We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Charlie's Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlies Place Hotel
Ranked #71 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach
1 review
“Love Charlie's Place”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I have stayed at Charlie's Place 2 or 3 times during my visits to Bogota and always look forward to returning. The Hotel has a home-like feeling and the staff is truly interested in taking care of all your needs. By the time you leave the staff has become your new friends. The facility is very safe, quiet and well maintained. A lot of work has recently been put into Charlie's and the upgrades were done very well. I've stayed at bigger hotel's in Bogota, but none are better than Charlie's Place.
Ron
Huntington Beach, California

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfunbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    82
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
86
76
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Charlie's Place Hotel has a lot going for it...it is very safe and secure. Their driver, Gustavo, can be contracted to be your chauffer and guide for your visit if you wish. The front desk staff, and Charlie himself, will go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as they can.

They are trying to provide amenities that give them the ratings of a much larger hotel. Their business center has three pc's and a printer located in sight of the lobby. It has high speed internet access and is very nice.

The restaurant is only open for breakfast and is a nice way to start the day.

The bar is all but unused as it is only open for guests and there are too few rooms to support a full service bar. Likewise, the spa room is nice but the visiting masseuse may not be available during your stay.

The rooms are normal sized and are slightly worn. There is no air conditioning or heating or fan in the rooms. This is not a problem from a temperature standpoint as Bogota has a very mild climate but some air movement would be nice.

We called the bed the "bed of death". We know that beds in latin america tend to be on the hard side with no box springs but Charlie's Place takes discomfort to a new level. When you look forward to mornings so you can get out of bed and feel better, there is a problem.

All this said, we would most probably stay again because for $75 a night we doubt you could find a better hotel in Bogota.for the price. That, and the fact that the staff is wonderful, makes Charlie's a hotel worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noodlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

It was a real pleasure to stay at this hotel. It was our first trip to Colombia, and found the staff really welcoming; they helped us out whenever we needed anything; are very knowledgeable about Bogota and run a tight operation. It truly felt like a home away from home. As the Charles hotel is located in the North of the city, it was great to be picked up from the airport. Reasonably priced rooms, all around great experience.
Will definitely be back!
Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudyrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
155 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Trip Advisor didn’t have any stand-out accommodation options within our price range when I was researching for our stay in Bogota. I eventually settled on Charlie’s Place (CP) as it seemed to offer a good standard of accommodation for a reasonable price (for Colombia. We found Colombia to be much more expensive than neighbouring Ecuador).

I booked our accommodation through Expedia.com rather than direct as Expedia offered the ‘standard deluxe’ double room US$10 cheaper than on CP’s website. As it turned out, on arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite. Thank you. Entry to the suite was via a lounge area which had single and double chairs (I think the double folded down to another bed). In the corner was a fireplace complete with artificial logs – probably electric (we didn’t use it). Off to the side of the lounge area there was a refrigerator (with beer, soft drink, etc) and a bench area which had a supply of goodies available for purchase (the beer prices were outrageous – 6,000 COP whereas the supermarket just down the road sold them for about 1,700 COP – no excuse for such a markup). The bathroom was a good size and the water hot (even in the hand basin!) with plenty of pressure. The bedroom was also a good size with a very comfortable king size bed and plenty of wardrobe and dresser facilities. Actually we thought CP had gone too far with its bedroom furnishings as there was a dresser at the end of the bed which cluttered the room and left only about 15 inches to walk around the foot of the bed. This dresser could easily have been gotten rid of as there was another dresser in a corner of the room as well as shelves in the wardrobe. On the wall at the foot of the bad was a large flat screen TV with about 100 cable channels to choose from. In summary, we were very content.

CP’s reception staff were very pleasant, helpful and English was spoken. Complimentary internet (three computers) was available. The hotel changed money at reasonable rates (a little less than at the airport). The complimentary breakfast was okay, comprising tea/coffee, fruit juice, fried or scrambled egg, and toast. The coffee was very ordinary, which is unforgivable in Colombia. It tasted like instant coffee, but may have been a very weak brewed coffee. If you like a bit of milk with your coffee, rather than letting you pour it yourself the coffee comes complete with milk added by the staff to the volume that they think you should have (in my case, much too much). Note to Charlie - please teach the kitchen staff how to make, and serve, decent coffee - very important first thing in the morning!

The location of CP is a bit isolated – perhaps 12 kms out of the old city. It is in a residential area and appears quite safe. There doesn’t seem to be any tourist sites in the vicinity. The hotel is next to a main road but we didn’t hear any traffic noise in the room. CP offers complimentary pick-up from the airport but I forgot to send details so we had to arrange our own way. The taxi fare was 22,000 COP (US13), which was the same fare quoted by another taxi driver for our departure. It seems to be a fixed rate. A taxi from CP to the old city cost 11,000 COP (US$7). We returned from the old city on the Transmilenio (metro buses) – the fare is 1,600 COP (US$1) irrespective of destination. It seems to be quite a good system but I found descriptions for using the system very confusing. With some assistance from non-english speaking locals we just hopped on and hoped for the best. Unfortunately the nearest Transmilenio station to CP is about 25 minutes walk from the hotel. But the walk is perfectly safe, and the exercise is good. The Transmilenio is very handy if you are heading north outside of Bogota because the northern terminus of the system is called Portal Norte from where you can get buses to Villa De Leyva (or Tunja) and Zipaquira.

CP doesn’t have a restaurant (except for breakfast) but there is a mall (Santa Ana) only a few blocks away. The mall has a large Carrefours supermarket (including a café area at the rear selling very good value meals and an excellent Juan Valdez coffee house), various shops (mostly upmarket types) and a third floor full of cafes/restaurants. If you feel like a couple of cold beers and don’t fancy a walk to Carrefours nor paying the ridiculous prices in the room there’s a small store just across the road from CP’s.

There were minor irritations with our stay which I’ve mentioned but given the room we had (junior suite) and the price we paid our stay was definitely five stars. We would stay again, notwithstanding it probably wouldn’t be junior suite standard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed 7 nts after we had to ask for a room change as room 109 was upstairs at the avenue side and you cannot sleep, hear TV or even speak at the telephone. The FO Agent was kind enough and did everything possible to keep us at the hotel and changed us to room 119 which was 99.9% sound proof. Excellent location if you planed to visit Fundacion Santa Fe de Bogota( walking distance), enough taxi's at the avenue, two malls within walking distances serving great foods, supermarket and shops. Hotel has friendly staff who are multi functional for this small boutique hotel. Nice limited breakfast. We felt very safe at the hotel and surroundings. Free pick up from el Dorado Airport despite our flight was a little late. Will be back in October but place when you make a room reservations, ask for inside rooms otherwise don't forget to bring your earplugs. We recommend highly!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Hotel is in good location for north of Bogota (walking distance to Usaquen). Reasonable price for a Hotel in Bogota. Most rooms are simple, clean and fairly quiet, although we had one room that was a bit rundown (without windows). Breakfast is fine, staff is friendly, and it has parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felipemurtinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I have stayed at Charlies Place several times 8 or 9 I believe, and every time it was a great experience. The hotel went through a major renovation over the last year and now offers spa services, as well as a feeling of being at home. From the owner, to the housekeeper they make you feel like you are part of a family. I would never even consider staying at any other hotel.

Yes it sits on a busy road, but you don’t hear the traffic in your room, you may even have to take a taxi to get to where you want to go, but rather have a place to stay where the staff knows you by name and treats you like you are family than a place that don’t really care about you. I highly recommend Charlies Place and I will be back there in a few weeks. 5 Stars!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireman14300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Ibis Bogota Museo
#46 of 265 in Bogota
1,351 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#29 of 265 in Bogota
680 reviews
Hotel Suites Real 97
#122 of 265 in Bogota
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Dann Norte Hotel
Dann Norte Hotel
#98 of 265 in Bogota
199 reviews
Hotel Casa Paulina
#129 of 265 in Bogota
160 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#40 of 265 in Bogota
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlies Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlies Place Hotel

Property: Charlies Place Hotel
Address: Carrera 8d # 106-84 | Barrio Chico Miranda, Bogota 110131, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlies Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and family run hotel & spa located in a residential neighborhood in the North of Bogota. Minutes from Park 93 and Usaquen. The hotel is within walking distance of the Santa Ana Mall, the Santa Fe Hospital, the Santa Barbara Mall, the Teleport Business Center and the World Trade Center. We are 20-30 minutes away from the El Dorado International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlies Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing