre popular places .. ,etc perfect vue.
.Bogota activitys writing on wall you can pick one..
. Free coffe tea .wifi ..
pizza shop next door
I stayed 1night like it .i recommend for other travel birds ..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillegom, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very helpfull staff and good location! the staff helped us with everything and was very friendly. Location is walking distance drom most highlights. We will come back at the end of our trip. Rather clean also!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#3 of 239 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
La Candelaria
Bogota Dream Hostel
Bogota Dream Hostel
#26 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#13 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Iku Hostel Backpackers Bogota
La Candelaria
Yepeto Hostal
Yepeto Hostal
#23 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hostal Martinik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hostal Martinik

Property: Swiss Hostal Martinik
Address: Carrera 4 # 11-88 | La Candelaria, Bogota A00, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our island in the heart of Bogota's historical district - La Candelaria! Within walking distance to the main museums, squares, churches, monuments, and other places of interest, the newly renovated and now under Canadian administration, quality-hostel, Hostal Martinik provides a safe and friendly environment, the ideal place to overnight, relax and enhance your Bogotá experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Swiss Hostal Martinik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing