We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely there is something better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Sue Candelaria
Ranked #19 of 298 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I got in late and wanted to stay somewhere in the Candelaria. The positives-hot water and friendly front desk staff and it was secure. The negatives-the lumpy bed, very cold, so noisy. Many guests appeared to be long term and were not respectful of noise (3AM cell phone calls; watching tv at all hours). Even in this price range, I would think based on all other places in Colombia that there has to be something better.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night in May 2012 and it was pretty basic. I asked for a single room and got a room with a single bed and bunk beds next to me. So it was a good value but not much to write home about. The common space is ok, but it seems to have a lively bar. It is located right in the heart of the La Candelaria and is a great spot to walk around to see everything there in the daytime. Breakfast is really basic but the coffee was good. The staff doesn't seem to speak a lot of English but are very friendly people. The hostel has a lot of information about other places, Spanish lessons, etc., but I almost found the plethora of information to be somewhat overwhelming (like a telephone book with listings) without really knowing what was recommended. I only stayed one night and then left to stay with a family, but seems like it would be a good place to meet other travelers. I also saw people getting Spanish lessons at the hostel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank CL757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hostel Sue and its nearby sister Hostel Sue Candalaria are classic hostels. They are affordable, have lots of hot water, have a free breakfast of bread, jelly, granola and milk, and coffee. Since they are full of student and between job travelers on a shoestring: don’t expect any if you wait till 930AM. The location is great, near the universities, nightlife, and lots of cheap places to eat. Two caveats, 1) the street names have been changed the places are HARD to find, so take a cab at night, 2) the locals remind you that petty non-violent street crimes, such as purse, camera and cell phone snatching are real, so wandering around after 10PM, especially if intoxicated, just makes you too easy a target.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are centered around the TV rooms. The rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiliRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hostal Sue is in the historic Candelaria neighborhood of Bogotá. Well located, you can get to just about anything you need on foot. The best are wide and the dorms rooms have good floor space. Lockers up front let you lock up your valuables. A nice patio area out back, good TV room, and a ping pong table provide social opportunities. Best of all was the staff who were friendly and helpful, going above and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurstonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Hostal Sue has two buildings but both of them are very basic. rooms are so small that you can hardly squize yourself wit a backpack. we were moved to the buildin in front of Aragon Hotel where all rooms were spread around open patio. that means you have to go ouside to go to the bathroom. during cold nights it's not very pleasent.
breakfast that is included means milk and cornflakes plus cofee.
internet is for free and the leaving room area is nice with big sofas.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had booked a private twin for two with shared bathroom. We got a room with four beds with the promise that we had the room all to ourselves. The mattresses are very hard. We had room number 7 with is right next to the patio so if people are sitting out you hear every word they say with can be bothering if you want to sleep. There are only two bathrooms and showers, however we were up early and had no problem getting a really hot shower. They give you bedlinen and towels. There are security lockers in the reception for free. The wifi is also for free.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emelie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

There is nothing slightly bad i could possibly say about this Hostel. I even got stuck there for more than two weeks. The staff is friendly and helpful, always smiling. They provide you with fresh and free towels, cleaning your room and doin your bed every single day. The internet is also free as is coffee and breakfast (which is nothing special, but still nice to have). There are hundreds of DVD's which are free to watch and you wont even miss a footy match, thanks to the pay-tv and the flatscreen. Particularly in Hostel Sue 1, the nightmanager Richard is really fussy about keeping the peace at night. After midnight he even requests the guests to turn down the volume of the TV in the livingroom down.
Moreover the staff really tries to keep you entertained, so they are setting up pokergames, partybuses (which is so much fun) and other activities like playing tejo.

The area in Candelaria looks a bit dodgy at nighttime, but in more than two weeks I never experienced any incidents whatsoever. Even with my Gringoface (blond hair, blue eyes) i haven't had a problem to walk around at nighttime ( I am not saying that Candelaria is 100% safe, I'm just saying that me myself was walking dozen times around at night and never felt unsecure)

I also liked the fact that the owner Oscar is really welcoming and interested in his guests. You'll find him playing tabletennis (or havin a beer) with his guests, telling them what to do in Bogota. (I am mentioning that, coz in all the other hostels i stayed in Colombia, i never saw the Owner around or if so, they couldnt be bothered to be slumming)

If I have to find something to grouse about, then it would be, that there could be more showers, some mattresses could be exchanged and the kitchen could be a bit better equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 298 in Bogota
643 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#5 of 298 in Bogota
210 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#13 of 298 in Bogota
258 reviews
La Candelaria
Iku Hostel Backpackers Bogota
12:12 Hostels
#11 of 298 in Bogota
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sue Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sue Candelaria

Address: Cra. 3 No. 14-18, Bogota 0, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 298 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: $12 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Sue Candelaria 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sue Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sue Candelaria Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing